Patient Reviews Image

Patient Reviews

Reviews for San Francisco, CA Dermatologist Dr. Kathleen Welsh Medical Dermatology Procedures

We value all of our patients and their individual needs. At Bay Area Cosmetic Dermatology, we want you to make the most informed decision to achieve your cosmetic goals. Choosing the best procedure and physician for you is an extremely important decision, and we invite you to read about previous patients’ experiences and better understand the quality treatment you will receive from our board-certified dermatologists. Each of our medical professionals value your journey and want to ensure you feel as comfortable and confident about your decision as possible.

Filter41 Reviews  
5.0
DAPI
Review from T.Q.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Nov 25, 2021

I started seeing Dr. Welsh in my early 30’s for adult acne. She taught me proper skincare and set me up with the best products. I am checking in yearly to keep products on point with current skin changes. As I age, I need to choose to come in Every 4-6 months for botox & filler. Plus an occasional photo facial and laser hair removal treatments.  It is now 20 years later I honestly could pass for ten years younger than I am. Dr. Welch is magical, in my opinion. If you ask her a question, you are going to get an honest, educated answer. I would not trust anyone else. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.B.  |  Source: Google  |  Jul 16, 2020

During Covid, I had a visit yesterday with Dr. Kathleen Welsh and her nurse, Cynthia, for beauty injections as well as a process to remove the redness from roascia and broken blood vessel's in my face. My experience was wonderful. I was greeted by an assistant in a mask and facial shield at the door who took my temperature. I felt Covid safe in the patient room. All the assistance wore masks. Everybody who treated my face was wearing a mask and shield. My appointment time was honored and I was properly escorted to my patient room. Naturally, the results from my visit are beautiful! I also appreciate Cynthia's sound advice on products to use on my face, as she is very knowledgeable and goes into depth on my morning and evening facial routine. I trust Dr. Walsh with her advice regarding the products to use for my injections, and most importantly, I am extremely satisfied with the results.!!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.D.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Mar 08, 2020

I have been a patient of Kathleen Welsh for a few years now and I will continue to go back to her for years to come. Dr. Welsh helped me clear my severe hormonal acne through both topical medications and oral medications. I have also received laser treatments to clear the scarring and redness caused by my acne. Fr. Welsh is the most understanding, kind, and smart doctor I have seen and I highly recommend her to anyone in anyone in need of dermatology services. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.R.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Mar 08, 2020

I'd like to thank Dr. Welsh for providing a second opinion that helped resolve a tricky dermatological diagnosis. She was kind and professional and asked all the right questions. I would definitely recommend her! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from R.T.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Mar 06, 2020

I strongly recommend this practice. Dr. Welsh, Dr. Austin, and Dr. He are so brilliant and help you take back control of your skin. I've been with this practice for 4+ years. In addition to the results they achieved for my skin, it's the staff and the providers who keep me coming back. I appreciate the level of professionalism and consideration BACD has for all of their clients. The doctors are so smart and truly take time to understand your problem, and recommend the right treatment to deliver the fastest possible solution. I struggled with acne my entire life; in my first consultation with Dr. Austin she recommended a daily topical (tretanoin) and specific treatments (e.g Hydrafacial and Laser to break up  redness!). Ever since then my skin improved drastically. I hardly recognize myself in the mirror today. It's truly incredible how small changes can deliver drastic results. Recently, I met their newest physician Dr. Steven He. He is LOVELY and a true dermatology prodigy! All MDs at this practice will provide you with the information you need to treat your skin. Dr. He, in particular, is always willing to answer questions and has a magical way of breaking down the science of skincare in a way that is easy to understand. He is also very friendly and cute -- LOL! Thank you Dr. Welsh, Dr. Austin and Dr. He for all of your support over the past few years. I am so fortunate to be a client at your clinic. More

