Header Logo
Patient Reviews Image

Patient Reviews

Reviews for Chemical Peel Procedures Near San Francisco, CA

We value all of our patients and their individual needs. At Bay Area Cosmetic Dermatology, we want you to make the most informed decision to achieve your cosmetic goals. Choosing the best procedure and physician for you is an extremely important decision, and we invite you to read about previous patients’ experiences and better understand the quality treatment you will receive from our board-certified dermatologists. Each of our medical professionals value your journey and want to ensure you feel as comfortable and confident about your decision as possible.

Filter23 Reviews  
5.0
DAPI
Review from W.T.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Sep 16, 2020

I highly recommend Dr. Steven He. I have had melasma and Nevi of Ota from on my cheeks and temples for the past 15 years. I’ve tried treatments from other dermatologists, including hydroxychloroquine cream, with no improvement. I’ve also met with other laser treatment centers, who presented cookie cutter treatments. However, I’ve seen friends and family get rebound hyperpigmentation on their face from aggressive dose of laser therapy. For Asian skin, sometimes the dose of laser and strength of chemical peels have to be adjusted due to skin sensitivity. As an Asian female physician, I was cautious about who to trust. I chose Dr. He because I heard he has lots of experience with Asian American patients. I started seeing him a few months ago, and I am extremely confident in his skills. He is thoughtful about his approach and tailors his treatment plan to the individual patient. I have had 5 treatments, starting with chemical peels to remove superficial melasma, and now transitioned to laser treatments for the darker spots. The spots have significantly lightened. I recently saw my family, who had been hounding me for years about my spots, and they could not even notice the spots! I am extremely satisfied with Dr. He’s care. He is a knowledgeable, conscientious, effective physician. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.C.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jun 25, 2020

I’ve been seeing Dr.He for two treatments now (acne scarring and mild rosacea which I didn’t know I had until he pointed it out) and I am very happy with the results so far. Dr.He is very professional, caring, funny, and knows his stuff! It’s hard finding a good dermatologist and after years of searching I’ve found mine. Highly recommend Dr.He!! Treatments: laser, chemical peels, and soon Botox. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from ?.M.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Feb 20, 2020

A miracle in San Francisco!! I moved from the East Coast, and so was fairly spoiled with some of the best cosmetic dermatologists in the U.S. However, now my concern is what on earth I will do WITHOUT Dr. He if he ever leaves the Bay Area. I can't say enough how lucky we are to have someone with that kind of natural artistry with filler here. He both incredibly knowledgeable and patient-focused, tailoring treatments and regimens to fit needs/budget and responding to last-minute skin care "emergencies" or concerns. If you are considering Botox, Filler, laser treatments, or peels and are in the Bay Area, I would DEFINITELY give BACD a call. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.O.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Nov 02, 2019

I found Bay Area Cosmetic Dermatology via Yelp. I made my first appointment and had to wait for a month and a half to get in which was over a year ago. I had been to so many Dermatologists, Cosmetologists, clowns, rip offs you name it, this wait was so worth!! I had melasma due to my pregnancy, very bad acne scars. When I saw Dr Austin, I bombarded her with all my bad experiences and kept asking for a chemical peel, sounds so funny now:-) She brought me back to earth and came up with a plan and took her time to explain me about my issues first and then the steps of her plan. Within a few months, my melasma was almost gone. We are still working on my acne scars but they ve almost disappeared as well. Dr. Austin is the BEST dermatologist I have ever come across by far!! She fixed all my medical skin issues and my confidence as a result. In the meantime, I moved to South bay and have been driving an hour an a half to Sf to see her!! Also, I started doing Botox and fillers with her (I am 42). This place is worth every penny! Do yourself a favor and go see Dr. Austin if you have skin issues! She is an amazing sorcerer! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.D.  |  Source: Yelp  |  May 20, 2019

