Header Logo
Patient Reviews Image

Patient Reviews

Reviews for Clear + Brilliant Procedures Near San Francisco, CA

We value all of our patients and their individual needs. At Bay Area Cosmetic Dermatology, we want you to make the most informed decision to achieve your cosmetic goals. Choosing the best procedure and physician for you is an extremely important decision, and we invite you to read about previous patients’ experiences and better understand the quality treatment you will receive from our board-certified dermatologists. Each of our medical professionals value your journey and want to ensure you feel as comfortable and confident about your decision as possible.

Filter34 Reviews  
5.0
DAPI
Review from W.T.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Sep 16, 2020

I highly recommend Dr. Steven He. I have had melasma and Nevi of Ota from on my cheeks and temples for the past 15 years. I’ve tried treatments from other dermatologists, including hydroxychloroquine cream, with no improvement. I’ve also met with other laser treatment centers, who presented cookie cutter treatments. However, I’ve seen friends and family get rebound hyperpigmentation on their face from aggressive dose of laser therapy. For Asian skin, sometimes the dose of laser and strength of chemical peels have to be adjusted due to skin sensitivity. As an Asian female physician, I was cautious about who to trust. I chose Dr. He because I heard he has lots of experience with Asian American patients. I started seeing him a few months ago, and I am extremely confident in his skills. He is thoughtful about his approach and tailors his treatment plan to the individual patient. I have had 5 treatments, starting with chemical peels to remove superficial melasma, and now transitioned to laser treatments for the darker spots. The spots have significantly lightened. I recently saw my family, who had been hounding me for years about my spots, and they could not even notice the spots! I am extremely satisfied with Dr. He’s care. He is a knowledgeable, conscientious, effective physician. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.D.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Mar 08, 2020

I have been a patient of Kathleen Welsh for a few years now and I will continue to go back to her for years to come. Dr. Welsh helped me clear my severe hormonal acne through both topical medications and oral medications. I have also received laser treatments to clear the scarring and redness caused by my acne. Fr. Welsh is the most understanding, kind, and smart doctor I have seen and I highly recommend her to anyone in anyone in need of dermatology services. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from ?.M.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Feb 20, 2020

A miracle in San Francisco!! I moved from the East Coast, and so was fairly spoiled with some of the best cosmetic dermatologists in the U.S. However, now my concern is what on earth I will do WITHOUT Dr. He if he ever leaves the Bay Area. I can't say enough how lucky we are to have someone with that kind of natural artistry with filler here. He both incredibly knowledgeable and patient-focused, tailoring treatments and regimens to fit needs/budget and responding to last-minute skin care "emergencies" or concerns. If you are considering Botox, Filler, laser treatments, or peels and are in the Bay Area, I would DEFINITELY give BACD a call. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from R.H.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Apr 18, 2019

Anyone who's struggling with acne problem, please come to see Dr. Austin! My skin was so much better after the first month visiting here, and now I can walk outside with my bare skin and feel confident about it (of cause I'll still need my eyebrows). Dr. Austin was very patient at explaining the two types of acne I had and recommended a new skincare regiment and prescription pills targeting at those different problems. I never thought washing my face with just water in the morning can have such a big improvement to my skin. If you come to see Dr. Austin, I'm sure she'll recommend even more skincare tips and treatments that will help to improve your skin! Beside Dr. Austin, all the people working here are so nice to chat with. Mary who did my Laser Genesis, Claire who did my Hydro Facial. They are all so professional at doing those treatments and taking care of the skin. Thanks to all of them, my skin has improved so much! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.W.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Mar 17, 2019

I've been a patient of Dr. Welsh for 20 years. I'm a man in my 70's, and until age 50 had never given a thought to skin care beyond a moisturizer. I've a northern European complexion aging on the California coast. I was originally referred to her by my cosmetic surgeon for laser treatments to augment the healing of scars and hair removal. Dr. Welsh achieved quick results and offered sound advice on skin maintenance which has reversed a lifetime of neglect.  I noticed the improvement immediately.  Her care has been exacting, artful and extraordinary, and my skin - young for my years -  attests to her skill. She has frequently advised against procedures I thought  "maybe should try?" I have reaped  benefits, mainly from fillers Dr. Welsh recommended, including lip enhancement. Most important: Nothing about my appearance has ever looked "altered." My most recent treatment - Hydrafacial - produced amazing immediate results. Her staff is professional and warmhearted.  I'm a big fan! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.D.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Mar 02, 2019

