Header Logo
Patient Reviews Image

Patient Reviews

Reviews for San Francisco, CA Dermatologist Dr. Kathleen Welsh Acne and Cyst Treatment* Procedures

We value all of our patients and their individual needs. At Bay Area Cosmetic Dermatology, we want you to make the most informed decision to achieve your cosmetic goals. Choosing the best procedure and physician for you is an extremely important decision, and we invite you to read about previous patients’ experiences and better understand the quality treatment you will receive from our board-certified dermatologists. Each of our medical professionals value your journey and want to ensure you feel as comfortable and confident about your decision as possible.

Filter16 Reviews  
5.0
DAPI
Review from C.A.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Apr 17, 2019

Dr. Austin helped me with a hair growth problem I was experiencing and was able to diagnose the problem at first sight. I've also been here for acne problems I was experiencing and Dr. Welsh was able to alleviate my issues. This is definitely the best dermatologist business in San Francisco! Thank you More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.R.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Mar 14, 2019

I have been a patient of this practice for over 12 years.  I have seen Kathleen Welsh for over 50 visits and have always been pleased with the outcome of my medical treatment.  She is a caring lovely person.  All of my family members have also seen her for acne , mole removal, skin care and fillers.  I travel a distance to my appointments and it is worth every mile. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.S.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Feb 11, 2019

I can't believe it took me this long to write a review on Dr. Welsh and Bay Area Cosmetic Dermatology. I have been a patient of Dr. Welsh's going on 10 years and I can't imagine seeing anyone else. When I first started going, the office was a lot smaller, but all the expanding hasn't changed the service I get there. Every time I see Dr. Welsh she is so kind and thoughtful, and she has really changed my life. I have had bad cystic acne since around 19, and she openly admitted I had one of the worst cases she had seen. It was painful and heartbreaking and I thought it was hopeless. In the many years I've been going to her, we have worked together until finally finding treatment that worked well, and I am so thankful. I go a few times a year for laser treatments and fillers for residual scarring (shout out to Nurse Mary who is probably the nicest person on the planet and an absolute wizard with lasers, and she genuinely cares about all of her clients). Dr. Welsh has always been considerate of my budget (I'm a nonprofit worker, while I know most of her clients are probably closer to the 1%) and has worked with me when my skin condition needed more for less. I am lucky to have found them so long ago and can't recommend them higher! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.L.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Aug 20, 2017

Bay Area Cosmetic Dermatology is beyond my expectations. Dr. Hoi and Dr. Welch provide excellent care. I've suffered from acne for most of my life. Dr.Hoi provided excellent care and Mary works magic with her micropen. I'm so happy I discovered Bay Area Cosmetic. My skin looks so much better, I can't believe it. I am able to feel confident and engage in eye contact. I used to be ashamed and now my skin looks almost perfect. It's unbelievable. A million thanks to Dr.Hoi and Mary. Excellent staff, excellent care. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.M.  |  Source: Yelp  |  May 08, 2017

I can't say enough good things about Dr Welsh and Dr Huy.  I have been seeing Dr Welsh for 20 years, since high school.  She has saved my face a few times... Severe cystic acne, severe acne scarring all over my entire face, a dog attack that severely mangled my cheek... big stuff.  Over the course of my life I have experienced that feeling of shame and insecurity because my face looked so messed up that I didn't want people to look at me.  And every time, Dr Welsh put my face back together and then some.  Which essentially gives you your life back, because you can face the world with confidence and really show up and be present in conversations, instead of tripping out over how how destroyed your face looks.Those are the extreme cases that Dr Welsh has helped me through.  Always, she is compassionate, straight up, and comes up with a game plan and a timeline, and doesn't want to stop until whatever the issue is perfectly resolved.  Pretty much everything you want when you put your face in someone's hands.Now I am in my late 30s so there are a new bag of things that that can be improved upon that pop up: wrinkles, face and lips losing its fullness, and discoloration (hyperpigmentation).  And again, I don't trust anyone to mess with my face, EVER, unless its Dr Welsh or Dr Huy.  Dr Welsh is a master at filler because she basically refuses to make you look unnatural.  She will make you look refreshed and well-slept, but even if I beg for slightly fuller lips she looks at me and says, "No."  That's what you want.  Someone who says no.  Dr Huy is amazing.  At first I felt like I was cheating on Dr Welsh by seeing her as well but she is awesome and just as skilled.  I highly recommend you try her, because they have similar approaches and equal skill set.  I am so glad I gave her a chance because she is fantastic and she dealt with this discoloration and redness/rosacea problem that started a year ago.  Again, she was sweet and supportive, gave me a game plan and a timeline.  exactly what you want when you are stressing over something on your face.  I love Dr Huy.Everyone who knows me knows that I call Bay Area Cosmetic Dermatology "my happy place".  Such caring, such professionalism and and attention to detail, such a personalized care regimen that makes you feel like you are in the right hands and you can relax and there is light at the end of the tunnel.  I am a die-hard supporter. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from I.C.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Dec 17, 2016