Dr. Hui Austin is amazing!! She has honestly changed my life. I have been struggling with melasma for the last five years and have tried so many different treatments spending thousands of dollars with minimal results (cosmelan peel, chemical peels, acupuncture, etc.) After our first initial consultation I felt like I had hope with this condition that had consumed me for years. Her confidence in her work and the results she expects to see I believe is the kind of confidence every doctor should instill in their patients. She came up with a skin care plan for me that included at home care and in office treatments and the results have been life changing. I now get compliments on my skin! Not only has it cleared up my melasma but no more blemishes, less fine lines and shrunken pores are all added bonuses with my skin care regimen. If you have melasma you know how debilitating it can be and Dr. Austin is so incredibly knowledgable on the subject and takes the time to explain how each treatment works while making you feel at complete ease. I can't say enough how thankful I am that I found her and wish all my doctors had the kind of dedication Dr. Austin has to both her work and patients. I always do my homework before having anyone near my skin (I'm talking hours in the blackhole of reading reviews) and after having read other people's success with melasma with Dr. Austin I decided to book a consultation. Six months later I am so happy I did and wanted to return that favor with my own review for any others out there that might be struggling with melasma - there is hope!!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.M.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Feb 10, 2019

Dr. Austin is phenomenal! She is a perfectionist and pays attention to every detail. My skin is in the best shape it's ever been. I can skip makeup and still get compliments... She is honest, incredibly kind and an excellent physician. From injections, Botox, or a peel.. you will not be disappointed; highly recommend. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.C.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Nov 08, 2018

I started seeing Dr. Hui (now Austin) in June 2018.  So far, I'm very satisfied with the result.  I suffered from acne as a teenager which lead to many scars on my face.  I have tried so many different treatments including dermabrasion, CO2 laser, chemical peels, photo facial, micro-needling, etc. in the past 20 years to improve the large pores and scars.  However, some of the treatments made my skin even worse than before and also left more scars on my face.  My skin became extremely sensitive and was prone to scarring after break out.  The micro-needling helps to improve some shallower scars but not the deep ice pick scars.  I was so discouraged but I don't want to live with scars for the rest of my life.  I'm so lucky that found Dr. Hui.  She outlined a treatment plan for me.  She recommended some skin care products, Laser Genesis and TCA Cross.  At first, I was skeptical but I wanted to give it a last try.  At the consultation appointment, Dr. Hui performed the TCA Cross on 5 test spots.  She did not charge me extra for the test spots other than the consultation fee.  So far, I had 2 treatments of Laser Genesis and TCA Cross.  I've been following her face regimen and using all the products she recommended.  I still need to do a few more sessions but I can see a great improvement in my skin.  Most of the scars that have been crossed are much shallower and smaller than before.  There are a few ice pick scars have completely filled in.  I couldn't believe it because those scars were on my face for 20+ years.  TCA cross has shown me the most improvement on my scars of anything I have done before.  The patches on my skin are gone and my skin is much firmer.  I will confine this treatment until all my scars are filled in.  Please keep in mind that the scars may look worse when the scars first fall off but they will continue to fill in and heal over time.  The process can take from 2-6 months after the treatment.  Please be patience.  Dr. Hui and NP Mary are amazing.  I highly recommend Dr. Hui for those who are suffering from acne scars. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.A.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Aug 25, 2018

I have struggled with severe acne for my whole life and have spent thousands of dollars on proactive, x-out, bioré, natural solutions like witch hazel, tea tree oil, etc. None of these products worked for me and some of them made my skin severely dry, red, or caused my hyper-pigmentation to be more noticeable. I was losing hope that I would ever have clear skin until I came across TCA peels (trichloroacetic acid) on youtube, I saw that there was a lot of positive reviews as well as horror stories , but I felt like I was out of options so I decided to set up a consultation at Bay Area Cosmetic Dermatology, I didn't feel like my skin could get any worse so even if the skin peel didn't work, I felt that It was still worth the risk. When I first arrived, it was a 250 dollar fee for new patients and they looked at my skin and offered several products for a skin care regiment and they told me that my skin issues were caused because my body produced a little more testosterone then a normal woman. They prescribe me spironolactone to help prevent further extreme break outs and tranexamic acid to help with my hyper-pigmentation, after one month I noticed a severe decline in break outs. Before I was on these medications I was getting 5 - 10 new pimples every week plus back acne, after being on these medications it was like 1 or 2 every month. After getting my acne settled, we then started to work on my hyper pigmentation, I had expressed that I wanted a TCA peel but Dr.Austin told me that with my skin tone a TCA peel would be too extreme and might remove the melanin from my skin. I didn't want to ruin my skin tone but I also didn't want the dark spots, Dr.Austin then recommended that I get a less deep peel and we decided to go with either a lactic acid peel or a glycolic acid peel. When I received my first peel I noticed dramatic changes. I still had a lot hyper pigmentation but it was very different from before. I am now 7 peels in and I am very happy with my results! I wish I would have come here sooner, it would have saved me thousands in skin care products that didn't work for me. Each peel I received was 250$, and worth every penny. The pictures below show my current skin condition and what it looked like after my first 3 peels (sorry I only started taking pictures after the first 3!), I will also post what it looks like when its peeling, will update with more photos after this current peel is completely done. These pictures were taken 3 months apart each other. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.C.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Mar 02, 2018