Dr. Hui is a master at what she does. I've sent friends and family to her for years and all of them have been happy with the results of her recommendations and treatments (fillers, botox, laser treatments, surgery). She has an incredible eye and a gentle hand. In addition, she has been nothing short of professional, personable and truly caring towards her patients. She has the ability to make you feel completely taken care of and for that reason, she's my go to dermatologist. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.S.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Feb 10, 2019

I can't believe it took me this long to write a review on Dr. Welsh and Bay Area Cosmetic Dermatology. I have been a patient of Dr. Welsh's going on 10 years and I can't imagine seeing anyone else. When I first started going, the office was a lot smaller, but all the expanding hasn't changed the service I get there. Every time I see Dr. Welsh she is so kind and thoughtful, and she has really changed my life. I have had bad cystic acne since around 19, and she openly admitted I had one of the worst cases she had seen. It was painful and heartbreaking and I thought it was hopeless. In the many years I've been going to her, we have worked together until finally finding treatment that worked well, and I am so thankful. I go a few times a year for laser treatments and fillers for residual scarring (shout out to Nurse Mary who is probably the nicest person on the planet and an absolute wizard with lasers, and she genuinely cares about all of her clients). Dr. Welsh has always been considerate of my budget (I'm a nonprofit worker, while I know most of her clients are probably closer to the 1%) and has worked with me when my skin condition needed more for less. I am lucky to have found them so long ago and can't recommend them higher! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.C.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Nov 08, 2018

I started seeing Dr. Hui (now Austin) in June 2018.  So far, I'm very satisfied with the result.  I suffered from acne as a teenager which lead to many scars on my face.  I have tried so many different treatments including dermabrasion, CO2 laser, chemical peels, photo facial, micro-needling, etc. in the past 20 years to improve the large pores and scars.  However, some of the treatments made my skin even worse than before and also left more scars on my face.  My skin became extremely sensitive and was prone to scarring after break out.  The micro-needling helps to improve some shallower scars but not the deep ice pick scars.  I was so discouraged but I don't want to live with scars for the rest of my life.  I'm so lucky that found Dr. Hui.  She outlined a treatment plan for me.  She recommended some skin care products, Laser Genesis and TCA Cross.  At first, I was skeptical but I wanted to give it a last try.  At the consultation appointment, Dr. Hui performed the TCA Cross on 5 test spots.  She did not charge me extra for the test spots other than the consultation fee.  So far, I had 2 treatments of Laser Genesis and TCA Cross.  I've been following her face regimen and using all the products she recommended.  I still need to do a few more sessions but I can see a great improvement in my skin.  Most of the scars that have been crossed are much shallower and smaller than before.  There are a few ice pick scars have completely filled in.  I couldn't believe it because those scars were on my face for 20+ years.  TCA cross has shown me the most improvement on my scars of anything I have done before.  The patches on my skin are gone and my skin is much firmer.  I will confine this treatment until all my scars are filled in.  Please keep in mind that the scars may look worse when the scars first fall off but they will continue to fill in and heal over time.  The process can take from 2-6 months after the treatment.  Please be patience.  Dr. Hui and NP Mary are amazing.  I highly recommend Dr. Hui for those who are suffering from acne scars. More

5.0
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Office Visit  |  Oct 24, 2018

Dear Dr. Welsh - Thank you so much for popping in to see me today. It is always so great to see you. You have such a positive energy! Also - you look really fantastic! You look radiant, beautiful and natural. And you are the best advertisement for your practice. I completely trust anything you advise for me. Thank you again! Thank you again! Fondly, Anonymous More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.T.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Oct 19, 2018

Dr. Austin saved my skin (and my life!) I started seeing Dr. Austin in May, when I was really frustrated and at a breaking point after dealing with severe cystic acne for quite some time. It got so bad that even leaving my house was a struggle. After a quick consultation, Dr. Austin got down to business. She wrote out a clear, easy-to-follow, thorough skincare routine that required topical products & an oral prescription. I left feeling very hopeful for the first time in forever. By July, my skin had cleared up to the point where I felt comfortable leaving my house again with minimal makeup. Once we stopped the breakouts, I did two rounds of V-Beam Laser to address my scarring. Most recently, I went in for my first round of Laser Genesis. It is now October, and I can finally say that I am 100% makeup free! Hardly any remaining scars, no active cysts. Clear, glowing skin thanks to Dr. Austin and her team, who gave me my confidence back. I now have coworkers coming up to me, complimenting my skin and asking what I do for it. I have recommended Bay Area Cosmetic Dermatology (Dr. Austin specifically) to three people. I would recommend her to a stranger; she is the best of the best, and I cannot thank her enough. I am so thankful I found her!!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from R.P.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Mar 09, 2018