5.0
Review from H.M  |  Source: Yelp  |  Oct 18, 2019

Let me start by saying, I highly recommend Dr. Steven He! I have severe eczema and have tried everything after seeing multiple doctors (I moved from SF to LA last year). NOTHING has worked. The last physician asked me, "what do you want, nothing will cure it so let's just try another cream". Pretty much the consensus with all doctors -- nothing I can do about it! It's incredibly depressing when people ask you what's on your face, your arms, your legs... my niece always refers to them as "boo-boos". And everyone has advice on how to cure eczema - let me tell you! I have tried every diet, all kinds of supplements, juicing... nothing worked. I have been walking around in LA weather wearing long sleeves all the time because I'm tired of hearing the questions. On a whim, when I'm in SF, I call Dr. Welsh's office. I was desperate for help and the staff offered me to see Dr. He. I went in with low expectations since no other physician has been able to help me. What I didn't realize is the absolute compassion that Dr. He and the staff showed me the moment I walked in the door. I cried as I told the assistant about my eczema. I continued to cry as Dr. He walked in and started talking to me. I'll never forget when he said, "Eczema is a disease, you were born with it, and you didn't cause this!" I told him that I was depressed because and felt bad about it because so many other people have worse problems. He said, "People with eczema suffer the same depression as people with serious diseases." He also told me, "I have something that can cure you." You can imagine my excitement. However, the excitement didn't last long. The cost of the medication (Dupixent) was exorbitant -- 5K per month! We started talking about other treatment plans but Dr. He told me that he would find a way to get me this medicine. He gave me cortisone for the eczema flare-ups, creams and said he'd be in touch. And he certainly was. The same evening, he called and told me to come to the office in the morning and sign paperwork so that I could get Dupixent through a patient assistance program. We would try to make it work, he said. The next morning, the paperwork was all filled out, and all I had to do was sign it. Dr. He spent even more time with me talking about how Dupixent works and said he would do everything to get the medicine for me. I left feeling hopeful. After speaking with the folks at Dupixent, I was, in fact, approved! My first shipment would arrive the following week and I could start the new medicine. It's been over a month, and my skin has already vastly improved from Dupixent. Dr. He has checked in on me consistently to make sure I'm doing OK. I even had some slight reactions and we talked those through and he reassured me that everything was fine. I don't know any physician that would take the extra time and care that Dr. He has done for me. Long story short -- go see Dr. He! Everyone at Dr. Welsh's office is amazing, but I highly recommend Dr. He, especially if you have a serious skin issue and need the care, compassion, and knowledge that he provides. To say he has gone above and beyond is an understatement. He's changed my life. Thank you, Dr He! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.A.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Apr 17, 2019

Dr. Austin helped me with a hair growth problem I was experiencing and was able to diagnose the problem at first sight. I've also been here for acne problems I was experiencing and Dr. Welsh was able to alleviate my issues. This is definitely the best dermatologist business in San Francisco! Thank you More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.R.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Mar 14, 2019

I have been a patient of this practice for over 12 years.  I have seen Kathleen Welsh for over 50 visits and have always been pleased with the outcome of my medical treatment.  She is a caring lovely person.  All of my family members have also seen her for acne , mole removal, skin care and fillers.  I travel a distance to my appointments and it is worth every mile. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.S.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Feb 10, 2019

I can't believe it took me this long to write a review on Dr. Welsh and Bay Area Cosmetic Dermatology. I have been a patient of Dr. Welsh's going on 10 years and I can't imagine seeing anyone else. When I first started going, the office was a lot smaller, but all the expanding hasn't changed the service I get there. Every time I see Dr. Welsh she is so kind and thoughtful, and she has really changed my life. I have had bad cystic acne since around 19, and she openly admitted I had one of the worst cases she had seen. It was painful and heartbreaking and I thought it was hopeless. In the many years I've been going to her, we have worked together until finally finding treatment that worked well, and I am so thankful. I go a few times a year for laser treatments and fillers for residual scarring (shout out to Nurse Mary who is probably the nicest person on the planet and an absolute wizard with lasers, and she genuinely cares about all of her clients). Dr. Welsh has always been considerate of my budget (I'm a nonprofit worker, while I know most of her clients are probably closer to the 1%) and has worked with me when my skin condition needed more for less. I am lucky to have found them so long ago and can't recommend them higher! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Feb 26, 2018

Great dermatologist - When I lived in the Bay Area Dr. Welsh was my dermatologist of choice! The first time I came to her office was for tattoo removal when I was in my 20’s...it was a total success. Years later I am 100% tattoo ink free thank to her. It took time but was well worth it. I have also used her office for the V-beam laser procedure which removes dilated blood vessels. If you have rosacea, or a... More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.L.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Aug 20, 2017

Bay Area Cosmetic Dermatology is beyond my expectations. Dr. Hoi and Dr. Welch provide excellent care. I've suffered from acne for most of my life. Dr.Hoi provided excellent care and Mary works magic with her micropen. I'm so happy I discovered Bay Area Cosmetic. My skin looks so much better, I can't believe it. I am able to feel confident and engage in eye contact. I used to be ashamed and now my skin looks almost perfect. It's unbelievable. A million thanks to Dr.Hoi and Mary. Excellent staff, excellent care. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.M.  |  Source: Yelp  |  May 08, 2017