Although my review was about my melasma I also had bad scares on my face due to a biking accident. The scars are barely visible now and I forgot to mention it in my original post. I have also gotten my 5th peel and my melasma on the upper lip is barely there. I can easily cover it with the Skinmedica tinted moisturizer from Dr. Hui's office. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.C.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Dec 01, 2017

I went to Bay Area Dermatology because a few of the girls in my office recommend it. I had developed a really bad case of melasma on my cheeks and upper lip. When I made an appointment they had asked me if I had a preference as to who I wanted to see. I told the receptionist that I had Asian skin so if I could get someone that is familiar with treating common Asian skin issues that would be fantastic. I was scheduled an appointment with Dr. Hui.At my first meet with Dr. Hui she confirmed that I did indeed have melasma and that my next step was to start getting chemical peels 4-6 weeks apart. Wow. Holy smokes! So far I've received 3 chemical peels and the melasma is almost gone. It's at the point where I am able to cover it up with just foundation. Yippee!  At my most recent appointment I received my first laser treatment with Mary. I had a 1pm appointment and was seen quickly to start the numbing process. I am one of those people that benifit from the extra time with the numbing cream so I appreciate that the ladies got me started immediately. I was so numb  that I barely felt a thing. Definitely one of the easiest laser procedures I have ever done. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from H.A.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Aug 08, 2017

I have been seeing Dr. Welsh (who was initially recommended to me by my primary care physician) since 2007 for fillers, and more recently, Botox, between once and twice a year. Additionally, two years ago I had an intensive peel and spots on the backs of my hands treated, and last year, a light peel. Although it seems counter-intuitive, I am now paying less per visit than I did ten years ago; I don't need as much! I also am not trying to look decades younger, only slow the external manifestations of aging. This goal is exactly what Dr. Welsh continues to achieve. The work is subtle, yet I am always met with disbelief when I tell people I am fifty-eight. (I should add that I have been using Retin-A since I was thirty, and Dr. Welsh says this makes a huge difference.) Since Dr. Hui has come on board I have seen her once for fillers, with the same excellent results. I wanted to get another intensive peel this year, which Dr. Hui administered eight days ago. The product Dr. Hui currently uses has a much quicker turn-around than the previous two-week period. The treatment is, as Dr. Hui characterized it, "spicy." But the three chili peppers level lasts only for a minute, and my face felt completely normal an hour later. I've been slathering my face with Aquafor (and sunscreen when I am outside) and the peeling has ended. I was a bit concerned as my face peeled much more rapidly than with the previous treatment, but when I saw Dr. Hui for a check-in yesterday she reassured me that this was normal for the new product. I currently have patches of redness in varying size and shade over about a third of my face that will fade over the next three to four days. The skin is beautiful, and I won't feel the need to wear make-up. I am very pleased with the results--at a much lower cost than Fraxel laser treatments. Drs. Welsh and Hui have stellar educations and credentials, yet are down-to-earth. They love their work and it shows. Over ten years I have had only warm, professional interactions with staff, and never once felt pressure to buy products. I have watched my skin and appearance improve under Dr. Welsh's thoughtful care, and am happy that the equally attentive Dr. Hui has joined her. I am looking forward to the next ten years! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from H.A.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Aug 08, 2017