My experience at Bay Area Cosmetic Dermatology has truly been exceptional. Having very fair skin, sun damage and redness have been constants for most of my life. After laser treatments with Garrett Forrest, my skin looks better than I thought possible. She was empathetic and did a great job articulating what practices to add to my daily routine to keep my [now perfect] skin. Highly recommend! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from E.L.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Oct 11, 2017

For more than a decade, I've been suffering severe acne and its scarring. I tried multiple over-the-counter medication and department-store skincare, but none of them are working. End of 2016, I decided to ask for professional help. I carefully searched & compared ALL DERMATOLOGISTS IN THE BAY AREA, read all the reviews and looked for recommendations. Finally, I decided to choose Dr. Hui, based on majority positive reviews, current skin-technology, and personalized treatments-tailored to patients' skin. Oh boy, months later... If I have to summarize it in a sentence: I am VERY GLAD choosing Dr. Hui and her staff. 9 months after seeing her, my skin is clearer, brighter and smoother. I usually shy away from group pictures or wefie (I am barely do selfie), but lately I am happy with my friends' wefie pictures- my skin looks much better. My friends start complementing my skin, and of course my confidence is up. If I can leave few tips, here they are: 1) Skincare takes time. Wrt to skin, it is not instant. It is like going to gym or diet, it takes time to gain muscle/lose weight.  2). Be honest and bring your expectation with dermatologist (in this case, Dr. Hui). She will work with you and for you. That includes fees, timeline, expected/unexpected results, upcoming work/personal trips, etc.  3). Don't skip! Be patience & follow Dr Hui's instructions and suggestions. If I haven't follow them (e.g., V-beams), and fast-forward it to the following 4 months treatment (e.g., fraxel), most likely my skin would not be ready, and might get worse. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from E.L.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Oct 11, 2017

For more than a decade, I've been suffering severe acne and its scarring. I tried multiple over-the-counter medication and department-store skincare, but none of them are working. End of 2016, I decided to ask for professional help. I carefully searched & compared ALL DERMATOLOGISTS IN THE BAY AREA, read all the reviews and looked for recommendations. Finally, I decided to choose Dr. Hui, based on majority positive reviews, current skin-technology, and personalized treatments-tailored to patients' skin. Oh boy, months later... If I have to summarize it in a sentence: I am VERY GLAD choosing Dr. Hui and her staff. 9 months after seeing her, my skin is clearer, brighter and smoother. I usually shy away from group pictures or wefie (I am barely do selfie), but lately I am happy with my friends' wefie pictures- my skin looks much better. My friends start complementing my skin, and of course my confidence is up. If I can leave few tips, here they are: 1) Skincare takes time. Wrt to skin, it is not instant. It is like going to gym or diet, it takes time to gain muscle/lose weight.   2). Be honest and bring your expectation with dermatologist (in this case, Dr. Hui). She will work with you and for you. That includes fees, timeline, expected/unexpected results, upcoming work/personal trips, etc.   3). Don't skip! Be patience & follow Dr Hui's instructions and suggestions. If I haven't follow them (e.g., V-beams), and fast-forward it to the following 4 months treatment (e.g., fraxel), most likely my skin would not be ready, and might get worse. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from H.A.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Aug 08, 2017

