Our commitment to a Safe Practice

Learn More
Patient Reviews Image

Patient Reviews

Reviews for San Francisco, CA Staff Dr. Steven Y. He Medical Dermatology Procedures

We value all of our patients and their individual needs. At Bay Area Cosmetic Dermatology, we want you to make the most informed decision to achieve your cosmetic goals. Choosing the best procedure and physician for you is an extremely important decision, and we invite you to read about previous patients’ experiences and better understand the quality treatment you will receive from our board-certified dermatologists. Each of our medical professionals value your journey and want to ensure you feel as comfortable and confident about your decision as possible.

Filter10 Reviews  
5.0
DAPI
Review from L.S.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jan 18, 2021

I am not exaggerating when I say that Dr. Andrea Hui Austin is a LIFE CHANGER. I’ve been seeing her for almost two years now for treatment of my rosacea and acne and skin is clearer than it’s ever been, clearer than I ever hoped it would be. I first started seeing Dr. Austin in 2019, a few months after I turned 31. I’d been diagnosed with rosacea in middle school and had otherwise had fairly clear skin until I reached college. In college, I started breaking out more and more frequently until my acne was basically chronic. Some people in my family had late-bloomer acne, so I told myself it would probably just clear up as I got older, and I tried to take the best care of my skin that I could in the meantime. I tried every OTC treatment under the sun, went on different diets, and saw a series of dermatologists who put me on a range of topical medications and oral antibiotics. Nothing made much of a difference and by my late 20s I’d was so close to giving up and resigning myself to having bad skin for the rest of my life, although it made me feel miserable.That’s when I realized that the one thing I hadn’t tried was seeing a dermatologist who specializes in treating rosacea. I did some googling and Dr. Austin’s name came up again and again, so I scheduled a consult. My expectations weren’t high, given how little luck I’d had before. But Dr. Austin completely blew me away in the consult. Not only was she able to explain why my rosacea was causing these breakouts, but I was blown away by her empathy; she started the appointment by asking me to tell her about my history of rosacea and acne and after I went through the litany of things I’d tried she said, "I’m so sorry you had to go through that." It made me tear up to feel like someone cared and understood how much having bad skin can take a toll on self-esteem.She started me on a routine of oral medication and new topical skincare products, and did an excellent job of answering all my questions and explaining how each product or medication worked and why it was necessary. I noticed a difference in my skin within weeks, and once the breakouts were more under control we began a series of laser treatments to help tame the rosacea. As my skin continued to heal and improve, the treatments became less frequent, and I’m now at the point where I only have them a few times a year. My skin has healed enough that she’s also able to address the scarring I have from acne and, honestly, that’s a milestone I never thought I’d reach until I started working with her. She’s continued to be a thoughtful and kind person, celebrating the milestones with me as my skin healed, remembering details about my personal life, and engaging me in conversation during the treatments; I feel like she really cares.As a bonus, the whole BACD staff is competent, professional, and friendly. They keep things running smoothly, call/email back quickly, and have a very flexible auto-ship program that sends my topical products to me four times a year. BACD has done a sterling job of adapting to the pandemic--they’ve put up signage, spaced out appointments, created physical distance in the waiting room, and changed their payment process so you pay in the treatment room. I’ve noticed some other places get lax with these types of measures as the pandemic has gone on, but BACD has been incredibly consistent, which I appreciate.If you have rosacea and acne, Dr. Austin is your gal. She’s truly and completely changed my skin in a way I never thought possible. I highly, highly recommend her!(The photos I’ve included from her office are from before the acne scarring treatment; the personal photos I included are after one acne scarring treatment. No digital filters, no makeup or concealer in any of these photos!) More

5.0
DAPI
Review from W.T.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Sep 16, 2020

I highly recommend Dr. Steven He. I have had melasma and Nevi of Ota from on my cheeks and temples for the past 15 years. I’ve tried treatments from other dermatologists, including hydroxychloroquine cream, with no improvement. I’ve also met with other laser treatment centers, who presented cookie cutter treatments. However, I’ve seen friends and family get rebound hyperpigmentation on their face from aggressive dose of laser therapy. For Asian skin, sometimes the dose of laser and strength of chemical peels have to be adjusted due to skin sensitivity. As an Asian female physician, I was cautious about who to trust. I chose Dr. He because I heard he has lots of experience with Asian American patients. I started seeing him a few months ago, and I am extremely confident in his skills. He is thoughtful about his approach and tailors his treatment plan to the individual patient. I have had 5 treatments, starting with chemical peels to remove superficial melasma, and now transitioned to laser treatments for the darker spots. The spots have significantly lightened. I recently saw my family, who had been hounding me for years about my spots, and they could not even notice the spots! I am extremely satisfied with Dr. He’s care. He is a knowledgeable, conscientious, effective physician. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from N.T.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Oct 15, 2020