I have been seeing Dr. Welsh (who was initially recommended to me by my primary care physician) since 2007 for fillers, and more recently, Botox, between once and twice a year. Additionally, two years ago I had an intensive peel and spots on the backs of my hands treated, and last year, a light peel. Although it seems counter-intuitive, I am now paying less per visit than I did ten years ago; I don't need as much! I also am not trying to look decades younger, only slow the external manifestations of aging. This goal is exactly what Dr. Welsh continues to achieve. The work is subtle, yet I am always met with disbelief when I tell people I am fifty-eight. (I should add that I have been using Retin-A since I was thirty, and Dr. Welsh says this makes a huge difference.)Since Dr. Hui has come on board I have seen her once for fillers, with the same excellent results. I wanted to get another intensive peel this year, which Dr. Hui administered eight days ago. The product Dr. Hui currently uses has a much quicker turn-around than the previous two-week period. The treatment is, as Dr. Hui characterized it, "spicy." But the three chili peppers level lasts only for a minute, and my face felt completely normal an hour later. I've been slathering my face with Aquafor (and sunscreen when I am outside) and the peeling has ended. I was a bit concerned as my face peeled much more rapidly than with the previous treatment, but when I saw Dr. Hui for a check-in yesterday she reassured me that this was normal for the new product. I currently have patches of redness in varying size and shade over about a third of my face that will fade over the next three to four days. The skin is beautiful, and I won't feel the need to wear make-up. I am very pleased with the results--at a much lower cost than Fraxel laser treatments.Drs. Welsh and Hui have stellar educations and credentials, yet are down-to-earth. They love their work and it shows. Over ten years I have had only warm, professional interactions with staff, and never once felt pressure to buy products. I have watched my skin and appearance improve under Dr. Welsh's thoughtful care, and am happy that the equally attentive Dr. Hui has joined her. I am looking forward to the next ten years! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.M.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jun 27, 2017

I suffered from melasma for about 5 years after 2 fraxel treatments. I went to two doctors for melasma consultation , but they only pushed for those expensive laser. I was hesitant to do any laser as it was the cause of my melasma and the result can be unpredictable. Basically, I just lost all hope and accepted my fate until I met Dr. Hui! Dr. Hui gave my life back to me!!! I am reborn !!! Before meeting Dr. Hui, I was depressed , and I lost a lot of valuable family times. I didn't want to go on any vacation because all I worried was my face. I was scared to go out during summer time because of the sun exposure. I decided to see Dr. Hui after all the 5 stars reviews on the internet. I travel 120 miles to see Dr. Hui, but I must say I'm a lucky girl because I am finally in good hands! Dr. Hui is honest, compassionate, competent, skilled and knowledgeable. She is up to date on the latest treatment, and she puts patient's safety as her top priority, which is hard to find in the beauty industry these days!! She assessed my previous treatments and came up with a comprehensive treatment that treats me internally & externally! She explained the treatment plan to me and told me other options in case if those fail. She gave me a oral medication which costs less than $10 with my insurance! She introduced a better sunscreen to me to prevent formation of new brown spots. Her office has special formulated Retin-A that will further help with lightening the spot. I am happy to stop using hydroquinone since it was causing redness to my skin & it  can't be used on a long term basis. Dr. Hui put me on a safe lightening serum that doesn't cause any irritation to my skin. Within 3 weeks of her regimen, I was comfortable to go out in the public without any makeup !!!! I used to spend 20 minutes putting on makeup & concealer and still looked horrible. Now, my routine is less than 5 mins!!! I am now in the third month of treatment , and my skin improved so much without any procedure! I plan to have a few chemical peels to get rid of those residual pigment. I feel liberated !!!! I am finally being back to myself!! I begin my day with a big smile to myself in the mirror , and it would not have happened if it wasn't for Dr. Hui! Dr. Hui gave me a second chance in life! Not only does she reverse the damage from the laser, I am now on my way to a better version of me. My skin is smoother and healthier than before my melasma. My self-esteem is back up, and I'm no longer depressed. Words can't express my gratitude towards Dr. Hui. For those of you who are suffering from any kind of skin problem, I highly recommend you to see Dr. Hui. Even if you have no major skin concern, Dr. Hui can take your skin to the next level. My sister, who has good skin, started to see Dr.Hui after seeing my dramatic results. She said her pores are smaller, and she has a nice glow now!!!  Thank you Dr. Hui for giving my life and my family life back to me!!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.G.  |  Source: Yelp  |  May 18, 2017