I have been seeing Dr. Welsh (who was initially recommended to me by my primary care physician) since 2007 for fillers, and more recently, Botox, between once and twice a year. Additionally, two years ago I had an intensive peel and spots on the backs of my hands treated, and last year, a light peel. Although it seems counter-intuitive, I am now paying less per visit than I did ten years ago; I don't need as much! I also am not trying to look decades younger, only slow the external manifestations of aging. This goal is exactly what Dr. Welsh continues to achieve. The work is subtle, yet I am always met with disbelief when I tell people I am fifty-eight. (I should add that I have been using Retin-A since I was thirty, and Dr. Welsh says this makes a huge difference.) Since Dr. Hui has come on board I have seen her once for fillers, with the same excellent results. I wanted to get another intensive peel this year, which Dr. Hui administered eight days ago. The product Dr. Hui currently uses has a much quicker turn-around than the previous two-week period. The treatment is, as Dr. Hui characterized it, "spicy." But the three chili peppers level lasts only for a minute, and my face felt completely normal an hour later. I've been slathering my face with Aquafor (and sunscreen when I am outside) and the peeling has ended. I was a bit concerned as my face peeled much more rapidly than with the previous treatment, but when I saw Dr. Hui for a check-in yesterday she reassured me that this was normal for the new product. I currently have patches of redness in varying size and shade over about a third of my face that will fade over the next three to four days. The skin is beautiful, and I won't feel the need to wear make-up. I am very pleased with the results--at a much lower cost than Fraxel laser treatments. Drs. Welsh and Hui have stellar educations and credentials, yet are down-to-earth. They love their work and it shows. Over ten years I have had only warm, professional interactions with staff, and never once felt pressure to buy products. I have watched my skin and appearance improve under Dr. Welsh's thoughtful care, and am happy that the equally attentive Dr. Hui has joined her. I am looking forward to the next ten years! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from H.A.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Aug 08, 2017

I have been seeing Dr. Welsh (who was initially recommended to me by my primary care physician) since 2007 for fillers, and more recently, Botox, between once and twice a year. Additionally, two years ago I had an intensive peel and spots on the backs of my hands treated, and last year, a light peel. Although it seems counter-intuitive, I am now paying less per visit than I did ten years ago; I don't need as much! I also am not trying to look decades younger, only slow the external manifestations of aging. This goal is exactly what Dr. Welsh continues to achieve. The work is subtle, yet I am always met with disbelief when I tell people I am fifty-eight. (I should add that I have been using Retin-A since I was thirty, and Dr. Welsh says this makes a huge difference.)Since Dr. Hui has come on board I have seen her once for fillers, with the same excellent results. I wanted to get another intensive peel this year, which Dr. Hui administered eight days ago. The product Dr. Hui currently uses has a much quicker turn-around than the previous two-week period. The treatment is, as Dr. Hui characterized it, "spicy." But the three chili peppers level lasts only for a minute, and my face felt completely normal an hour later. I've been slathering my face with Aquafor (and sunscreen when I am outside) and the peeling has ended. I was a bit concerned as my face peeled much more rapidly than with the previous treatment, but when I saw Dr. Hui for a check-in yesterday she reassured me that this was normal for the new product. I currently have patches of redness in varying size and shade over about a third of my face that will fade over the next three to four days. The skin is beautiful, and I won't feel the need to wear make-up. I am very pleased with the results--at a much lower cost than Fraxel laser treatments.Drs. Welsh and Hui have stellar educations and credentials, yet are down-to-earth. They love their work and it shows. Over ten years I have had only warm, professional interactions with staff, and never once felt pressure to buy products. I have watched my skin and appearance improve under Dr. Welsh's thoughtful care, and am happy that the equally attentive Dr. Hui has joined her. I am looking forward to the next ten years! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from T.M.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jun 28, 2017

I can highly recommend Dr. Hui as a skilled, patient and compassionate dermatologist. The combo gel that she prescribed for my rosacea, that I was very reluctant to try, has made a tremendous difference in the texture of my skin. In addition, she also performed laser treatments for redness. The results are quite remarkable and my condition continues to improve under her care. She's probably as close to a cure as you can get. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.M.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jun 27, 2017