I can't say enough good things about Dr Welsh and Dr Huy.  I have been seeing Dr Welsh for 20 years, since high school.  She has saved my face a few times... Severe cystic acne, severe acne scarring all over my entire face, a dog attack that severely mangled my cheek... big stuff.  Over the course of my life I have experienced that feeling of shame and insecurity because my face looked so messed up that I didn't want people to look at me.  And every time, Dr Welsh put my face back together and then some.  Which essentially gives you your life back, because you can face the world with confidence and really show up and be present in conversations, instead of tripping out over how how destroyed your face looks.Those are the extreme cases that Dr Welsh has helped me through.  Always, she is compassionate, straight up, and comes up with a game plan and a timeline, and doesn't want to stop until whatever the issue is perfectly resolved.  Pretty much everything you want when you put your face in someone's hands.Now I am in my late 30s so there are a new bag of things that that can be improved upon that pop up: wrinkles, face and lips losing its fullness, and discoloration (hyperpigmentation).  And again, I don't trust anyone to mess with my face, EVER, unless its Dr Welsh or Dr Huy.  Dr Welsh is a master at filler because she basically refuses to make you look unnatural.  She will make you look refreshed and well-slept, but even if I beg for slightly fuller lips she looks at me and says, "No."  That's what you want.  Someone who says no.  Dr Huy is amazing.  At first I felt like I was cheating on Dr Welsh by seeing her as well but she is awesome and just as skilled.  I highly recommend you try her, because they have similar approaches and equal skill set.  I am so glad I gave her a chance because she is fantastic and she dealt with this discoloration and redness/rosacea problem that started a year ago.  Again, she was sweet and supportive, gave me a game plan and a timeline.  exactly what you want when you are stressing over something on your face.  I love Dr Huy.Everyone who knows me knows that I call Bay Area Cosmetic Dermatology "my happy place".  Such caring, such professionalism and and attention to detail, such a personalized care regimen that makes you feel like you are in the right hands and you can relax and there is light at the end of the tunnel.  I am a die-hard supporter. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.W.  |  Source: Google  |  Jan 14, 2017

Dr Welsh has been my favorite dermatologist for over 20 years - I'm pretty sure she is the reason I don't have skin cancer from my careless youth ;) She (and her staff) always make me feel good when I am there and I get great results w everything I've tried (including fillers). Kathleen Welsh is a perfectionist and a true artist! Dr Welsh knows my style (she knows I don't want to look "over done") and gives (on request) great advice for what I really need (instead of what I thought I needed) often saving me $$. I trust her completely (based on 2 decades of stellar results)! I was introduced to Dr Welsh by a product rep friend (it's part of her job to know everybody in the industry) as a wonderful person and excellent doctor. I have always been glad of every visit! Recently I tried her cleansing pads while camping - who knew you could get refreshed glowing skin w/out water? I'm one of those people who breaks out if I miss cleansing morning or night, so these are little gems. Honestly, I cannot lavish enough praise on Dr Welsh (and her staff) for excellent care and great results! I'm pretty sure Dr Welsh really does love skin! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from I.C.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Dec 17, 2016

Before I started seeing Dr. Hui and Dr. Welsh, I had very oily skin, frequent breakouts and a fair amount of redness and blemishes. I wore cover-up often and carried oil-absorbing sheets with me everywhere. Although I didn't have "severe acne," I was not satisfied with the appearance of my skin, and wished that I didn't need to manage it so much. At Bay Area Cosmetic Dermatology, I have had laser and resurfacing treatments with Dr. Hui, Mary, Claire and Mabel (who are amazing to work with!) and have seen pretty dramatic results in evening my skin complexion and texture, and getting rid of red blemishes. I was initially hesitant to invest in the skin care routine they recommended, as I hadn't had much success with products in the past, but I can honestly say that my skin has never been better. I actually have no problems with oil anymore, and maybe one pimple every few months, which is pretty amazing for me! What sets Bay Area Cosmetic Dermatology apart from other practices I have been to is that they have a tremendous variety of treatments and products available at the office, and the staff is extremely knowledgeable in determining what the specific needs of my skin are and which treatments and products will provide the best results. I genuinely feel that my treatments are customized to me, and not just generic recommendations like I have received in the past. Before I met Dr. Hui and Dr. Welsh, I didn't know that it was possible to change my skin, and not just consistently manage it. It is a relief to have doctors whose recommendations I can trust. I am so grateful to have found this incredible practice, and to finally have skin that I feel confident with! I recommend this practice to anyone! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from B.S.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Oct 06, 2016

Dr. Hui completely transformed my skin and I cannot recommend her more highly! I have had rosacea for more than 20 years. In that time I have seen countless dermatologists (including some of the "best" in NYC and SF) and experimented with dozens of skincare products and prescriptions. The results have always been minimal and often made my face even redder and more irritated. This led to a general skepticism of dermatologists and feeling that the rosacea was just something I would have to live with. I decided to try V-Beam treatment, which led me to Bay Area Cosmetic Dermatology (again, skeptical about the potential outcome). In addition to the laser treatment, Dr. Hui recommended a regimen that included over-the-counter and Rx creams, face wash, supplements, and sunscreen. Dr. Hui and Dr. Welsh compound their own unique prescription rosacea cream, which is far superior to anything I have tried from pharma companies (my skin absolutely loves it!). After just one V-Beam treatment and following the regime for only a few weeks my skin dramatically improved. After 2 months the rosacea is almost completely gone and my skin looks healthy and youthful. I am absolutely amazed by the outcome.In addition to being a highly skilled dermatologist, Dr. Hui and her staff are warm and friendly and always take the time to listen to any questions or concerns I may have. I am so grateful to have found Dr. Hui and her team! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.G.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jul 06, 2016