Before I started seeing Dr. Hui and Dr. Welsh, I had very oily skin, frequent breakouts and a fair amount of redness and blemishes. I wore cover-up often and carried oil-absorbing sheets with me everywhere. Although I didn't have "severe acne," I was not satisfied with the appearance of my skin, and wished that I didn't need to manage it so much. At Bay Area Cosmetic Dermatology, I have had laser and resurfacing treatments with Dr. Hui, Mary, Claire and Mabel (who are amazing to work with!) and have seen pretty dramatic results in evening my skin complexion and texture, and getting rid of red blemishes. I was initially hesitant to invest in the skin care routine they recommended, as I hadn't had much success with products in the past, but I can honestly say that my skin has never been better. I actually have no problems with oil anymore, and maybe one pimple every few months, which is pretty amazing for me! What sets Bay Area Cosmetic Dermatology apart from other practices I have been to is that they have a tremendous variety of treatments and products available at the office, and the staff is extremely knowledgeable in determining what the specific needs of my skin are and which treatments and products will provide the best results. I genuinely feel that my treatments are customized to me, and not just generic recommendations like I have received in the past. Before I met Dr. Hui and Dr. Welsh, I didn't know that it was possible to change my skin, and not just consistently manage it. It is a relief to have doctors whose recommendations I can trust. I am so grateful to have found this incredible practice, and to finally have skin that I feel confident with! I recommend this practice to anyone! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.G.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jul 06, 2016

There is no need to go anyplace else or see any other dermotologists.  Dr. Welsh knows what you need before you even ask for a particular treatment.  In many cases, her suggestions are not what you might intend, but better and more effective.  She is truly at the top of her field in cosmetic dermatology.  Dr. Hui is the best at treating and rectifying problem skin and preventative maintenance.  I will no longer see any other doctor for my skin concerns.  Their entire staff is deeply knowledgable in all areas of every treatment they offer.  I can't say enough about this practice.Treatments I have had: Coolsculpting, IPL, Accutane, Ulthera, V-beam, tattoo removal More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.A.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Sep 13, 2012

Let's be honest ladies - skin is tricky. Skin is finicky. Find what works for you and stick with it. For me, that's Dr. Welsh.Why she's great:Fabulous credentials.Great bedside manner.Tells it straight - yes those wrinkles are noticeable.Tries all the products and treatments on herself and staff before purchasing for the office.Is recommended by countless doctors.Look at the skin of the ladies that work in her office and try not to be cat clawingly jealous.Has a great eye for injectables.Worked wonders on my server Acne caused during pregnancy.Now let's address some of the rants of people who gave Dr. Welsh 1-StarLong Wait Times: Do you really want a doctor who runs onetime? Seriously, that means that they give you 5 minutes of time and no more. What if you have questions? What if you have a mole that looks suspicious and she wants to take a biopsy? Good doctor take as long as necessary with their patients, so I am willing to wait my turn to get my time with the best skin doctor in SF.Selling Products: Dr. Welsh sells only the best products on the market. She isn't trying to up-sell you, trust me. She makes plenty of money from her appointments. The products she sells work for MOST people. Sometimes the odd person has an atypical reaction - but thats not a reason to give Dr. Welsh 1 Star. Do you stop going to Walgreens when that new lotion gave you a rash? Nope - and I bet if you call the office and are nice they'll take it back and recommend something else. I'm sorry if you can buy things cheaper on Amazon - but isn't that the truth about everything? Dr. Welsh's office is a small business and I'm happy to give them my business, just like my local butcher and bookstore.Staff: Her staff are great. Friendly, knowledgable and very experienced. Try and see the same person each time and you can develop a nice friendship. I totally look forward to my appointments so I can happily chat with Kate. She's amazing with skin and saved me during my pregnancy. She does RIDICULOUS extractions and peels and made my skin look the best it could while I was in pregnancy acne hell.Price: You pay what you get for. She doesn't take insurance, but neither does the personal trainer or yoga studio. You want to do something good for yourself and your skink then spend the money on the top person in the city and call Dr. Welsh. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.A.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jun 04, 2012

