Header Logo
Patient Reviews Image

Patient Reviews

Reviews for San Francisco, CA Cosmetic Dermatologist Dr. Andrea Hui Austin Cosmetic Dermatology Procedures

We value all of our patients and their individual needs. At Bay Area Cosmetic Dermatology, we want you to make the most informed decision to achieve your cosmetic goals. Choosing the best procedure and physician for you is an extremely important decision, and we invite you to read about previous patients’ experiences and better understand the quality treatment you will receive from our board-certified dermatologists. Each of our medical professionals value your journey and want to ensure you feel as comfortable and confident about your decision as possible.

Filter21 Reviews  
5.0
DAPI
Review from T.B.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jun 03, 2019

Dr. Austin is a miracle worker! When I came to her, I was desperate to fix my acne, and I did not even think it would be possible to be a no makeup girl again... Fast forward like 6 months and Dr. Austin proved me wrong!! Not only did pimples stop (even those deeeep boys!), but then she began process of resurfacing my skin to get rid of scarring and leftover redness. I cannot believe how refined the texture of my skin is now!!!! Literally it's like I got a skin transplant, and keeps getting progressively better the longer I stick with our regimen (have been seeing her for years now!). After seeing how much Dr. Austin was helping my acne, I decided to switch to her for all my injectable needs too... holy crap. I've been reverse aging ever since !!!!!!!!!!!! She gets max results but is MASTER at keeping it just natural enough   Dr. Austin always takes the time to understand the look I want,  and I feel like a goddess every damn time I leave her office!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.W.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Mar 11, 2019

Dr Hui-Austin has made every person in my family better with her brilliant mind, out of the box approach to tough technical skin problems, anti-aging support and serious skin care. We left Stanford for her and never looked back. She is kind, gentle, supportive, inventive and compassionate. Me: 55, Ultherapy, skin cancer checks, Emsala for incontinence!!!!!! Daughter: 18, acne, skin checks, kybella for chin fat pocket inherited from father Son-21, cystic acne, terrible scarring on face and back Husband- skin tags and other issues We all love her! Thank you for everything!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.C.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Dec 10, 2018

I'm 46 and have been planning on visiting a dermatologist for a few years to have an increasing number of broken veins and milia sorted.  Dr Hui was recommended by a friend and I finally made time for an appointment.  What a revelation.  It transpired I have rosacea, not broken veins, and a combination of a monthly tablet and daily cream have basically cleared it up (this has also had the side benefit of reducing irritation I had in my eyes which is also caused by rosacea, so double win).  I had eczema on my face in my 20's and have always been very wary of new skincare regimes after finding a handful of over the counter creams that didn't aggravate it.  Dr Hui prescribed and provided samples of a proposed regime which within days cleared up some inflammations and made my skin look 10X better.  I've now had 2x laser for light resurfacing and to sort a few veins that became visible when the rosacea cleared.  It requires a few days working from home/weekend (I look a bit like a chipmunk for 4 days), but the impact on my skin texture and tone is incredible.  I've dropped all but a touch of concealer (vs full foundation) and there is a noticeable improvement in small wrinkles as well.  All in all, I wish I'd done this 10 years earlier!!  Dr Hui has a fabulous manner, is super efficient, and works with your schedule in terms of treatments/what you can incorporate into your working life.  I cannot recommend her too highly. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.B.  |  Source: Yelp  |  May 12, 2018

Dr. Hui Austin is truly one of the best Cosmetic Dermatologists in the country.  I cannot say enough good things about her.  She is stylish and chic, has an amazing personality and is dedicated to her patients. She is gifted.  I have been her patent for the last year or two and have had Botox, various fillers & Kybella and most recently the Novo thread lift.  The thread lift results are magnificent. They were almost immediate and have transformed my facial profile.  My cheeks and chin line are beautifully defined but also look natural.  Dr. Hui Austin combined the thread lift with dermal fillers and I also had a little Botox touch up.  I feel so beautiful.  I really do.  My confidence is through the roof.  Dr. Hui Austin delights in making her patients gorgeous.  I am beyond thrilled to have found her. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.L.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Aug 21, 2017