I suffered from melasma for about 5 years after 2 fraxel treatments. I went to two doctors for melasma consultation , but they only pushed for those expensive laser. I was hesitant to do any laser as it was the cause of my melasma and the result can be unpredictable. Basically, I just lost all hope and accepted my fate until I met Dr. Hui! Dr. Hui gave my life back to me!!! I am reborn !!! Before meeting Dr. Hui, I was depressed , and I lost a lot of valuable family times. I didn't want to go on any vacation because all I worried was my face. I was scared to go out during summer time because of the sun exposure. I decided to see Dr. Hui after all the 5 stars reviews on the internet. I travel 120 miles to see Dr. Hui, but I must say I'm a lucky girl because I am finally in good hands! Dr. Hui is honest, compassionate, competent, skilled and knowledgeable. She is up to date on the latest treatment, and she puts patient's safety as her top priority, which is hard to find in the beauty industry these days!! She assessed my previous treatments and came up with a comprehensive treatment that treats me internally & externally! She explained the treatment plan to me and told me other options in case if those fail. She gave me a oral medication which costs less than $10 with my insurance! She introduced a better sunscreen to me to prevent formation of new brown spots. Her office has special formulated Retin-A that will further help with lightening the spot. I am happy to stop using hydroquinone since it was causing redness to my skin & it  can't be used on a long term basis. Dr. Hui put me on a safe lightening serum that doesn't cause any irritation to my skin. Within 3 weeks of her regimen, I was comfortable to go out in the public without any makeup !!!! I used to spend 20 minutes putting on makeup & concealer and still looked horrible. Now, my routine is less than 5 mins!!! I am now in the third month of treatment , and my skin improved so much without any procedure! I plan to have a few chemical peels to get rid of those residual pigment. I feel liberated !!!! I am finally being back to myself!! I begin my day with a big smile to myself in the mirror , and it would not have happened if it wasn't for Dr. Hui! Dr. Hui gave me a second chance in life! Not only does she reverse the damage from the laser, I am now on my way to a better version of me. My skin is smoother and healthier than before my melasma. My self-esteem is back up, and I'm no longer depressed. Words can't express my gratitude towards Dr. Hui. For those of you who are suffering from any kind of skin problem, I highly recommend you to see Dr. Hui. Even if you have no major skin concern, Dr. Hui can take your skin to the next level. My sister, who has good skin, started to see Dr.Hui after seeing my dramatic results. She said her pores are smaller, and she has a nice glow now!!!  Thank you Dr. Hui for giving my life and my family life back to me!!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from V.C.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jun 05, 2017

Bay Area Cosmetic Dermatology and especially Dr. Hui is the best dermatologist around!! Anything concerning the skin go to Dr. Hui - absolutely 1000% worth the investment.I first went to Dr. Hui due to a psoriasis flare up and I wanted to have a skin consultation since I am getting married. I had suffered from psoriasis for the last 10 years, visiting multiple dermatologists, with an itchy scalp, skin flakes constantly. Dr. Hui quickly identified that the reason I was not getting better is that I have psoriasis along with seborrheic dermatitis. She took the time to explain to me exactly what that meant, tips for avoiding flare-ups and prescribed a treatment plan that fits in with my lifestyle. At no point did I feel rushed and Dr. Hui took the time to answer all the questions I had. Fast forward 4 weeks later, I am completely cleared of all scaly patches and I am no longer reliant on using topical steroids daily for the first time in 10 years. I can even wear black without fear that white flakes would show up all over my clothes. I wanted to lighten the hyperpigmentation around my face due to earlier years of sun damage and Dr. Hui recommended the IPL (Intense Pulse Light) laser treatment. She even took the time to explain why she was recommending the IPL as oppose to other laser treatments so I was informed when making my decision to go ahead with the treatment. After 1 session the majority of my hyperpigmentation is gone! My skin has never looked better. Just this week, I went on a trip and unfortunately developed a large rash all over my body. I was able to call the office and they were very accommodating to getting me an appointment that same day. I went to see Dr. Hui again and it turns out I contacted scabies. Dr. Hui was once again able to put me to ease and recommend an effective treatment plan. It has been about 2 days and I am already starting to see my skin clear.My fiance also sees Dr. Hui for eczema and also had amazing results. Similarly, he went to another doctor before Dr. Hui and never was able to achieve clear skin without skin lesions. After seeing Dr. Hui my fiance's eczema is under control. Dr. Hui is so extremely knowledgeable, caring and patience that you do not have to worry about going to multiple doctor visits without any results and being rushed out the door. I wish I had heard of Dr. Hui and Bay Area Cosmetic Dermatology years earlier. The amount of savings due to having an effective treatment plan and having a doctor that truly cares about your results is invaluable. So thank you to Dr. Hui and Bay Area Cosmetic Dermatology. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.F.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Apr 28, 2017