As an Asian, I know that I have the genetic advantage of looking young for my age. That can be negated by baking in the sun. I decided to stay out of the sun since my late 20s when I finally stopped going to the tanning salon (!!!). I decided rather late in life to finally take care of my skin.I *almost* didn’t want to write this review about Dr. He, fearful that he will get so busy I’ll have to book appointments with him at least a month in advance! Yes, I know that’s selfish of me but I am a little bit proprietary when it comes to good doctors - if I find a doctor who not only has an amazing and compassionate manner AND super knowledgeable in his/her field, I’m a patient for life. I originally went to Dr. He for filler. When I first met him, I couldn’t stop staring at his skin. I wanted my skin to look like his! He told me what he could do for me and not only did he end up educating me about different fillers but suggested different treatments I could get.Because Dr. He is such a good educator about skin, I have gotten various treatments for my rosacea and other issues and have been very happy with everything he suggested. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.B.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Oct 22, 2020

Dr. Steven Y. He is absolutely amazing! I have visited several dermatology offices around the country and Dr. He is the first to really make a difference and listen to my concerns no matter how big or small. If you have Rosacea (honestly any skin concern run to Dr. He!) I have had 3 vbeam laser treatments by him and always feel at ease under his care. I appreciate his vast knowledge, and attention to detail. I ask many questions and I never feel rushed. He takes his time and really cares about his patients. Just recently he even noticed a mole I had never noticed while he was doing treatments and cares not only about the cosmetic side of dermatology but the true health and safety of your skin. I notice a huge difference in my rosacea and can’t wait to continue more treatments under his care. He has a less is more approach, and patience which I appreciate. Thank you Dr. He for helping my skin glow and making me feel my best without any makeup! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from I.K.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Feb 17, 2021

Dr. Austin and team have worked with me on my rosacea and severe keloid scarring for several years. These are skin and body issues that other doctors cannot and will not treat.  This clinic specializes in full service patient care. Meaning your medical issue will be addressed as well as the problem that may be causing it. And they work towards restorative care after the treatment. I wouldn’t go anywhere else for my skin needs. If you need basic, cosmetic, or restorative skin care - this is where you need to be! I am leaving this review because people suffering from severe skin issues will need guidance on where to go. And we need this kind of expertise and medical care in the Bay Area. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.C.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Feb 14, 2021

I have been seeing Dr. Austin for almost 3 years now for acne scars treatment and my skin is totally transformed.  People think I look at least 10 years younger than my age. I would say that my acne scars have been improved by 80% after multiple sessions of tca cross and laser genesis.  Most of my ice pick scars have filled in.  Recently I also had Fraxel laser to improve the shallow scars , black spots, and overall skin texture.  Dr. Austin is amazing and she cares about her patient.  She would call me after the procedure to make sure that I was doing fine.  She also responded very quickly on all my questions related to post-procedure.  Now my skin has been improved further after fraxel laser.  I will continue to see Dr. Austin for other treatments to keep my skin young and heathy so I don’t age.  Thank you Dr. Austin and her team.  I also wanted to express my appreciation for Mary Krempa who has been doing my laser hair removal for.  Now that my skin is so soft.  I am happy with the results. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from H.M.  |  Source: Google  |  Dec 07, 2020

Dr. Austin has changed my life. My skin has significantly cleared up since I started seeing her, I RARELY get any pimples now and thanks to treatments like the Vbeam laser and TCA cross my scarring is very limited. All the staff and Dr. Austin are friendly and kind, it’s always a good experience going in. Dr. Austin remembers details about my life even when I don’t see her for months at a time. I recommend her to any of my friends who ask for skincare advice. My only complaint is that I didn’t start coming here sooner; I didn’t realize what a big difference having a dermatologist approved skincare routine would make!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.M.  |  Source: Google  |  Jun 10, 2020