Wow, what I can say?! I love Dr. Hui because Dr. Hui made me love my skin again. I don't frown at myself in the mirror the first thing in the morning anymore. I see an overall improvement in my skin tone and texture and got compliments from coworkers and friends who noticed a difference in a few weeks. I looked up Dr. Hui on yelp and decided to give her a try. My skin before I saw Dr. Hui was very sensitive, dry and sun damaged; my skin was also thinning due to aging so I lost volume around my eyes, cheeks and especially around my smiley line area. I met with Dr. Hui, who quickly identified my skin issues, and took time to ask me what my goals are with my skin, made some recommendations on daily home skin care and answered my questions. Dr. Hui stressed that the majority of improvement to my skin can be done at home if I follow my regime and stay out of sun. Our goal for me is to have beautiful skin that doesn't need any makeup to cover up. We settled on a home care regime that I thought was agreeable, decided to get fillers that day and photo facials in a few weeks. Dr. Hui performed the injections of the fillers her self, she was fast and gentle and I didn't get any bruise at all. After I went home, I started using the products she recommended and following the home care regime we agreed upon. My skin has improved significantly over the past few weeks. The products Dr. Hui recommend for me to use as part of my home care skin routine were reasonably priced compared to skin care products at Sephora, SAKs or Neiman. The best part that made me have more confidence in purchasing skin care products based on Dr. Hui's recommendations is that her recommendations are based on my skin, what need to be improved and what need to be corrected, very personal and there is no guessing game. I went back to see Dr. Hui after 4 weeks of following my home care regime for our scheduled photo facial. Once again, Dr. Hui performed the photo facial herself, she was fast and gentle but took care to make sure she didn't miss any spots. During the procedure she asked and made sure I was comfortable. She also explained to me what to expect after the photo facial and stressed about staying out the sun while the skin is healing. Dr. Hui also shared her stories of how to keep UV damage low while she was vacationing at the Galapogos, which I thought was very personable and really shows she practices what she preaches. I'm really looking forward to my results after my second photo facial in a few weeks. It's always pleasant to see Dr. Hui knowing I'm in good hands and my skin as well. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.L.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Aug 21, 2017

Wow, what I can say?! I love Dr. Hui because Dr. Hui made me love my skin again. I don't frown at myself in the mirror the first thing in the morning anymore. I see an overall improvement in my skin tone and texture and got compliments from coworkers and friends who noticed a difference in a few weeks.I looked up Dr. Hui on yelp and decided to give her a try. My skin before I saw Dr. Hui was very sensitive, dry and sun damaged; my skin was also thinning due to aging so I lost volume around my eyes, cheeks and especially around my smiley line area. I met with Dr. Hui, who quickly identified my skin issues, and took time to ask me what my goals are with my skin, made some recommendations on daily home skin care and answered my questions. Dr. Hui stressed that the majority of improvement to my skin can be done at home if I follow my regime and stay out of sun. Our goal for me is to have beautiful skin that doesn't need any makeup to cover up.We settled on a home care regime that I thought was agreeable, decided to get fillers that day and photo facials in a few weeks. Dr. Hui performed the injections of the fillers her self, she was fast and gentle and I didn't get any bruise at all. After I went home, I started using the products she recommended and following the home care regime we agreed upon. My skin has improved significantly over the past few weeks. The products Dr. Hui recommend for me to use as part of my home care skin routine were reasonably priced compared to skin care products at Sephora, SAKs or Neiman. The best part that made me have more confidence in purchasing skin care products based on Dr. Hui's recommendations is that her recommendations are based on my skin, what need to be improved and what need to be corrected, very personal and there is no guessing game.I went back to see Dr. Hui after 4 weeks of following my home care regime for our scheduled photo facial. Once again, Dr. Hui performed the photo facial herself, she was fast and gentle but took care to make sure she didn't miss any spots. During the procedure she asked and made sure I was comfortable. She also explained to me what to expect after the photo facial and stressed about staying out the sun while the skin is healing. Dr. Hui also shared her stories of how to keep UV damage low while she was vacationing at the Galapogos, which I thought was very personable and really shows she practices what she preaches. I'm really looking forward to my results after my second photo facial in a few weeks. It's always pleasant to see Dr. Hui knowing I'm in good hands and my skin as well. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from V.C.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jun 06, 2017