Dr. Welsh is my go-to dermatologist, as well as my mother's. Totally would recommend her for injections of any sort or if you have some serious acne issues. She is honest and very knowledgeable, and didn't overcharge me in comparison to another well known dermatologist in the Peninsula for a basic procedure. I trust her entirely with my skin/face and would recommend her to anyone. My only negative feedback is wait times in her office can be quite lengthy, so make sure to over feed your meeter just in case! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.C.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jan 09, 2012

I came in with the worst cystic acne, blotchy skin and low self esteem. Dr welsh and staff were so amazing! my skin has been clear for the last 6-9 months! I am so happy and my confidence came back big time! yay! dr welsh is the best ! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.D.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Sep 20, 2011

"Dr Kathy rules", my friend (who had seen her before) texted me now, after hearing how my appointment went with her today.  I am going back to Dr Welsh because of my adult cystic acne.  If you read my old review, you can see Accutane did work for me for  ..  I would say around a year, then it came back, and lately it has flare-ups that I just can't deal with anymore.  After googling everything under the sun I came upon articles about another drug, Spironolactone, that is sometimes used for women with my condition.  I have heard from 2 acquaintances that it works really well for them, and I just wanted to try it SO badly.  I had been to other dermatologists who, because I did not have an acne flare up at that moment, did not take me very seriously.  (Now i take photos of it when it's bad, just in case I need the proof.)Dr Welsh is the only doctor who has taken my skin issues seriously and been extremely helpful and kind about it.  She explains the different options and doesn't treat me like a "second class citizen" because I don't have insurance or bags of money like I imagine some of the clients going for  ..  I don't know, Botox or other more cosmetic issues go for.  (I'm always afraid that will happen in any medical practice.)  She asked me why I hadn't been there sooner and I sort of implied I thought there wasn't much i could do, she was so sweet and said that there is always something we can do.  Her staff is also very polite .. . and they have immaculate skin!  i hope to treat myself to something that will help my scars after we get a handle on my acne issue. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from B.R.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Nov 15, 2010

I am a HUGE fan of Doctor Welsh's office. I hit my mid-twenties and suddenly I broke out in the worst acne I have ever had. After spending hundreds of dollars at Sephora and other stores to try to improve my skin with no success, I finally decided to see a doctor. I chose Doctor Welsh because of her great resume and location. So far, I am very glad I did. (Note: I have only seen Doctor Welsh twice now over a span of two months, which I guess is still pretty early to see results, so keep in mind that this review is based less on results and more on my experience with her office.)I don't have insurance that covers dermatology right now, so I had to pay out-of-pocket for both visits. But I was willing to do anything to save my skin. (In any event, I guess the way Dr. Welsh's office deals with insurance would require me to pay out-of-pocket anyway.) I told Dr. Welsh about my financial concerns during my first appointment, and she was incredibly understanding. She made every effort to recommend products and treatments to keep my costs down, at least until my job starts and I can afford to do more. My first time in her office she waived the $150 visit fee and just charged me for the in-office treatment I received. Amazing!Dr. Welsh is a busy woman, so do not expect to have a long drawn-out visit with her. But she could not have been more understanding, proactive, and kind during the conversations I had with her. Also, her knowledgeable staff more than make up for the limited time with Dr. Welsh herself. I COMPLETELY disagree with the reviews that say that the staff is unfriendly. On both of my visits, an assistant patiently answered each of my questions and took the time to make sure I understood my new facial regimen. Several times I have called the office to ask questions about my treatments, and each time an extremely nice, bubbly assistant answered the phone who patiently and knowledgeably answered all of my questions right on the spot -- no charge and no wait!I hope my results are as good as my experience with the office has been. I trust Dr. Welsh and definitely would recommend her to anyone seeking expert help with their skin needs. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.K.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Oct 23, 2008