I cannot speak highly enough of Dr. Hui!When I first saw her I was suffering from rosacea and as a result, very sensitive skin.  I couldn't use any over the counter products like face wash or moisturizer.  I also had a lot of tiny red blood vessels that made me look red all the time.  And I always had at least one zit at any given time.Dr. Hui took the time to explain why this was all happening and what she was going to do to help.  She answered all of my questions and didn't rush through the appointment like so many other doctors do.She ended up recommending a bunch of products as well as laser treatments.  Even after the appointment, she was super responsive when I emailed her in a panic because my skin was out of control.Now, everything is great.  The rosacea has cleared and so have the zits. I've had several laser treatments to take care of the red blood vessels and Dr. Hui is great at making them as pain-free as possible.I am happy to say that I barely wear makeup anymore and am no longer self conscious. More

5.0
Review from AF  |  Source: Office Visit  |  Apr 28, 2017

I cannot speak highly enough of Dr. Hui! When I first saw her I was suffering from rosacea and as a result, very sensitive skin. I couldn't use any over the counter products like face wash or moisturizer. I also had a lot of tiny red blood vessels that made me look red all the time. And I always had at least one zit at any given time. Dr. Hui took the time to explain why this was all happening and what she was going to do to help. She answered all of my questions and didn't rush through the appointment like so many other doctors do. She ended up recommending a bunch of products as well as laser treatments. Even after the appointment, she was super responsive when I emailed her in a panic because my skin was out of control. Now, everything is great. The rosacea has cleared and so have the zits. I've had several laser treatments to take care of the red blood vessels and Dr. Hui is great at making them as pain-free as possible. I am happy to say that I barely wear makeup anymore and am no longer self conscious. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.H.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Feb 08, 2017

I am the frequent customer of Bay Area Cosmetic dermatology clinic. I was seen by Dr. Welsh's new associate a year ago for Kybella for my puffy eye bags and Fraxel Repair for my face. Tell you all my Asian friends, my eye bags haven't come back and my face is still  as smooth and as clear as baby cheeks. It seems it get smoother everyday. I used to hate to look at my reflection on the mirror, but now I really happy with the great result of Dr Andrea Hui's skillful and painless procedure on my face. It holds up for one a year now!!!!!!!!!! Another secret is I follow Dr Hui's skin care program to the last detail. No one can guess my age right!!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.G.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Sep 12, 2016

I've been working with Dr. Hui and Chrissy for the past 6 months on a 15 year old surgery scar using Fraxel scan and the results are beyond incredible!! The scar is now flat and almost looks like normal skin. Not only did Dr. Hui recommend the proper course of action, but she has walked me through the process the entire time and has made me feel incredibly comfortable and well taken care of! I HIGHLY recommend going to Dr. Hui and Chrissy. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.K.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jul 28, 2016

Dr. Hui has been a godsend for my rosacea-prone, inflamed, acne-scarred skin that is highly sensitized to pretty much everything. I thought I'd tried every product out there for very sensitive skin (OTC as well as seeing other dermatologists), and had pretty much resigned myself to having to wear makeup every time I left the house so my face didn't look like a splotchy mess. But then I read great reviews about the practice and decided to see Dr. Hui, and my skin has been transformed. I told her my goal was to wear zero makeup, and we've been steadily progressing towards that goal with great results. She made me discard my overly complicated skincare routine and get back to basics. My skincare routine now takes 30 seconds in the morning and 2 minutes at night, and my skin looks so much better in every way. I've been using the products Dr. Hui recommended that have made a huge difference, and have also been getting V-beam laser treatments that have also been significant in getting rid of the diffuse redness throughout my face. My skincare routine is so much more basic than before (no more time-consuming multiple serums and many face masks), but more effective by leaps and bounds. I've also gotten facial hair removal done by Dr. Hui and have seen great results with that. Also wanted to give a big shout out to Mary, one of the nurses at the practice. I had some body laser hair removal done (legs, underarms). She's incredibly professional and personable and makes what's supposed to be a very uncomfortable situation a breeze. Overall, the practice is very well run, everyone's on top of their game, and my skin bears testament to that! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from P.P.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Apr 07, 2016

About a month ago I wrote a very disappointing review for my services at Bay Area Cosmetic Dermatology-- I must say that I should have checked-in with my Provider prior to writing the review.  What I didn't know is that my treatment plan was not complete, that there were more steps to be taken.I just got back today from a visit with Dr. Hui and I am happy to say---that now I understand my treatment plan, I looked at the photos from before my Fraxel treatment and  I do see improvement.  I'll keep you updated-- but I think I'm on the path of success with my treatment plan.  I'm so pleased with my visit and the next steps-- They are really taking care of me!  Thanks! More

