Our commitment to a Safe Practice

Learn More
Patient Reviews Image

Patient Reviews

Reviews for San Francisco, CA Dermatologist Dr. Kathleen Welsh Chemical Peel Procedures

We value all of our patients and their individual needs. At Bay Area Cosmetic Dermatology, we want you to make the most informed decision to achieve your cosmetic goals. Choosing the best procedure and physician for you is an extremely important decision, and we invite you to read about previous patients’ experiences and better understand the quality treatment you will receive from our board-certified dermatologists. Each of our medical professionals value your journey and want to ensure you feel as comfortable and confident about your decision as possible.

Filter7 Reviews  
5.0
DAPI
Review from H.A.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Aug 08, 2017

I have been seeing Dr. Welsh (who was initially recommended to me by my primary care physician) since 2007 for fillers, and more recently, Botox, between once and twice a year. Additionally, two years ago I had an intensive peel and spots on the backs of my hands treated, and last year, a light peel. Although it seems counter-intuitive, I am now paying less per visit than I did ten years ago; I don't need as much! I also am not trying to look decades younger, only slow the external manifestations of aging. This goal is exactly what Dr. Welsh continues to achieve. The work is subtle, yet I am always met with disbelief when I tell people I am fifty-eight. (I should add that I have been using Retin-A since I was thirty, and Dr. Welsh says this makes a huge difference.)Since Dr. Hui has come on board I have seen her once for fillers, with the same excellent results. I wanted to get another intensive peel this year, which Dr. Hui administered eight days ago. The product Dr. Hui currently uses has a much quicker turn-around than the previous two-week period. The treatment is, as Dr. Hui characterized it, "spicy." But the three chili peppers level lasts only for a minute, and my face felt completely normal an hour later. I've been slathering my face with Aquafor (and sunscreen when I am outside) and the peeling has ended. I was a bit concerned as my face peeled much more rapidly than with the previous treatment, but when I saw Dr. Hui for a check-in yesterday she reassured me that this was normal for the new product. I currently have patches of redness in varying size and shade over about a third of my face that will fade over the next three to four days. The skin is beautiful, and I won't feel the need to wear make-up. I am very pleased with the results--at a much lower cost than Fraxel laser treatments.Drs. Welsh and Hui have stellar educations and credentials, yet are down-to-earth. They love their work and it shows. Over ten years I have had only warm, professional interactions with staff, and never once felt pressure to buy products. I have watched my skin and appearance improve under Dr. Welsh's thoughtful care, and am happy that the equally attentive Dr. Hui has joined her. I am looking forward to the next ten years! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from H.A.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Aug 08, 2017

I have been seeing Dr. Welsh (who was initially recommended to me by my primary care physician) since 2007 for fillers, and more recently, Botox, between once and twice a year. Additionally, two years ago I had an intensive peel and spots on the backs of my hands treated, and last year, a light peel. Although it seems counter-intuitive, I am now paying less per visit than I did ten years ago; I don't need as much! I also am not trying to look decades younger, only slow the external manifestations of aging. This goal is exactly what Dr. Welsh continues to achieve. The work is subtle, yet I am always met with disbelief when I tell people I am fifty-eight. (I should add that I have been using Retin-A since I was thirty, and Dr. Welsh says this makes a huge difference.) Since Dr. Hui has come on board I have seen her once for fillers, with the same excellent results. I wanted to get another intensive peel this year, which Dr. Hui administered eight days ago. The product Dr. Hui currently uses has a much quicker turn-around than the previous two-week period. The treatment is, as Dr. Hui characterized it, "spicy." But the three chili peppers level lasts only for a minute, and my face felt completely normal an hour later. I've been slathering my face with Aquafor (and sunscreen when I am outside) and the peeling has ended. I was a bit concerned as my face peeled much more rapidly than with the previous treatment, but when I saw Dr. Hui for a check-in yesterday she reassured me that this was normal for the new product. I currently have patches of redness in varying size and shade over about a third of my face that will fade over the next three to four days. The skin is beautiful, and I won't feel the need to wear make-up. I am very pleased with the results--at a much lower cost than Fraxel laser treatments. Drs. Welsh and Hui have stellar educations and credentials, yet are down-to-earth. They love their work and it shows. Over ten years I have had only warm, professional interactions with staff, and never once felt pressure to buy products. I have watched my skin and appearance improve under Dr. Welsh's thoughtful care, and am happy that the equally attentive Dr. Hui has joined her. I am looking forward to the next ten years! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.R.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Feb 08, 2014

I have been in to see Dr. Welsh three times and been thrilled each time with the result and/or prescription. I have been to other dermatologists and these ladies "get it" better than most. The first time I went in to inquire about how to improve the look of my aging skin and they started me on retnoids-which have been a game-changer.  Women in their 30s and 40s shouldn't have to battle acne and wrinkles at the same time!  I have been using them for three years now and could not be happier with the result.  I went back in to have a light peel done to try and remove some melasma on my forehead and chin from years of sun abuse (I now wear sunscreen religiously, but had a misspent youth in tanning beds...).  I also received some other in office treatments that did not disappoint.  Dr. Welsh saw me for two of those appointments and her very capable staff saw to my needs the third time. I plan to make an appointment to return to see Dr. Welsh and her friendly and competent staff as I prepare for my upcoming wedding this summer to make sure I look my best. Reasonable pricing for this area and realistic results are what I expect and what these ladies have delivered each time I have been in. Highly recommend!!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.A.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Sep 13, 2012