There is no need to go anyplace else or see any other dermotologists.  Dr. Welsh knows what you need before you even ask for a particular treatment.  In many cases, her suggestions are not what you might intend, but better and more effective.  She is truly at the top of her field in cosmetic dermatology.  Dr. Hui is the best at treating and rectifying problem skin and preventative maintenance.  I will no longer see any other doctor for my skin concerns.  Their entire staff is deeply knowledgable in all areas of every treatment they offer.  I can't say enough about this practice.Treatments I have had: Coolsculpting, IPL, Accutane, Ulthera, V-beam, tattoo removal More

5.0
Review from LI  |  Source: Office Visit  |  Feb 12, 2016

I have been going to Bay Area Cosmetic Dermatology for the last ten years. I am continually impressed by both Dr Welsh and Dr Hui for their ability to listen to my needs and desires without judgement, address cosmetic issues artfully, and manage medical issues with great knowledge and expertise. Their ability to integrate both the art and science of dermatology is truly exceptional. Our entire family has been treated by the practice. My children for extreme acne and stubborn allergic skin reactions, my husband with his sensitive Asian skin for his sun spots and I have had multiple moles skillfully removed and biopsied, Ulthera, botox, fillers and even repaired earlobes, (torn from heavy earnings). Coming from a family of physicians, I have learned the importance of quality of care and true medical expertise. We have all been impressed by their responsiveness, depth of knowledge, attention to detail and overall quality of care. I have referred many to this practice and have heard nothing but stellar reviews. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.A.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Sep 26, 2015

Dr. Welsh is an exceptional dermatologist.  She will go the extra mile and think out of the box to help with stubborn and complicated skin problems.  Apparently she does a lot of beauty treatments but don't let this fool you.  She is exceptionally well-trained.  She is a board certified internist as well as a dermatologist.  I have several skin conditions and they complicate each other.  I saw other dermatologists  at Stanford and other Bay Area locations who over at least a one year period (more like 2 years) did not help me get my condition under control at all.  I was suffering to the point of wondering if life was worthwhile. I did see Dr. Anhalt in Los Altos and he did figure things out and try some off label treatments which got me halfway under control.  Dr. Welsh knowing I had been struggling with this condition for a few years and the quality of my life was so low was not afraid to prescribe Accutane which basically gave me my life back.  Don't get me wrong she of course knows there is risk associated with this drug like all drugs. We did try a few other things including doing laser first before using the Accutane at a lower dose than usual. My problems were not small and the decision was not light and I have never looked back.  I did laser with her in San Francisco because she had the particular equipment I heard would work best for my particular condition.  Kathleen Welsh MD  uses V Beam for rosacea!  I had been wanting to try Accutane and laser both for rosacea and it was pretty much a miracle so I would recommend it for rosacea.I have had laser hair removal in her office as well.  Yvonne is extremely professional and caring and I would highly recommend her as well. More

5.0
Review from DW  |  Source: Office Visit  |  Jun 05, 2015

Dr Welsh has been my favorite dermatologist for over 20 years - I'm pretty sure she is the reason I don't have skin cancer from my careless youth ;) She (and her staff) always make me feel good when I am there and I get great results w everything I've tried (including fillers). Kathleen Welsh is a perfectionist and a true artist! Dr Welsh knows my style (she knows I don't want to look "over done") and gives (on request) great advice for what I really need (instead of what I thought I needed) often saving me $$. I trust her completely (based on 2 decades of stellar results)! I was introduced to Dr Welsh by a product rep friend (it's part of her job to know everybody in the industry) as a wonderful person and excellent doctor. I have always been glad of every visit! In response to another reviewer: a couple of times a few years ago I had waits of up to a half hour, but I always just guessed my doctor was giving someone else the precise meticulous care that she gives me. (There were a few prior visits that Dr Welsh spent extra time burning off my way-too-many pre-cancer spots; apologies if your wait was my fault!). Lately, I'm in and out before I can read a single magazine article. Recently I tried her cleansing pads while camping - who knew you could get refreshed glowing skin w/out water? I'm one of those people who breaks out if I miss cleansing morning or night, so these are little gems. Honestly, I cannot lavish enough praise on Dr Welsh (and her staff) for excellent care and great results! I'm pretty sure Dr Welsh really does love skin! More

4.0
DAPI
Review from R.J.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Mar 15, 2014

My first visit to Dr. Welsh was in the early 2000s for adult acne, a condition which had plagued me since childhood. I received excellent results. Now as I reach my later 30s, acne has become a thing of the past, yet I have a new issue: Aging facial skin. While I'm lucky that the byproduct of the former acne condition keeps my skin more naturally moisturized than others my age, I still am noticing subtle wrinkles around my eyes and furrowed smile lines. I've been very pleased with the outcomes of the various creams and non-invasive procedures she has recommended. The doctor and her staff always give me (a dude) a great comfort level whenever I arrive at their otherwise girly-ish offices (i.e. half of the waiting room area contains a Bloomingdale-sized cosmetic counter). Then again, if 80%+ of my clientele were women and I advertised my practice as "cosmetic dermatology," I'd probably design my office layout similarly. In any case, I have to admit it's kind of fun being the object of attention--however briefly--by her helpful and attentive female staff :) More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.R.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Feb 08, 2014