MELASMA NO MORE! I love love love BACD and Dr. Andrea Hui. I moved to the area last July from the East Coast and was looking for a new doc to help me manage my melasma. I have been dealing with melasma for over five years and nothing seemed to work. It was getting worse and I received contradictory guidance. Dr. Hui is very accessible, really  listens, and more importantly personalizes the treatment approach to the patient and skin type. She managed my expectations and gave me reasonable timelines for expecting changes. She also offered me new interventions as they became available. After seven months of faithfully following the skin care regimen she suggested, coupled with peels and medication, I am virtually spot free. I have ventured outside my house with nothing but sunscreen, after years of full coverage makeup to hide the spots. I am ecstatic about the quality of care Dr Hui and the staff at BACD have provided. I never felt like they were unnecessarily pushing products and procedures on me. Without reservations I recommend this practice. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.O.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jan 25, 2017

Acne, acne scars, hyper-pigmentation, discoloration, Bay Area Cosmetic Dermatolgy is the place to go! I have been to numerous dermatologist and estheticians in multiple states and have spend upwards of $5,000 before coming to Bay Area Cosmetic Dermatolgy and seeing Dr. Andrea Hui. As soon as Dr. Hui came in the room she knew exactly what I needed to fix my skin. She and along with her awesome, very polite and super knowledgeable assistant, Ariana, will service your skin needs in an unparalleled manner.                     I am all about one thing, which is results. As mentioned above I have spent and have been to numerous dermatologist that have wasted so much of my time and money. Before meeting with Dr. Hui I used countless creams, injections, peels, facials, etc.,etc.! As a result of so many failed attempts at fixing my scars and pigmentation I started to research, which lead me to Dr. Hui.           Meeting with Dr. Hui was unrushed, which encouraged me to fully explain my history, unlike other dermatologist that gives you less then five minutes to explain. I did not want any more creams or facials being that none of that worked, which I made clear to Dr. Hui who completely understood. After talking with Dr Hui we settled on a treatment program, which included the V-Beam, Juvederm Ultra Plus, CO2 laser and subcision, lighting pads and ONE Retin-A cream. This program was not to take place at once but over time as I see her monthly.             To tell you the truth, you will need more then one V-Beam session, currently I am on my fifth and my face is clearer then ever before. The subcision was performed when Dr. Hui put in Juvederm Ultra Plus, which took place around the fourth V-Beam session. Subcision along with filler helps with the appearance of acne scars, which Dr. Hui performs painlessly and meticulously. The filler allowed my face to look fuller - NOT botched - just smoother from the trauma left behind from my acne. My lighting pads came after my 2nd visit with Dr. Hiu. She actually recommended the lightening pads as a more affordable solution to help with my brown pigmentation on my shoulder, chest and back so that I didn't have to spend more money on laser. I was very pleased with this idea because I was expecting to spend upwards of $1,400 before Dr. Hui recommended a more reasonable, thoughtful solution.                    All in all, the prices are NOT expensive and if you want your skin to look great, see Dr. Hui. Not everyone is the same but if you have a skin issues, you will most likely need some sort of IPL laser, which is exactly what Dr Hui specializes in. I have lived in Minnesota and Colorado and the prices are the same as the dermatologist in both land locked states. People say the prices are expensive because cosmetic dermatology as a industry is expensive. If you have any skin issues and would like to finally have them addressed, please visit Dr. Hui and her wonder staff. She is beautiful in and out and will get you the results you need. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.S.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jan 08, 2017

I have battled back acne for over 30 years and over that time have seen different dermatologists, have been prescribed oral antibiotics such as erythromycin and doxycycline,  have had 3 rounds of Accutane in the late '90's, early 2000's, and tried different prescription creams. Despite all of these efforts, acne and scarring have continued to persist. So after receiving a product sample at a school fundraiser, and looking at their site, I figured I would try yet another approach. After an initial consultation with Dr. Hui 2 months ago and buying many expensive but effective skin products, I started to see a significant improvement in the acne...finally! In a subsequent visit 6 weeks ago, I had a chemical peel with remarkable improvement in the scarring and discoloration. I just had a second chemical peel two days ago and am optimistic that this upcoming summer may be one in which bathing suits and cute sundresses with a scoop neck are a wardrobe possibility. This is life changing for me and I am eternally grateful. Thank you Dr. Hui! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.Q.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Dec 03, 2016