5.0
Review from DG  |  Source: Office Visit  |  Apr 05, 2016

I suffered a unfortunate bicycle accident that left me with several unsightly facial scars. Dr.Hui recommended a combination of VBeam and Fraxel treatments that have had fantastic results. She and the team at Bay Area Cosmetic Dermatology have been an amazing help in my recovery process, I feel very lucky to have found them. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.R.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Mar 27, 2016

I have struggled with acne and acne scarring since sophomore year of high school (I am now 20). No matter what I tried and who I saw I just couldn't get my acne under control. My skin only worsened when I went off to college. I was so insecure about my skin that I would try to avoid going out in the sunlight or in bright lighting. I even tried to stop looking at myself in mirrors because it made me so self conscious. My skin was affecting my social life and desire to see people in a negative way and was a constant source of stress and anxiety (which only made my acne worse). That is, until I began working with Dr. Hui in the summer between my freshman and sophomore year of college. In the year since meeting Dr. Hui my acne and scarring has improved dramatically. I am now more confident and excited about going out and seeing people.Dr. Hui started me on a very low dose of Accutane and a nighttime retin-a. Her goal was to clear up the acne first and then work on the scarring underneath. When the acne began to clear up, Dr. Hui started doing V-Beam lasers on my scarring. This reduced the red spots on my skin that I had had for years. Before the V-Beam I couldn't remember the last time that I looked at my face and it wasn't a red, blotchy mess. Last week Dr. Hui performed a Fraxel laser on my skin to even out the texture and alleviate more of the scarring. While it has only been a week since the procedure, the results are very noticeable. My skin is much smoother and has less marks from scarring and will only continue to improve over time (according to Dr. Hui). This is the best my skin has looked since starting high school and it is all thanks to Dr. Hui and her MAs Mabel, Chrissy, Isabel, and Euridice. I am now going back to school for the spring quarter with a newfound confidence in my skin. I will continue on the low dose of the Accutane and the nighttime retin-a and hopefully my skin will clear up more every day.In addition to the actual work that she did on my skin, Dr. Hui and Mabel, Chrissy, Isabel, and Euridice were incredibly warm and accommodating. Dr. Hui and her MAs always spent time explaining every detail of my skin regiment to me and answering any questions that I had (no matter how ridiculous). They were very patient and I never felt rushed.  Not only were they friendly and fun to talk to in person, but they always responded to my calls and emails (which I used to send constantly) as fast as any doctors office ever has. I cannot recommend Dr. Hui and her team enough. They really care about improving your skin and it shows. I am forever grateful to them for everything that they have done for me. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.D.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Mar 15, 2016

Dr. Hui is a miracle worker! I had been on BenzaClin, Differin, and oral antibiotics for almost a decade without much success. Right after my 24th birthday, my skin was worse than ever. I had cystic, hormonal acne all over my chin and my cheeks were always red. Dr. Hui told me not to worry, but I was ready to give up! She created a skincare routine for me and prescribed me spironolactone and doxycycline. Within six weeks, my skin was clearing up. Then, to remove dark spots and discoloring, I got VBeam laser treatments once a month. My skin is now better than I could have ever dreamed of. Dr. Hui went beyond just clearing up my acne. My friends and family can't believe the transformation. It's been an absolute pleasure to come to Bay Area Cosmetic Dermatology. The staff is so nice and helpful and are always available via email or phone for any questions. More

5.0
Review from SS  |  Source: Office Visit  |  Mar 02, 2016

I've been seeing Dr Hui for 2 months now. 2 months ago I had terrible acne but now my skin is very clear. Dr Hui is really knowledgeable. I wanted to do a fraxel laser but she told me I need to get my acne under control first and then do the fraxel. She prescribed some pills and she does extractions when I see her. She also gave me a routine to take care of my skin. My skin has never looked better. I recommend going to her if you want a perfect skin free of acne. Seeing her was the best decision I made and was life changing More

5.0
DAPI
Review from P.C.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Feb 04, 2016

After much deliberation, i underwent the Fraxel Repair CO2 with Dr Hui, the staff and the procedure were as good as it gets and the results amazing!Dr Welsh's office and facility are state of the art and Dr Welsh is bar none the best in the business. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.E.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jan 13, 2016