Let's be honest ladies - skin is tricky. Skin is finicky. Find what works for you and stick with it. For me, that's Dr. Welsh.Why she's great:Fabulous credentials.Great bedside manner.Tells it straight - yes those wrinkles are noticeable.Tries all the products and treatments on herself and staff before purchasing for the office.Is recommended by countless doctors.Look at the skin of the ladies that work in her office and try not to be cat clawingly jealous.Has a great eye for injectables.Worked wonders on my server Acne caused during pregnancy.Now let's address some of the rants of people who gave Dr. Welsh 1-StarLong Wait Times: Do you really want a doctor who runs onetime? Seriously, that means that they give you 5 minutes of time and no more. What if you have questions? What if you have a mole that looks suspicious and she wants to take a biopsy? Good doctor take as long as necessary with their patients, so I am willing to wait my turn to get my time with the best skin doctor in SF.Selling Products: Dr. Welsh sells only the best products on the market. She isn't trying to up-sell you, trust me. She makes plenty of money from her appointments. The products she sells work for MOST people. Sometimes the odd person has an atypical reaction - but thats not a reason to give Dr. Welsh 1 Star. Do you stop going to Walgreens when that new lotion gave you a rash? Nope - and I bet if you call the office and are nice they'll take it back and recommend something else. I'm sorry if you can buy things cheaper on Amazon - but isn't that the truth about everything? Dr. Welsh's office is a small business and I'm happy to give them my business, just like my local butcher and bookstore.Staff: Her staff are great. Friendly, knowledgable and very experienced. Try and see the same person each time and you can develop a nice friendship. I totally look forward to my appointments so I can happily chat with Kate. She's amazing with skin and saved me during my pregnancy. She does RIDICULOUS extractions and peels and made my skin look the best it could while I was in pregnancy acne hell.Price: You pay what you get for. She doesn't take insurance, but neither does the personal trainer or yoga studio. You want to do something good for yourself and your skink then spend the money on the top person in the city and call Dr. Welsh. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.K.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Oct 23, 2008

I'm reserving judgment. I was peeved that after being 15 minutes early, I had to wait 25 minutes past my appointment time to see the doctor. Looking past the 1 hour of my life I'd have rather manifested as sleep than waiting, Dr. Welsh was quite hurried, and I didn't feel the $150-with-no-insurance-coverage I spent for the 15 minute consultation was worth it. I really just wanted simple product recommendations, like soap and sunscreen, and instead was shunted towards expensive drugs, peels, and lasers.I originally wrote a scathing review, but I'm revising now because it's not Dr. Welsh's fault that I had high expectations. I was hoping she was different that other dermatologists, with keen insights into the products that could work *with* me. Instead, I was jolted by the scrape-burn-zap mentality which, in retrospect, defines western medicine. So it's not her fault that I was hoping she would empathize with my more gentle approach and accommodate it. That being said, I'm still out $150 and right where I started.--- revision 3/5/09I'm changing my review to 4 stars from 2 stars. As it turns out, another dermatologist recommended the same treatment that Dr. Welsh had recommended to me, and it worked. I think I was so irritated by the long wait to meet Dr. Welsh that I wasn't ready to hear anything she had to say, and her hurried delivery didn't help. All this being said, though, she was correct, and on top of that, her staff has been quite supportive and helpful during followups, providing exactly the product recommendations I wanted. So I now trust them for various products, which are summing up to be a whole lot more than that initial consultation.--- revision 8/7/11I'm now changing my review to 5 stars. I'm now a complete convert to the ministry of Dr. Welsh. I have gone from horrible acne that Accutane could barely control to gorgeous glowing skin even my Asian relatives fawn over (with Latisse-enhanced eyelashes). It's also refreshing to go to someone trustworthy and say, hey, I don't like this unevenness in my skin (yes- now that the color is fresh and even, now I want to perfect the texture!) and she knows the latest in getting it addressed. She also has the latest products that I buy for friends as gifts and all of them buy more when they've finished. I can't recommend Dr. Welsh more. It's expensive, but it's worth it. I don't even wear makeup anymore to go out! Literally just some Sumbody chapstick and that's *it*. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.N.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Apr 27, 2007

after years of trying to find a good dermatologist in san francisco, i finally have. dr. welsh knows what she's doing. the first thing she asked me was if i used birth control and what type was it. i quickly learned that was causing probably 70-80 percent of my recent bad skin, ie acne. i couldn't believe it. less than a year before i saw one of the city's most well known dermatologists, he even treats the stars, and he NEVER asked me once about the pill. i always thought all birth control was good for the skin. turns out the nuva ring causes acne in many patients. dr. welsh was also quick to point out that my cute little freckles of which i have sooooo many were actually sun spots and recommended a few products for me to use to clear those up to even out my skin tone. after three weeks of a red face, they are finally working and i am happy about it. my skin is on it's way to looking better than it has in years. i asked her about a chemical peel and she gave me a firm no. i like a doctor that is going to be honest with me and not give me a procedure i don't need. and not to mention everyone in her office has great skin and is very nice and knows what they are talking about. looking forward to my next visit. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.B.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Mar 05, 2007

Dr. Welsh = God in my world. Seriously.If you want to try botox or restylane or something like that, she is your go to person. Chemical peel? No problem. She's expensive, but worth it. You can't put a price on beauty. More

*Individual results are not guaranteed and may vary from person to person. Images may contain models.