Bay Area Cosmetic Dermatology and especially Dr. Hui is the best dermatologist around!! Anything concerning the skin go to Dr. Hui - absolutely 1000% worth the investment.I first went to Dr. Hui due to a psoriasis flare up and I wanted to have a skin consultation since I am getting married. I had suffered from psoriasis for the last 10 years, visiting multiple dermatologists, with an itchy scalp, skin flakes constantly. Dr. Hui quickly identified that the reason I was not getting better is that I have psoriasis along with seborrheic dermatitis. She took the time to explain to me exactly what that meant, tips for avoiding flare-ups and prescribed a treatment plan that fits in with my lifestyle. At no point did I feel rushed and Dr. Hui took the time to answer all the questions I had. Fast forward 4 weeks later, I am completely cleared of all scaly patches and I am no longer reliant on using topical steroids daily for the first time in 10 years. I can even wear black without fear that white flakes would show up all over my clothes. I wanted to lighten the hyperpigmentation around my face due to earlier years of sun damage and Dr. Hui recommended the IPL (Intense Pulse Light) laser treatment. She even took the time to explain why she was recommending the IPL as oppose to other laser treatments so I was informed when making my decision to go ahead with the treatment. After 1 session the majority of my hyperpigmentation is gone! My skin has never looked better. Just this week, I went on a trip and unfortunately developed a large rash all over my body. I was able to call the office and they were very accommodating to getting me an appointment that same day. I went to see Dr. Hui again and it turns out I contacted scabies. Dr. Hui was once again able to put me to ease and recommend an effective treatment plan. It has been about 2 days and I am already starting to see my skin clear.My fiance also sees Dr. Hui for eczema and also had amazing results. Similarly, he went to another doctor before Dr. Hui and never was able to achieve clear skin without skin lesions. After seeing Dr. Hui my fiance's eczema is under control. Dr. Hui is so extremely knowledgeable, caring and patience that you do not have to worry about going to multiple doctor visits without any results and being rushed out the door. I wish I had heard of Dr. Hui and Bay Area Cosmetic Dermatology years earlier. The amount of savings due to having an effective treatment plan and having a doctor that truly cares about your results is invaluable. So thank you to Dr. Hui and Bay Area Cosmetic Dermatology. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.H.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Feb 08, 2017

I am the frequent customer of Bay Area Cosmetic dermatology clinic. I was seen by Dr. Welsh's new associate a year ago for Kybella for my puffy eye bags and Fraxel Repair for my face. Tell you all my Asian friends, my eye bags haven't come back and my face is still  as smooth and as clear as baby cheeks. It seems it get smoother everyday. I used to hate to look at my reflection on the mirror, but now I really happy with the great result of Dr Andrea Hui's skillful and painless procedure on my face. It holds up for one a year now!!!!!!!!!! Another secret is I follow Dr Hui's skin care program to the last detail. No one can guess my age right!!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.A.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Feb 07, 2017

I visited Dr. Hui for my acne scars due to a life time acne problem. Before that I have been to many dermatologists back at home and in the Bay Area and she is the only one who has diagnosed my skin problem correctly. My face has always been reddish and flushing due to many factors and I thought that those redness was due to my acne scars. She told me I had rosacea, prescribed some amazing products and started applying fractional laser treatment once a month. Even in couple of weeks after I started the treatment, my face started looking totally different, more clear, more even, smoother and more beautiful. My husband and friends realized the difference right away. Even a friend of mine got the name and number of the clinic. I have three more sessions to go with the fractional laser and I need to use the products at least for four more months. Afterwards she might apply another laser treatment for the scars but maybe we will not need to do it. After many years fighting with acne, scars and redness, thanks to her, I have realized that my scars aren't that bad and there is a solution for my skin problems. Moreover, she is a kind of person that you would want to be friends with. She is very sweet and builds trust right away. She explains complex medical issues in simple words, spends sufficient time to explain each step of the treatment and does not rush to leave the room without answering all your questions. I really like her and am very happy that I have finally found a dermatologist that I can consult for many more years. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.O.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jan 25, 2017

