Patient Reviews Image

Patient Reviews

Reviews for San Francisco, CA Dermatologist Dr. Kathleen Welsh Injectables Procedures

We value all of our patients and their individual needs. At Bay Area Cosmetic Dermatology, we want you to make the most informed decision to achieve your cosmetic goals. Choosing the best procedure and physician for you is an extremely important decision, and we invite you to read about previous patients’ experiences and better understand the quality treatment you will receive from our board-certified dermatologists. Each of our medical professionals value your journey and want to ensure you feel as comfortable and confident about your decision as possible.

Filter27 Reviews  
5.0
DAPI
Review from T.Q.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Nov 25, 2021

I started seeing Dr. Welsh in my early 30’s for adult acne. She taught me proper skincare and set me up with the best products. I am checking in yearly to keep products on point with current skin changes. As I age, I need to choose to come in Every 4-6 months for botox & filler. Plus an occasional photo facial and laser hair removal treatments.  It is now 20 years later I honestly could pass for ten years younger than I am. Dr. Welch is magical, in my opinion. If you ask her a question, you are going to get an honest, educated answer. I would not trust anyone else. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from T.Y.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Nov 04, 2019

Dr Steven He is the best! I've visited this office in the past and have seen Dr Welsh and Dr Hui occasionally throughout the years but Dr He will be my go-to dermatologist. He was so nice, so knowledgeable and really took his time with me. Follow up call to check in with me after some Botox, felt very taken care of! Evaluated my skin and noticed things other doctors hadn't noticed, along with lots of tips and tricks at home to try, talked through a treatment plan and targeted product recommendations but not pushy at all. I learned a lot about my skin from the appointment with him. Fiancée said today that my face has been looking so flawless lately. Thanks Dr He!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.B.  |  Source: Yelp  |  May 07, 2019

Joining Yelp and providing a review for Bay Area Cosmetic is long overdue.  I have been a patient of Bay Area Cosmetic for more years than I can remember (think back to Laurel Village when the office was the size of a closet!!!).  Dr. Kathleen Welsh and Dr. Andrea Hui Austin are the consummate professionals when it comes to dermatology and I trust my face and my skin to no one else.   For over 15 years I saw Dr. Welsh exclusively but in recent years, and as a result of a more robust practice, I have transitioned to being a patient of Dr. Austin.  Through regular visits I am able to maintain a rejuvenated appearance with a clear complexion.  Dr. Austin has a tremendous understanding of the bone structure and muscle placement of the human face. Her skill in administering delicate injections is something to behold. The results to my skin are subtle but with noticeable improvements both in appearance and texture.  I never leave the office looking 'done', rather I leave feeling refreshed and more youthful whilst at the same time looking natural.   On many occasions after receiving injectables I have been able to attend work functions the very same day.  Minimal bruising, no down time and a natural appearance. I have read through many of the reviews for Bay Area Cosmetic, in particular, the 1 and 2 star reviewers who mention long delays in the waiting room.  Unfortunately this happens sometimes, even for long standing loyal patients like myself.  Based on my experience this is because both Dr. Welsh and Dr. Austin are focused when they are in the treatment room with each patient.  When I am in the treatment room with the doctor I have never felt rushed.  On the contrary, both doctors take time to listen and then, most importantly, take their time to administer treatments.  It is because of their highly personalized service and attention to detail with treatment protocols that sometimes they can get a bit behind on the schedule.   Over the years I have recommended many people to Bay Area Cosmetic with confidence and will continue to do so.  I trust my dermatological needs to no other practice in San Francisco. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.R.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Mar 14, 2019

I have been a patient of this practice for over 12 years.  I have seen Kathleen Welsh for over 50 visits and have always been pleased with the outcome of my medical treatment.  She is a caring lovely person.  All of my family members have also seen her for acne , mole removal, skin care and fillers.  I travel a distance to my appointments and it is worth every mile. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.S.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Feb 10, 2019