BACD is the absolute best. Has completely transformed my skin. Seeing Dr. He yesterday for my rosacea and melasma has already helped with my concerns. It means the world to be able to trust them. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from R.T.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Mar 06, 2020

I strongly recommend this practice. Dr. Welsh, Dr. Austin, and Dr. He are so brilliant and help you take back control of your skin. I've been with this practice for 4+ years. In addition to the results they achieved for my skin, it's the staff and the providers who keep me coming back. I appreciate the level of professionalism and consideration BACD has for all of their clients. The doctors are so smart and truly take time to understand your problem, and recommend the right treatment to deliver the fastest possible solution. I struggled with acne my entire life; in my first consultation with Dr. Austin she recommended a daily topical (tretanoin) and specific treatments (e.g Hydrafacial and Laser to break up  redness!). Ever since then my skin improved drastically. I hardly recognize myself in the mirror today. It's truly incredible how small changes can deliver drastic results. Recently, I met their newest physician Dr. Steven He. He is LOVELY and a true dermatology prodigy! All MDs at this practice will provide you with the information you need to treat your skin. Dr. He, in particular, is always willing to answer questions and has a magical way of breaking down the science of skincare in a way that is easy to understand. He is also very friendly and cute -- LOL! Thank you Dr. Welsh, Dr. Austin and Dr. He for all of your support over the past few years. I am so fortunate to be a client at your clinic. More

5.0
Review from H.M  |  Source: Yelp  |  Oct 18, 2019

Let me start by saying, I highly recommend Dr. Steven He! I have severe eczema and have tried everything after seeing multiple doctors (I moved from SF to LA last year). NOTHING has worked. The last physician asked me, "what do you want, nothing will cure it so let's just try another cream". Pretty much the consensus with all doctors -- nothing I can do about it! It's incredibly depressing when people ask you what's on your face, your arms, your legs... my niece always refers to them as "boo-boos". And everyone has advice on how to cure eczema - let me tell you! I have tried every diet, all kinds of supplements, juicing... nothing worked. I have been walking around in LA weather wearing long sleeves all the time because I'm tired of hearing the questions. On a whim, when I'm in SF, I call Dr. Welsh's office. I was desperate for help and the staff offered me to see Dr. He. I went in with low expectations since no other physician has been able to help me. What I didn't realize is the absolute compassion that Dr. He and the staff showed me the moment I walked in the door. I cried as I told the assistant about my eczema. I continued to cry as Dr. He walked in and started talking to me. I'll never forget when he said, "Eczema is a disease, you were born with it, and you didn't cause this!" I told him that I was depressed because and felt bad about it because so many other people have worse problems. He said, "People with eczema suffer the same depression as people with serious diseases." He also told me, "I have something that can cure you." You can imagine my excitement. However, the excitement didn't last long. The cost of the medication (Dupixent) was exorbitant -- 5K per month! We started talking about other treatment plans but Dr. He told me that he would find a way to get me this medicine. He gave me cortisone for the eczema flare-ups, creams and said he'd be in touch. And he certainly was. The same evening, he called and told me to come to the office in the morning and sign paperwork so that I could get Dupixent through a patient assistance program. We would try to make it work, he said. The next morning, the paperwork was all filled out, and all I had to do was sign it. Dr. He spent even more time with me talking about how Dupixent works and said he would do everything to get the medicine for me. I left feeling hopeful. After speaking with the folks at Dupixent, I was, in fact, approved! My first shipment would arrive the following week and I could start the new medicine. It's been over a month, and my skin has already vastly improved from Dupixent. Dr. He has checked in on me consistently to make sure I'm doing OK. I even had some slight reactions and we talked those through and he reassured me that everything was fine. I don't know any physician that would take the extra time and care that Dr. He has done for me. Long story short -- go see Dr. He! Everyone at Dr. Welsh's office is amazing, but I highly recommend Dr. He, especially if you have a serious skin issue and need the care, compassion, and knowledge that he provides. To say he has gone above and beyond is an understatement. He's changed my life. Thank you, Dr He! More

*Individual results are not guaranteed and may vary from person to person. Images may contain models.