Acne, acne scars, hyper-pigmentation, discoloration, Bay Area Cosmetic Dermatolgy is the place to go! I have been to numerous dermatologist and estheticians in multiple states and have spend upwards of $5,000 before coming to Bay Area Cosmetic Dermatolgy and seeing Dr. Andrea Hui. As soon as Dr. Hui came in the room she knew exactly what I needed to fix my skin. She and along with her awesome, very polite and super knowledgeable assistant, Ariana, will service your skin needs in an unparalleled manner.                     I am all about one thing, which is results. As mentioned above I have spent and have been to numerous dermatologist that have wasted so much of my time and money. Before meeting with Dr. Hui I used countless creams, injections, peels, facials, etc.,etc.! As a result of so many failed attempts at fixing my scars and pigmentation I started to research, which lead me to Dr. Hui.           Meeting with Dr. Hui was unrushed, which encouraged me to fully explain my history, unlike other dermatologist that gives you less then five minutes to explain. I did not want any more creams or facials being that none of that worked, which I made clear to Dr. Hui who completely understood. After talking with Dr Hui we settled on a treatment program, which included the V-Beam, Juvederm Ultra Plus, CO2 laser and subcision, lighting pads and ONE Retin-A cream. This program was not to take place at once but over time as I see her monthly.             To tell you the truth, you will need more then one V-Beam session, currently I am on my fifth and my face is clearer then ever before. The subcision was performed when Dr. Hui put in Juvederm Ultra Plus, which took place around the fourth V-Beam session. Subcision along with filler helps with the appearance of acne scars, which Dr. Hui performs painlessly and meticulously. The filler allowed my face to look fuller - NOT botched - just smoother from the trauma left behind from my acne. My lighting pads came after my 2nd visit with Dr. Hiu. She actually recommended the lightening pads as a more affordable solution to help with my brown pigmentation on my shoulder, chest and back so that I didn't have to spend more money on laser. I was very pleased with this idea because I was expecting to spend upwards of $1,400 before Dr. Hui recommended a more reasonable, thoughtful solution.                    All in all, the prices are NOT expensive and if you want your skin to look great, see Dr. Hui. Not everyone is the same but if you have a skin issues, you will most likely need some sort of IPL laser, which is exactly what Dr Hui specializes in. I have lived in Minnesota and Colorado and the prices are the same as the dermatologist in both land locked states. People say the prices are expensive because cosmetic dermatology as a industry is expensive. If you have any skin issues and would like to finally have them addressed, please visit Dr. Hui and her wonder staff. She is beautiful in and out and will get you the results you need. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from I.C.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Dec 17, 2016

Before I started seeing Dr. Hui and Dr. Welsh, I had very oily skin, frequent breakouts and a fair amount of redness and blemishes. I wore cover-up often and carried oil-absorbing sheets with me everywhere. Although I didn't have "severe acne," I was not satisfied with the appearance of my skin, and wished that I didn't need to manage it so much. At Bay Area Cosmetic Dermatology, I have had laser and resurfacing treatments with Dr. Hui, Mary, Claire and Mabel (who are amazing to work with!) and have seen pretty dramatic results in evening my skin complexion and texture, and getting rid of red blemishes. I was initially hesitant to invest in the skin care routine they recommended, as I hadn't had much success with products in the past, but I can honestly say that my skin has never been better. I actually have no problems with oil anymore, and maybe one pimple every few months, which is pretty amazing for me! What sets Bay Area Cosmetic Dermatology apart from other practices I have been to is that they have a tremendous variety of treatments and products available at the office, and the staff is extremely knowledgeable in determining what the specific needs of my skin are and which treatments and products will provide the best results. I genuinely feel that my treatments are customized to me, and not just generic recommendations like I have received in the past. Before I met Dr. Hui and Dr. Welsh, I didn't know that it was possible to change my skin, and not just consistently manage it. It is a relief to have doctors whose recommendations I can trust. I am so grateful to have found this incredible practice, and to finally have skin that I feel confident with! I recommend this practice to anyone! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.G.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Sep 12, 2016