I have been in to see Dr. Welsh three times and been thrilled each time with the result and/or prescription. I have been to other dermatologists and these ladies "get it" better than most. The first time I went in to inquire about how to improve the look of my aging skin and they started me on retnoids-which have been a game-changer.  Women in their 30s and 40s shouldn't have to battle acne and wrinkles at the same time!  I have been using them for three years now and could not be happier with the result.  I went back in to have a light peel done to try and remove some melasma on my forehead and chin from years of sun abuse (I now wear sunscreen religiously, but had a misspent youth in tanning beds...).  I also received some other in office treatments that did not disappoint.  Dr. Welsh saw me for two of those appointments and her very capable staff saw to my needs the third time. I plan to make an appointment to return to see Dr. Welsh and her friendly and competent staff as I prepare for my upcoming wedding this summer to make sure I look my best. Reasonable pricing for this area and realistic results are what I expect and what these ladies have delivered each time I have been in. Highly recommend!!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from T.T.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Sep 10, 2013

I started coming here last April to get v-beam on my face for rosacea and redness. I was looking for a place that could do it in the south bay but could not find any places that could do it or that I would want to go to. When I called to make an appointment the girl at the front desk was very helpful and explained to me what it was and pricing. She said she had done it as well. She told me exactly where to park and where the office was... very helpful if you are not from the city. When I came in to my first appointment Dr Welsh came into the room took a look at my face and gave me some recommendations and said the v-beam was an excellent  option for me. Yvonne was the nurse who performed the laser on me and she is great and  explains everything and answers all my questions. I could not be happier with my results and will keep going to her office and Yvonne  even though its in the city and I am in the south bay. I finally found something that works after spending tons of money on things that  have not worked and will always trust their opinion. Reading reviews people have  complained that her office has long wait times and a crowded waiting room but i have never dealt with anything than the average wait time when you go to a doctor, dentist, etc.. I would be more concerned if there wasnt anyone there. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.A.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Sep 13, 2012

Let's be honest ladies - skin is tricky. Skin is finicky. Find what works for you and stick with it. For me, that's Dr. Welsh.Why she's great:Fabulous credentials.Great bedside manner.Tells it straight - yes those wrinkles are noticeable.Tries all the products and treatments on herself and staff before purchasing for the office.Is recommended by countless doctors.Look at the skin of the ladies that work in her office and try not to be cat clawingly jealous.Has a great eye for injectables.Worked wonders on my server Acne caused during pregnancy.Now let's address some of the rants of people who gave Dr. Welsh 1-StarLong Wait Times: Do you really want a doctor who runs onetime? Seriously, that means that they give you 5 minutes of time and no more. What if you have questions? What if you have a mole that looks suspicious and she wants to take a biopsy? Good doctor take as long as necessary with their patients, so I am willing to wait my turn to get my time with the best skin doctor in SF.Selling Products: Dr. Welsh sells only the best products on the market. She isn't trying to up-sell you, trust me. She makes plenty of money from her appointments. The products she sells work for MOST people. Sometimes the odd person has an atypical reaction - but thats not a reason to give Dr. Welsh 1 Star. Do you stop going to Walgreens when that new lotion gave you a rash? Nope - and I bet if you call the office and are nice they'll take it back and recommend something else. I'm sorry if you can buy things cheaper on Amazon - but isn't that the truth about everything? Dr. Welsh's office is a small business and I'm happy to give them my business, just like my local butcher and bookstore.Staff: Her staff are great. Friendly, knowledgable and very experienced. Try and see the same person each time and you can develop a nice friendship. I totally look forward to my appointments so I can happily chat with Kate. She's amazing with skin and saved me during my pregnancy. She does RIDICULOUS extractions and peels and made my skin look the best it could while I was in pregnancy acne hell.Price: You pay what you get for. She doesn't take insurance, but neither does the personal trainer or yoga studio. You want to do something good for yourself and your skink then spend the money on the top person in the city and call Dr. Welsh. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.A.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jun 04, 2012

Dr. Welsh is my go-to dermatologist, as well as my mother's. Totally would recommend her for injections of any sort or if you have some serious acne issues. She is honest and very knowledgeable, and didn't overcharge me in comparison to another well known dermatologist in the Peninsula for a basic procedure. I trust her entirely with my skin/face and would recommend her to anyone. My only negative feedback is wait times in her office can be quite lengthy, so make sure to over feed your meeter just in case! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.C.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jan 09, 2012

I came in with the worst cystic acne, blotchy skin and low self esteem. Dr welsh and staff were so amazing! my skin has been clear for the last 6-9 months! I am so happy and my confidence came back big time! yay! dr welsh is the best ! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from V.P.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Nov 24, 2011