I can't believe it took me this long to write a review on Dr. Welsh and Bay Area Cosmetic Dermatology. I have been a patient of Dr. Welsh's going on 10 years and I can't imagine seeing anyone else. When I first started going, the office was a lot smaller, but all the expanding hasn't changed the service I get there. Every time I see Dr. Welsh she is so kind and thoughtful, and she has really changed my life. I have had bad cystic acne since around 19, and she openly admitted I had one of the worst cases she had seen. It was painful and heartbreaking and I thought it was hopeless. In the many years I've been going to her, we have worked together until finally finding treatment that worked well, and I am so thankful. I go a few times a year for laser treatments and fillers for residual scarring (shout out to Nurse Mary who is probably the nicest person on the planet and an absolute wizard with lasers, and she genuinely cares about all of her clients). Dr. Welsh has always been considerate of my budget (I'm a nonprofit worker, while I know most of her clients are probably closer to the 1%) and has worked with me when my skin condition needed more for less. I am lucky to have found them so long ago and can't recommend them higher! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.F.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Mar 13, 2018

The women I've met who work here are amazing! They are professional and caring and truly passionate about getting skin to the best it can be safely and carefully! If you are passionate about skin and excellence in skin care, this is a wonderful office to consider a connection. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from H.A.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Aug 08, 2017

I have been seeing Dr. Welsh (who was initially recommended to me by my primary care physician) since 2007 for fillers, and more recently, Botox, between once and twice a year. Additionally, two years ago I had an intensive peel and spots on the backs of my hands treated, and last year, a light peel. Although it seems counter-intuitive, I am now paying less per visit than I did ten years ago; I don't need as much! I also am not trying to look decades younger, only slow the external manifestations of aging. This goal is exactly what Dr. Welsh continues to achieve. The work is subtle, yet I am always met with disbelief when I tell people I am fifty-eight. (I should add that I have been using Retin-A since I was thirty, and Dr. Welsh says this makes a huge difference.)Since Dr. Hui has come on board I have seen her once for fillers, with the same excellent results. I wanted to get another intensive peel this year, which Dr. Hui administered eight days ago. The product Dr. Hui currently uses has a much quicker turn-around than the previous two-week period. The treatment is, as Dr. Hui characterized it, "spicy." But the three chili peppers level lasts only for a minute, and my face felt completely normal an hour later. I've been slathering my face with Aquafor (and sunscreen when I am outside) and the peeling has ended. I was a bit concerned as my face peeled much more rapidly than with the previous treatment, but when I saw Dr. Hui for a check-in yesterday she reassured me that this was normal for the new product. I currently have patches of redness in varying size and shade over about a third of my face that will fade over the next three to four days. The skin is beautiful, and I won't feel the need to wear make-up. I am very pleased with the results--at a much lower cost than Fraxel laser treatments.Drs. Welsh and Hui have stellar educations and credentials, yet are down-to-earth. They love their work and it shows. Over ten years I have had only warm, professional interactions with staff, and never once felt pressure to buy products. I have watched my skin and appearance improve under Dr. Welsh's thoughtful care, and am happy that the equally attentive Dr. Hui has joined her. I am looking forward to the next ten years! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from H.A.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Aug 08, 2017

I have been seeing Dr. Welsh (who was initially recommended to me by my primary care physician) since 2007 for fillers, and more recently, Botox, between once and twice a year. Additionally, two years ago I had an intensive peel and spots on the backs of my hands treated, and last year, a light peel. Although it seems counter-intuitive, I am now paying less per visit than I did ten years ago; I don't need as much! I also am not trying to look decades younger, only slow the external manifestations of aging. This goal is exactly what Dr. Welsh continues to achieve. The work is subtle, yet I am always met with disbelief when I tell people I am fifty-eight. (I should add that I have been using Retin-A since I was thirty, and Dr. Welsh says this makes a huge difference.) Since Dr. Hui has come on board I have seen her once for fillers, with the same excellent results. I wanted to get another intensive peel this year, which Dr. Hui administered eight days ago. The product Dr. Hui currently uses has a much quicker turn-around than the previous two-week period. The treatment is, as Dr. Hui characterized it, "spicy." But the three chili peppers level lasts only for a minute, and my face felt completely normal an hour later. I've been slathering my face with Aquafor (and sunscreen when I am outside) and the peeling has ended. I was a bit concerned as my face peeled much more rapidly than with the previous treatment, but when I saw Dr. Hui for a check-in yesterday she reassured me that this was normal for the new product. I currently have patches of redness in varying size and shade over about a third of my face that will fade over the next three to four days. The skin is beautiful, and I won't feel the need to wear make-up. I am very pleased with the results--at a much lower cost than Fraxel laser treatments. Drs. Welsh and Hui have stellar educations and credentials, yet are down-to-earth. They love their work and it shows. Over ten years I have had only warm, professional interactions with staff, and never once felt pressure to buy products. I have watched my skin and appearance improve under Dr. Welsh's thoughtful care, and am happy that the equally attentive Dr. Hui has joined her. I am looking forward to the next ten years! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.Z.  |  Source: Yelp  |  May 30, 2017