I'm reserving judgment. I was peeved that after being 15 minutes early, I had to wait 25 minutes past my appointment time to see the doctor. Looking past the 1 hour of my life I'd have rather manifested as sleep than waiting, Dr. Welsh was quite hurried, and I didn't feel the $150-with-no-insurance-coverage I spent for the 15 minute consultation was worth it. I really just wanted simple product recommendations, like soap and sunscreen, and instead was shunted towards expensive drugs, peels, and lasers.I originally wrote a scathing review, but I'm revising now because it's not Dr. Welsh's fault that I had high expectations. I was hoping she was different that other dermatologists, with keen insights into the products that could work *with* me. Instead, I was jolted by the scrape-burn-zap mentality which, in retrospect, defines western medicine. So it's not her fault that I was hoping she would empathize with my more gentle approach and accommodate it. That being said, I'm still out $150 and right where I started.--- revision 3/5/09I'm changing my review to 4 stars from 2 stars. As it turns out, another dermatologist recommended the same treatment that Dr. Welsh had recommended to me, and it worked. I think I was so irritated by the long wait to meet Dr. Welsh that I wasn't ready to hear anything she had to say, and her hurried delivery didn't help. All this being said, though, she was correct, and on top of that, her staff has been quite supportive and helpful during followups, providing exactly the product recommendations I wanted. So I now trust them for various products, which are summing up to be a whole lot more than that initial consultation.--- revision 8/7/11I'm now changing my review to 5 stars. I'm now a complete convert to the ministry of Dr. Welsh. I have gone from horrible acne that Accutane could barely control to gorgeous glowing skin even my Asian relatives fawn over (with Latisse-enhanced eyelashes). It's also refreshing to go to someone trustworthy and say, hey, I don't like this unevenness in my skin (yes- now that the color is fresh and even, now I want to perfect the texture!) and she knows the latest in getting it addressed. She also has the latest products that I buy for friends as gifts and all of them buy more when they've finished. I can't recommend Dr. Welsh more. It's expensive, but it's worth it. I don't even wear makeup anymore to go out! Literally just some Sumbody chapstick and that's *it*. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.H.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jan 14, 2008

I have a strongly emotional, very high opinion of Dr. Welsh.  If I had gone to her ten years earlier, I would have such better skin now.  I had moderate but persistent acne my entire life and saw a million dermatologists.  They all did strange ice treatments, gave me Retin-A and sent me on my way - all to absolutely no avail, except that I got dry red skin still populated with blemishes.  Then I started getting mega pimples at age 30, just months before my wedding.  Enter Dr. Welsh.  By the time of my wedding, I had perfect skin, and my skin is still pretty much acne-free more than two years later.  Now I am going to see her for spots and lines - I wouldn't dream of seeing anyone else.Yes, it's expensive.  Yes, it's crowded.  But it's popular for a reason and you get what you pay for.  She saved my skin, and again, how I wish I had seen her years earlier.  What a lot of heartache it would have saved!  They love skin - my skin loves Dr. Welsh! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.P.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Feb 17, 2006

Excellent efficient dermatogist - she completely cleared up my skin four years ago and for that I am forever grateful (my skin looked awful and I had been to countless different doctors and spent thousands on various treatments). She is amazing and her staff is friendly and always upbeat and cheerful. More

5.0
Review from LI  |  Source: Office Visit  |  Feb 12, 2016

I have been going to Bay Area Cosmetic Dermatology for the last ten years. I am continually impressed by both Dr Welsh and Dr Hui for their ability to listen to my needs and desires without judgement, address cosmetic issues artfully, and manage medical issues with great knowledge and expertise. Their ability to integrate both the art and science of dermatology is truly exceptional. Our entire family has been treated by the practice. My children for extreme acne and stubborn allergic skin reactions, my husband with his sensitive Asian skin for his sun spots and I have had multiple moles skillfully removed and biopsied, Ulthera, botox, fillers and even repaired earlobes, (torn from heavy earnings). Coming from a family of physicians, I have learned the importance of quality of care and true medical expertise. We have all been impressed by their responsiveness, depth of knowledge, attention to detail and overall quality of care. I have referred many to this practice and have heard nothing but stellar reviews. More

*Individual results are not guaranteed and may vary from person to person. Images may contain models.