I've been working with Dr. Hui and Chrissy for the past 6 months on a 15 year old surgery scar using Fraxel scan and the results are beyond incredible!! The scar is now flat and almost looks like normal skin. Not only did Dr. Hui recommend the proper course of action, but she has walked me through the process the entire time and has made me feel incredibly comfortable and well taken care of! I HIGHLY recommend going to Dr. Hui and Chrissy. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.K.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jul 28, 2016

Dr. Hui has been a godsend for my rosacea-prone, inflamed, acne-scarred skin that is highly sensitized to pretty much everything. I thought I'd tried every product out there for very sensitive skin (OTC as well as seeing other dermatologists), and had pretty much resigned myself to having to wear makeup every time I left the house so my face didn't look like a splotchy mess. But then I read great reviews about the practice and decided to see Dr. Hui, and my skin has been transformed. I told her my goal was to wear zero makeup, and we've been steadily progressing towards that goal with great results. She made me discard my overly complicated skincare routine and get back to basics. My skincare routine now takes 30 seconds in the morning and 2 minutes at night, and my skin looks so much better in every way. I've been using the products Dr. Hui recommended that have made a huge difference, and have also been getting V-beam laser treatments that have also been significant in getting rid of the diffuse redness throughout my face. My skincare routine is so much more basic than before (no more time-consuming multiple serums and many face masks), but more effective by leaps and bounds. I've also gotten facial hair removal done by Dr. Hui and have seen great results with that. Also wanted to give a big shout out to Mary, one of the nurses at the practice. I had some body laser hair removal done (legs, underarms). She's incredibly professional and personable and makes what's supposed to be a very uncomfortable situation a breeze. Overall, the practice is very well run, everyone's on top of their game, and my skin bears testament to that! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from P.P.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Apr 07, 2016

About a month ago I wrote a very disappointing review for my services at Bay Area Cosmetic Dermatology-- I must say that I should have checked-in with my Provider prior to writing the review.  What I didn't know is that my treatment plan was not complete, that there were more steps to be taken.I just got back today from a visit with Dr. Hui and I am happy to say---that now I understand my treatment plan, I looked at the photos from before my Fraxel treatment and  I do see improvement.  I'll keep you updated-- but I think I'm on the path of success with my treatment plan.  I'm so pleased with my visit and the next steps-- They are really taking care of me!  Thanks! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.R.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Mar 27, 2016

I have struggled with acne and acne scarring since sophomore year of high school (I am now 20). No matter what I tried and who I saw I just couldn't get my acne under control. My skin only worsened when I went off to college. I was so insecure about my skin that I would try to avoid going out in the sunlight or in bright lighting. I even tried to stop looking at myself in mirrors because it made me so self conscious. My skin was affecting my social life and desire to see people in a negative way and was a constant source of stress and anxiety (which only made my acne worse). That is, until I began working with Dr. Hui in the summer between my freshman and sophomore year of college. In the year since meeting Dr. Hui my acne and scarring has improved dramatically. I am now more confident and excited about going out and seeing people.Dr. Hui started me on a very low dose of Accutane and a nighttime retin-a. Her goal was to clear up the acne first and then work on the scarring underneath. When the acne began to clear up, Dr. Hui started doing V-Beam lasers on my scarring. This reduced the red spots on my skin that I had had for years. Before the V-Beam I couldn't remember the last time that I looked at my face and it wasn't a red, blotchy mess. Last week Dr. Hui performed a Fraxel laser on my skin to even out the texture and alleviate more of the scarring. While it has only been a week since the procedure, the results are very noticeable. My skin is much smoother and has less marks from scarring and will only continue to improve over time (according to Dr. Hui). This is the best my skin has looked since starting high school and it is all thanks to Dr. Hui and her MAs Mabel, Chrissy, Isabel, and Euridice. I am now going back to school for the spring quarter with a newfound confidence in my skin. I will continue on the low dose of the Accutane and the nighttime retin-a and hopefully my skin will clear up more every day.In addition to the actual work that she did on my skin, Dr. Hui and Mabel, Chrissy, Isabel, and Euridice were incredibly warm and accommodating. Dr. Hui and her MAs always spent time explaining every detail of my skin regiment to me and answering any questions that I had (no matter how ridiculous). They were very patient and I never felt rushed.  Not only were they friendly and fun to talk to in person, but they always responded to my calls and emails (which I used to send constantly) as fast as any doctors office ever has. I cannot recommend Dr. Hui and her team enough. They really care about improving your skin and it shows. I am forever grateful to them for everything that they have done for me. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from P.C.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Feb 04, 2016