I have been to Dr. Welsh approximately five times for rosacea treatments (V Beam laser) and a few precancerous spots on my face and decolletage over the past couple of years.  She did a great job and I found her to be very knowledgable and professional.  She does schedule patients in tightly, one does have to wait (it's usually about a half hour), and she doesn't take insurance (though they'll mail the form in for you), however, she is an excellent dermatologist so it's worth it to me.  On occasion, she has done a little extra for me and not charged me.I've been to several high-end dermatologists in Beverly Hills over the years including the Head of Dermatology at UCLA (before I moved to the Bay Area) and find Dr. Welsh to be an excellent dermatologist, friendly with no "attitude."  I am not a wealthy person (far from it), however, when it comes to my skin, I like the best.Though Dr. Welsh has informed me of the various treatments she has available for aging skin (I'm middle aged), she only did so because I asked and she hasn't "pushed" any treatments or products on me.  The products are expensive but they work great  (so my friend says) - just not in my budget at this point.I found her staff to be very friendly and efficient.  Someone commented that all her staff look "done," and I suppose one could take that viewpoint but they also have virtually flawless skin.  That's their choice but the Doctor doesn't push this "look" on her patients, however, if you want flawless skin, Dr. Welsh knows how to achieve it. Finally, because it's a bit of a drive for me and I have health challenges, Dr. Welsh even gave me a recommendation for a doctor close to me to take care of a precancerous spot on my chest - so I would say that Dr. Welsh puts her patients care in the forefront.  Her services are expensive, however, I would prefer to have a doctor who really knows what they are doing then have mistakes made that one has to spend even more money correcting, and I particularly do not want mistakes made on my face.  BTW, I am not affiliated with Dr. Welsh in any way, merely a happy patient - in fact, I went to her based on her Yelp reviews. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.D.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Sep 20, 2011

"Dr Kathy rules", my friend (who had seen her before) texted me now, after hearing how my appointment went with her today.  I am going back to Dr Welsh because of my adult cystic acne.  If you read my old review, you can see Accutane did work for me for  ..  I would say around a year, then it came back, and lately it has flare-ups that I just can't deal with anymore.  After googling everything under the sun I came upon articles about another drug, Spironolactone, that is sometimes used for women with my condition.  I have heard from 2 acquaintances that it works really well for them, and I just wanted to try it SO badly.  I had been to other dermatologists who, because I did not have an acne flare up at that moment, did not take me very seriously.  (Now i take photos of it when it's bad, just in case I need the proof.)Dr Welsh is the only doctor who has taken my skin issues seriously and been extremely helpful and kind about it.  She explains the different options and doesn't treat me like a "second class citizen" because I don't have insurance or bags of money like I imagine some of the clients going for  ..  I don't know, Botox or other more cosmetic issues go for.  (I'm always afraid that will happen in any medical practice.)  She asked me why I hadn't been there sooner and I sort of implied I thought there wasn't much i could do, she was so sweet and said that there is always something we can do.  Her staff is also very polite .. . and they have immaculate skin!  i hope to treat myself to something that will help my scars after we get a handle on my acne issue. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from N.Z.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Aug 23, 2011

I've been going to Dr. Welsh for 10 years and have always been pleased with my experience in every way.  Dr. Welsh caught the beginning of skin cancer on my face, which my primary was able to remove immediately.  She and her staff are friendly, warm and attentive.  (Yes, sometimes doctors do run behind...)I love Dr. Welsh and her staff more than they love skin! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.L.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Apr 02, 2011

I have gone to Dr. Welsh for years for skin checks, and have been grateful for her thoroughness. I've had a couple of spots removed and certainly felt that there was professionalism and attentiveness, and I am glad I didn't have anything develop into a problem that was harder to cure. I've also had IPL done by both Katie and Jane. Again, very professional, but also friendly. I was impressed by the amount of information I was given to insure that I knew the risks of what I was doing, as well as what my skin reactions would be and after-care.  I've been VERY pleased with the results. I love this office. I have found all of the people there to be extremely friendly and attentive- I'm not sure why all the negative comments about the staff. I've been going for over 5 years. Maybe you should forget emailing and just lift up the phone, that doesn't seem to be a good method of communication with them. Years of experience with this group makes me want to recommend them to anyone. I just went there yesterday, and was reminded of how much I like them. Added bonus- fairly inexpensive parking lot on the Geary side of the building. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from B.R.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Nov 15, 2010