Dr. Hui is a great dermatologist. If you're are in need to fix your skin, go to her. Just one session and you will get hooked on her attention to detail, truthful advice and great array of treatments.As a teenager I struggled with acne and went through accutane, multiple creams and not many good results. Last year I was starting my 30's and was still struggling with some breakouts mostly on my chin and neck (hormonal acne related to PCOS) and uneven texture overall. I couldn't bare to "become an adult trapped on the skin of a teenager" and  found Dr Hui while browsing for "best dermatologist in SF". Since day 1, Dr Hui and her team were amazing, approachable and patient to respond all of my questions.Among many of the services I had were some peelings, dermapen treatments, botox and  hydrafacials. Thanks to a personalized skin routine that Dr Hui created for me, I have been acne free for months! People compliment my new "glowy" skin and I rarely need to wear any makeup. Sunblock, powder and off I go! It's hard to believe I once had troubled skin!The experience of each visit is also remarkable: The office space: beautiful, clean and spacious. A team of ladies on the front desk will check you in and make sure to refill all your home care products. There also an amazing option where they can mail you any cream or product that you need. Comes handy when you cannot escape the office but need to refill your creams.The staff: every nurse and practitioners I've had had been courteous and amicable. Claire has been doing most of the appointments and she's the best! She can guide you through every step and let you know what's the purpose of each treatment, or she can let you enjoy your treatment while you immerse on your thoughts. She seems always on a good mood and very easy to be around. She always checks if I feel comfortable through the procedure and makes sure I address any remaining questions to Dr. Hui.The products: high quality brands as SkinMedica, Obagi and Jane Iredale among others. All the appliances and machines seem to be at their best form and clean!Dr. Hui: really nice, knowledgeable and trustable! She promised me a due date for when I would see results and she was on point! We'll continue working to keep my skin on maintenance mode and preserve beautiful skin. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.K.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Apr 13, 2016

I have been a patient of Dr. Hui for almost a year.  I came to her and the Bay Area Cosmetic Dermatology due to still having acne as an adult. :-(  I used to have really REALLY bad and painful cystic acne before getting treatment from Dr. Hui.  I have also been working with Mabel and Hannah for my peels and they been just as amazing as Dr. Hui.Now after about 8 months of treatment I have no more painful cystic acne and my face is glowing!!!  Dr. Hui and her team are amazing!!  If you suffer from adult acne or any acne then go see Dr. Hui and her team straight away!  You won't regret it!!  Thank you Dr. Hui and team!!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.R.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Feb 08, 2014

I have been in to see Dr. Welsh three times and been thrilled each time with the result and/or prescription. I have been to other dermatologists and these ladies "get it" better than most. The first time I went in to inquire about how to improve the look of my aging skin and they started me on retnoids-which have been a game-changer.  Women in their 30s and 40s shouldn't have to battle acne and wrinkles at the same time!  I have been using them for three years now and could not be happier with the result.  I went back in to have a light peel done to try and remove some melasma on my forehead and chin from years of sun abuse (I now wear sunscreen religiously, but had a misspent youth in tanning beds...).  I also received some other in office treatments that did not disappoint.  Dr. Welsh saw me for two of those appointments and her very capable staff saw to my needs the third time. I plan to make an appointment to return to see Dr. Welsh and her friendly and competent staff as I prepare for my upcoming wedding this summer to make sure I look my best. Reasonable pricing for this area and realistic results are what I expect and what these ladies have delivered each time I have been in. Highly recommend!!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.A.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Sep 13, 2012

Let's be honest ladies - skin is tricky. Skin is finicky. Find what works for you and stick with it. For me, that's Dr. Welsh.Why she's great:Fabulous credentials.Great bedside manner.Tells it straight - yes those wrinkles are noticeable.Tries all the products and treatments on herself and staff before purchasing for the office.Is recommended by countless doctors.Look at the skin of the ladies that work in her office and try not to be cat clawingly jealous.Has a great eye for injectables.Worked wonders on my server Acne caused during pregnancy.Now let's address some of the rants of people who gave Dr. Welsh 1-StarLong Wait Times: Do you really want a doctor who runs onetime? Seriously, that means that they give you 5 minutes of time and no more. What if you have questions? What if you have a mole that looks suspicious and she wants to take a biopsy? Good doctor take as long as necessary with their patients, so I am willing to wait my turn to get my time with the best skin doctor in SF.Selling Products: Dr. Welsh sells only the best products on the market. She isn't trying to up-sell you, trust me. She makes plenty of money from her appointments. The products she sells work for MOST people. Sometimes the odd person has an atypical reaction - but thats not a reason to give Dr. Welsh 1 Star. Do you stop going to Walgreens when that new lotion gave you a rash? Nope - and I bet if you call the office and are nice they'll take it back and recommend something else. I'm sorry if you can buy things cheaper on Amazon - but isn't that the truth about everything? Dr. Welsh's office is a small business and I'm happy to give them my business, just like my local butcher and bookstore.Staff: Her staff are great. Friendly, knowledgable and very experienced. Try and see the same person each time and you can develop a nice friendship. I totally look forward to my appointments so I can happily chat with Kate. She's amazing with skin and saved me during my pregnancy. She does RIDICULOUS extractions and peels and made my skin look the best it could while I was in pregnancy acne hell.Price: You pay what you get for. She doesn't take insurance, but neither does the personal trainer or yoga studio. You want to do something good for yourself and your skink then spend the money on the top person in the city and call Dr. Welsh. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.K.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Oct 23, 2008