My daughter has had a rough road with acne.  She has seen approximately 4 different dermatologists since the age of 13 and hadminimal success with her treatments.  After going away to college, she thought her skin just may get better as she entered adulthood,unfortunately, the opposite occurred and she developed severe hormonal cystic acne, so detrimental, it affected her daily life and she soonwas not going out to functions to avoid "being seen" and slipping into a bit of a depression. Being a RN in the city, I had heard wonderful things about Dr Hui, so when she washome from college, we booked apt asap. fast forward........almost 6 months later, after specific medications, special topical treatments and laser treatments, my daughter's skin looks AMAZING and she is so happy!  No longer hiding behind mounds of makeup or in her room to avoid the public.  I recommend Dr Hui on many levels.  Not only does she have a wonderful bedside manner, she is an excellent clinician.  We can't thank herenough for her amazing care.  OH, and added bonus, Dr Hui's Medical assistant, Euridice is absolutely wonderful.  She made me and mydaughter feel so comfortable and her warmth and kindness was/is so appreciated and she is extremely knowledgeable and thoughtful. We feel so fortunate to have found them both. Utmost highest recommendations to this team! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.G.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Oct 10, 2015

I started to see Dra. Andrea Hui in the end of May (2015), because I had the most crazy acne during the whole semester, due to stress, and as I am not from United States it took me a while until I get to the clinic. I had some facials done in other places along the semester, but they weren't helpful at all, the acne just kept getting worst. When I finally got to see Dra. Hui was when everything started to change, she is an amazing person and really understands what your skin needs. As I am very anxious I firstly scheduled a consult to know more about the Fraxel laser, but she told me how we first needed to control the acne before treating the scars. The process is not easy and it can get very bad until it starts to get better, but you have to trust Dra. Hui and her assistant, Euridice because it is all part of the process. There is no shortcuts and you have to follow the routine and commit to the treatment, and they are the best people to help you get through it, not only because of their knowledge but because they are also very caring people. The first three months were the hardest for me, but from the fourth to the fifth things started to get really good, the breakouts were almost non-existent, and my skin texture was completely changed. I had a lot of redness from inflammation so before doing the Fraxel we did a couple of V Beam laser sections, and they were amazing, after the first one I didn't see a huge change, but after the second and the third I was very impressed. For me the worst part of having acne is that it makes you feel very bad to be in your own skin, and how the coverage that makeup gives still doesn't actually help to make you feel better. And I really like how Dra. Hui understands that, I really recommend her, she is very correct and professional, so you can trust her completely, she knows the steps and the right moment to do the different treatments that your skin might need. Some tips I would give is to schedule your consult in a day and time you will probably leave the clinic and go home, it is easier to do the procedures in days you don't need to be anywhere afterwards.  And mostly if you have problems with acne get it treated with a great professional such as Dra. Hui and her staff, because there are so many products and false promises out there, and to have the guidance of someone who actually knows what she is doing is the only way to have real and lasting improvement. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.H.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jul 14, 2015

I love what Dr. Welsh and Dr. Hui have done to my skin. They helped me find confidence and happiness again. I have been doing treatments for about two years including injections, ulthera, clear and brilliant and hydra facials. Never disappointed!!! I also see Mary - she is the best with treatments and helpful advice!! Strongly recommend. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.B.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jul 11, 2015

I love this place and the work they do!  I opted for a fraxel treatment when considering major work, including plastic surgery.  Dr. Hui performed the treatment and I am so happy with the results that I believe it was a much better alternative to surgery.  The skin on my face and neck looks at least 10 years younger; all the dark spots, little moles, fine lines and leathery red skin are gone and now I am able to skip foundation and still look great. And without the down time and pain associated with surgery.   It's given me a renewed confidence though my biggest surprise was the softening of the nasolabial fold lines.  I have slightly chubby cheeks so have always had those lines but they've almost disappeared.  It was virtually painless and what with the fabulous staff, it really was a fun experience.  I highly recommend considering this procedure when thinking of ways to maintain one's appearance and the folks at this office are the best!. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from B.C.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  May 18, 2015

Older Man Who Has Had over 50 Skin Cancers - Brooklyn, NY - I've known Dr Hui for over 5 years now from the first time I met her I knew she was very special. I've seen her in every aspect as a dermatologist/ Mohs surgeon and now the last few years using Fraxel. If you are looking for a dermatologist who will do the very best for you with the most modern technology then you have to make an appointment with my Doctor Andrea Hui. More

*Individual results are not guaranteed and may vary from person to person. Images may contain models.