I am a HUGE fan of Doctor Welsh's office. I hit my mid-twenties and suddenly I broke out in the worst acne I have ever had. After spending hundreds of dollars at Sephora and other stores to try to improve my skin with no success, I finally decided to see a doctor. I chose Doctor Welsh because of her great resume and location. So far, I am very glad I did. (Note: I have only seen Doctor Welsh twice now over a span of two months, which I guess is still pretty early to see results, so keep in mind that this review is based less on results and more on my experience with her office.)I don't have insurance that covers dermatology right now, so I had to pay out-of-pocket for both visits. But I was willing to do anything to save my skin. (In any event, I guess the way Dr. Welsh's office deals with insurance would require me to pay out-of-pocket anyway.) I told Dr. Welsh about my financial concerns during my first appointment, and she was incredibly understanding. She made every effort to recommend products and treatments to keep my costs down, at least until my job starts and I can afford to do more. My first time in her office she waived the $150 visit fee and just charged me for the in-office treatment I received. Amazing!Dr. Welsh is a busy woman, so do not expect to have a long drawn-out visit with her. But she could not have been more understanding, proactive, and kind during the conversations I had with her. Also, her knowledgeable staff more than make up for the limited time with Dr. Welsh herself. I COMPLETELY disagree with the reviews that say that the staff is unfriendly. On both of my visits, an assistant patiently answered each of my questions and took the time to make sure I understood my new facial regimen. Several times I have called the office to ask questions about my treatments, and each time an extremely nice, bubbly assistant answered the phone who patiently and knowledgeably answered all of my questions right on the spot -- no charge and no wait!I hope my results are as good as my experience with the office has been. I trust Dr. Welsh and definitely would recommend her to anyone seeking expert help with their skin needs. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from G.  |  Source: Yellowpages  |  Oct 20, 2009

The Best Dermatologist - I have been going to Dr. Welsh for five years now and find that she's a godsend. I have rosacea and she has improved the skin on my face 100% - you would never know I had the condition. She's very caring and compassionate, and fun! I would not hesitate to make an appointment with her. Sometimes, her office is so jammed that you have to wait a long time. I find that very frustrating and believe it could be better managed. However, I find her worth the wait. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from W.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Mar 10, 2009

Fraxel Re:store Worth It for Acne Scars and Melasma - Conservative approach; excellent risk management/mitigation; approaches as part of overall skin program; understands how skin issues affect self esteem More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.K.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Oct 23, 2008

I'm reserving judgment. I was peeved that after being 15 minutes early, I had to wait 25 minutes past my appointment time to see the doctor. Looking past the 1 hour of my life I'd have rather manifested as sleep than waiting, Dr. Welsh was quite hurried, and I didn't feel the $150-with-no-insurance-coverage I spent for the 15 minute consultation was worth it. I really just wanted simple product recommendations, like soap and sunscreen, and instead was shunted towards expensive drugs, peels, and lasers.I originally wrote a scathing review, but I'm revising now because it's not Dr. Welsh's fault that I had high expectations. I was hoping she was different that other dermatologists, with keen insights into the products that could work *with* me. Instead, I was jolted by the scrape-burn-zap mentality which, in retrospect, defines western medicine. So it's not her fault that I was hoping she would empathize with my more gentle approach and accommodate it. That being said, I'm still out $150 and right where I started.--- revision 3/5/09I'm changing my review to 4 stars from 2 stars. As it turns out, another dermatologist recommended the same treatment that Dr. Welsh had recommended to me, and it worked. I think I was so irritated by the long wait to meet Dr. Welsh that I wasn't ready to hear anything she had to say, and her hurried delivery didn't help. All this being said, though, she was correct, and on top of that, her staff has been quite supportive and helpful during followups, providing exactly the product recommendations I wanted. So I now trust them for various products, which are summing up to be a whole lot more than that initial consultation.--- revision 8/7/11I'm now changing my review to 5 stars. I'm now a complete convert to the ministry of Dr. Welsh. I have gone from horrible acne that Accutane could barely control to gorgeous glowing skin even my Asian relatives fawn over (with Latisse-enhanced eyelashes). It's also refreshing to go to someone trustworthy and say, hey, I don't like this unevenness in my skin (yes- now that the color is fresh and even, now I want to perfect the texture!) and she knows the latest in getting it addressed. She also has the latest products that I buy for friends as gifts and all of them buy more when they've finished. I can't recommend Dr. Welsh more. It's expensive, but it's worth it. I don't even wear makeup anymore to go out! Literally just some Sumbody chapstick and that's *it*. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from I.L.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jul 22, 2008

I have melasma.  Or should I say HAD! My bff recommended Dr. Welsh as she had this HUGE grey thing growing in her dermis some years ago and Welsh magic-wanded it. I am getting ready for my wedding and nada I have tried over the last few years has helped.  I have done just about eerything you can do without a prescription.  I'd gotten to the point of hating the mirror just because of my skin.  That was a new experience for me because my entire life I was able to avoid skin problems. Never had issues, even in my teen years.  Anyway, now tables turned and my skin had become horrendous - the dark mask was getting worse by the day it seemed.  I thought laser was next so I went to see Dr. Welsh.  She told me the real deal - laser wouldn't help (at least not permanently) melasma, especially as mine was hereditary.  She put me on Obaji Nu Derm and in 4 weeks my life has changed.  I mean REALLY.  The spots have almost completely cleared up and my skin is even better than before. So happy with the correct assessment of my skin that I am also going back to Dr. Welsh's group for laser hair removal.  So happy when something really works and someone really really knows their stuff.  Thanks Dr. Welsh!Also:- Parking all over the place (lots, even occassionally street)- Very flexible appointments once you have had your first More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.H.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jan 14, 2008