I'm reserving judgment. I was peeved that after being 15 minutes early, I had to wait 25 minutes past my appointment time to see the doctor. Looking past the 1 hour of my life I'd have rather manifested as sleep than waiting, Dr. Welsh was quite hurried, and I didn't feel the $150-with-no-insurance-coverage I spent for the 15 minute consultation was worth it. I really just wanted simple product recommendations, like soap and sunscreen, and instead was shunted towards expensive drugs, peels, and lasers.I originally wrote a scathing review, but I'm revising now because it's not Dr. Welsh's fault that I had high expectations. I was hoping she was different that other dermatologists, with keen insights into the products that could work *with* me. Instead, I was jolted by the scrape-burn-zap mentality which, in retrospect, defines western medicine. So it's not her fault that I was hoping she would empathize with my more gentle approach and accommodate it. That being said, I'm still out $150 and right where I started.--- revision 3/5/09I'm changing my review to 4 stars from 2 stars. As it turns out, another dermatologist recommended the same treatment that Dr. Welsh had recommended to me, and it worked. I think I was so irritated by the long wait to meet Dr. Welsh that I wasn't ready to hear anything she had to say, and her hurried delivery didn't help. All this being said, though, she was correct, and on top of that, her staff has been quite supportive and helpful during followups, providing exactly the product recommendations I wanted. So I now trust them for various products, which are summing up to be a whole lot more than that initial consultation.--- revision 8/7/11I'm now changing my review to 5 stars. I'm now a complete convert to the ministry of Dr. Welsh. I have gone from horrible acne that Accutane could barely control to gorgeous glowing skin even my Asian relatives fawn over (with Latisse-enhanced eyelashes). It's also refreshing to go to someone trustworthy and say, hey, I don't like this unevenness in my skin (yes- now that the color is fresh and even, now I want to perfect the texture!) and she knows the latest in getting it addressed. She also has the latest products that I buy for friends as gifts and all of them buy more when they've finished. I can't recommend Dr. Welsh more. It's expensive, but it's worth it. I don't even wear makeup anymore to go out! Literally just some Sumbody chapstick and that's *it*. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.N.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Apr 27, 2007

after years of trying to find a good dermatologist in san francisco, i finally have. dr. welsh knows what she's doing. the first thing she asked me was if i used birth control and what type was it. i quickly learned that was causing probably 70-80 percent of my recent bad skin, ie acne. i couldn't believe it. less than a year before i saw one of the city's most well known dermatologists, he even treats the stars, and he NEVER asked me once about the pill. i always thought all birth control was good for the skin. turns out the nuva ring causes acne in many patients. dr. welsh was also quick to point out that my cute little freckles of which i have sooooo many were actually sun spots and recommended a few products for me to use to clear those up to even out my skin tone. after three weeks of a red face, they are finally working and i am happy about it. my skin is on it's way to looking better than it has in years. i asked her about a chemical peel and she gave me a firm no. i like a doctor that is going to be honest with me and not give me a procedure i don't need. and not to mention everyone in her office has great skin and is very nice and knows what they are talking about. looking forward to my next visit. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.B.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Mar 05, 2007

Dr. Welsh = God in my world. Seriously.If you want to try botox or restylane or something like that, she is your go to person. Chemical peel? No problem. She's expensive, but worth it. You can't put a price on beauty. More

*Individual results are not guaranteed and may vary from person to person. Images may contain models.