After much deliberation, i underwent the Fraxel Repair CO2 with Dr Hui, the staff and the procedure were as good as it gets and the results amazing!Dr Welsh's office and facility are state of the art and Dr Welsh is bar none the best in the business. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.H.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jul 14, 2015

I love what Dr. Welsh and Dr. Hui have done to my skin. They helped me find confidence and happiness again. I have been doing treatments for about two years including injections, ulthera, clear and brilliant and hydra facials. Never disappointed!!! I also see Mary - she is the best with treatments and helpful advice!! Strongly recommend. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.B.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jul 11, 2015

I love this place and the work they do!  I opted for a fraxel treatment when considering major work, including plastic surgery.  Dr. Hui performed the treatment and I am so happy with the results that I believe it was a much better alternative to surgery.  The skin on my face and neck looks at least 10 years younger; all the dark spots, little moles, fine lines and leathery red skin are gone and now I am able to skip foundation and still look great. And without the down time and pain associated with surgery.   It's given me a renewed confidence though my biggest surprise was the softening of the nasolabial fold lines.  I have slightly chubby cheeks so have always had those lines but they've almost disappeared.  It was virtually painless and what with the fabulous staff, it really was a fun experience.  I highly recommend considering this procedure when thinking of ways to maintain one's appearance and the folks at this office are the best!. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.E.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jan 31, 2015

I have been going to Dr welsh for years and love her practice. This week I was saw Dr. Hui and also had a photo facial with Mary.  The treatment I received was amazing. Both were incredibly kind, professional, and amazing at their jobs. I couldn't recommend them more! They also really took their time. More

5.0
Review from DG  |  Source: Office Visit  |  Apr 05, 2016

I suffered a unfortunate bicycle accident that left me with several unsightly facial scars. Dr.Hui recommended a combination of VBeam and Fraxel treatments that have had fantastic results. She and the team at Bay Area Cosmetic Dermatology have been an amazing help in my recovery process, I feel very lucky to have found them. More

5.0
Review from LI  |  Source: Office Visit  |  Feb 12, 2016

I have been going to Bay Area Cosmetic Dermatology for the last ten years. I am continually impressed by both Dr Welsh and Dr Hui for their ability to listen to my needs and desires without judgement, address cosmetic issues artfully, and manage medical issues with great knowledge and expertise. Their ability to integrate both the art and science of dermatology is truly exceptional. Our entire family has been treated by the practice. My children for extreme acne and stubborn allergic skin reactions, my husband with his sensitive Asian skin for his sun spots and I have had multiple moles skillfully removed and biopsied, Ulthera, botox, fillers and even repaired earlobes, (torn from heavy earnings). Coming from a family of physicians, I have learned the importance of quality of care and true medical expertise. We have all been impressed by their responsiveness, depth of knowledge, attention to detail and overall quality of care. I have referred many to this practice and have heard nothing but stellar reviews. More

*Individual results are not guaranteed and may vary from person to person. Images may contain models.