I have a strongly emotional, very high opinion of Dr. Welsh.  If I had gone to her ten years earlier, I would have such better skin now.  I had moderate but persistent acne my entire life and saw a million dermatologists.  They all did strange ice treatments, gave me Retin-A and sent me on my way - all to absolutely no avail, except that I got dry red skin still populated with blemishes.  Then I started getting mega pimples at age 30, just months before my wedding.  Enter Dr. Welsh.  By the time of my wedding, I had perfect skin, and my skin is still pretty much acne-free more than two years later.  Now I am going to see her for spots and lines - I wouldn't dream of seeing anyone else.Yes, it's expensive.  Yes, it's crowded.  But it's popular for a reason and you get what you pay for.  She saved my skin, and again, how I wish I had seen her years earlier.  What a lot of heartache it would have saved!  They love skin - my skin loves Dr. Welsh! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.N.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Apr 27, 2007

after years of trying to find a good dermatologist in san francisco, i finally have. dr. welsh knows what she's doing. the first thing she asked me was if i used birth control and what type was it. i quickly learned that was causing probably 70-80 percent of my recent bad skin, ie acne. i couldn't believe it. less than a year before i saw one of the city's most well known dermatologists, he even treats the stars, and he NEVER asked me once about the pill. i always thought all birth control was good for the skin. turns out the nuva ring causes acne in many patients. dr. welsh was also quick to point out that my cute little freckles of which i have sooooo many were actually sun spots and recommended a few products for me to use to clear those up to even out my skin tone. after three weeks of a red face, they are finally working and i am happy about it. my skin is on it's way to looking better than it has in years. i asked her about a chemical peel and she gave me a firm no. i like a doctor that is going to be honest with me and not give me a procedure i don't need. and not to mention everyone in her office has great skin and is very nice and knows what they are talking about. looking forward to my next visit. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from T.A.  |  Source: Merchantcircle  |  Aug 31, 2006

Compassionate, confident, competent skin care queen! - I see Dr. Welsh for IPL (FotoFacials) and it has really made a difference in my rosacea. My skin is more even with less redness and my brown freckly spots have faded. I have recommended her to a number of curious friends, male, female and trans, One gave up because the new patient waiting list was pretty long (but for good cause!), and if you find yourself in this position, please wait; it's so worth it! She could do her job blindfolded and sleep-deprived and not miss a beat. I love this woman! Competent beyond most, Dr. Welsh is also caring, funny and not just in it for the money. ""We Love Skin"" isn't just a slogan around this exceptional cosmetic dermatologist's office! More

Patient Story
DAPI
Review from T.  |  Source: Citysearch  |  Aug 31, 2006

Compassionate, confident, competent skin care queen! – I see Dr. Welsh for IPL (FotoFacials) and it has really made a difference in my rosacea. My skin is more even with less redness and my brown freckly spots have faded. I have recommended her to a number of curious friends, male, female and trans, One gave up because the new patient waiting list was pretty long (but for good cause!), and if you find yourself in this position, please wait; it's so worth it! She could do her job blindfolded and sleep-deprived and not miss a beat. I love this woman! Competent beyond most, Dr. Welsh is also caring, funny and not just in it for the money. "We Love Skin" isn't just a slogan around this exceptional cosmetic dermatologist's office! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.V.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Aug 31, 2006

I see Dr. Welsh for IPL (FotoFacials) and it has really made a difference in my rosacea. My skin is more even with less redness and my brown freckly spots have faded. I have recommended her to a number of curious friends, male, female and trans, One gave up because the new patient waiting list was pretty long (but for good cause!), and if you find yourself in this position, please wait; it's so worth it! She could do her job blindfolded and sleep-deprived and not miss a beat. I love this woman! Competent beyond most, Dr. Welsh is also caring, funny and not just in it for the money. "We Love Skin" isn't just a slogan around this exceptional cosmetic dermatologist's office! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from T.  |  Source: Yellowpages  |  Aug 30, 2006

Compassionate, confident, competent skin care queen! - I see Dr. Welsh for IPL (FotoFacials) and it has really made a difference in my rosacea. My skin is more even with less redness and my brown freckly spots have faded. I have recommended her to a number of curious friends, male, female and trans, One gave up because the new patient waiting list was pretty long (but for good cause!), and if you find yourself in this position, please wait; it's so worth it! She could do her job blindfolded and sleep-deprived and not miss a beat. I love this woman! Competent beyond most, Dr. Welsh is also caring, funny and not just in it for the money. ""We Love Skin"" isn't just a slogan around this exceptional cosmetic dermatologist's office! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.P.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Feb 17, 2006

Excellent efficient dermatogist - she completely cleared up my skin four years ago and for that I am forever grateful (my skin looked awful and I had been to countless different doctors and spent thousands on various treatments). She is amazing and her staff is friendly and always upbeat and cheerful. More

*Individual results are not guaranteed and may vary from person to person. Images may contain models.