Submitting this review for my mom, who doesn't have a Yelp account but really wanted to review Dr. Welsh.* * I have been going to Dr. Welsh for few years now. I had been looking for a dermatologist for botox and fillers throughout the Bay Area and Europe. I was so happy to finally find Dr. Welsh! She is an amazing "artist " with the syringe -- never makes me look like I had something done. My own children, husband, and sisters never noticed that I had gotten "work done" to my face. I always get compliments on how great and young I look. Equally as important, Dr. Welsh is extremely thoughtful with how she practices. She always takes her time to listen to what I am looking for, and only suggests alternatives when they are best suited for the results I want. Never has she pushed anything on me like some other doctors have.Most importantly, I am so fortunate to have been her patient. I had been seeing other dermatologists while abroad, but when I returned to the Bay Area and visited Dr. Welsh for a botox treatment, she identified that I had an extremely early stage melanoma, so early that other physicians had not identified it or been concerned. I insisted that it was nothing, as I had had the mole for years. Dr. Welsh insisted on a biopsy - thank God !  She was incredibly caring as she gave me the news, and reassured me that everything would be okay given my early stage diagnosis. She not only referred me to the top specialists in the area for the Mohs surgery, but she continued to followed up with me throughout my treatment. Dr. Welsh is simply is one of the best, most caring doctors I have ever had. I have no words to describe how thankful I am to her. P.s. I finally told my husband that that I was getting Botox and that Dr. Welsh was the one that discovered the melanoma. While he is pretty anti-cosmetic procedures, my hubby has now given me a full OK for botox...as long as I will continue to see Dr. Welsh :-))) More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.H.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Feb 08, 2017

I am the frequent customer of Bay Area Cosmetic dermatology clinic. I was seen by Dr. Welsh's new associate a year ago for Kybella for my puffy eye bags and Fraxel Repair for my face. Tell you all my Asian friends, my eye bags haven't come back and my face is still  as smooth and as clear as baby cheeks. It seems it get smoother everyday. I used to hate to look at my reflection on the mirror, but now I really happy with the great result of Dr Andrea Hui's skillful and painless procedure on my face. It holds up for one a year now!!!!!!!!!! Another secret is I follow Dr Hui's skin care program to the last detail. No one can guess my age right!!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.R.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Sep 23, 2016

At 38 I noticed I was getting dark circles under my eyes.  After much research, I decided on  Belotero, and the offices of Dr. Kathleen M. Welsh and and Dr. Andrea Hui at Bay Area Cosmetic Dermatology.  My first appt with Dr. Hui was great.  She listened to all my concerns.  I told her I was on a budget, but still wanted to take care of my skin longterm and she said no problem, she already had a regimen in mind for me and my price range.  And we discussed Belotero.   Over the next two months I followed the skin care regimen.  I love the products!  I use a gentle cleanser and tretinoin gel from OBAGI.  No side effects from the gel and it has lasted forever - just a pea!  And I really love the Kathleen M. Welsh Restorative Bio-Therapy daily moisturizer and the Retinol Eye Repair.  My complexion started looking better immediately.  After 2 months,  I got the Belotero done.  I was a bit nervous but the staff at Bay Area Cosmetic Dermatology  is amazing and totally made me comfortable.  Dr. Hui was again lovely, so kind and very adept at what she does, I wasn't uncomfortable at all.  The results were immediate and subtle.  Aside from a couple small marks from the needle, which were gone in a day or two, I had no swelling or pain.  It was still my face, my eye area, all my natural features - nothing changed, and yet that tired look was gone.  The dark circle was gone.  It was beyond subtle, it was natural.  I've had it for over 3 months now and it looks better than ever.  It seems like the product settles out over time.  I love the results!  I feel like I've made a great choice with this practice.  Thank you Dr. Hui and Bay Area Cosmetic Dermatology! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from E.S.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jun 22, 2016

I don't know why its taken me so long to write this review given that I have been going here for years and the fact that I L-O-V-E this place! I've seen Dr. Welsh and Dr. Hui and can't say enough great things about both of them. The first time I saw Dr. Hui, I was going through a divorce and had developed a nasty, itchy horrible rash on my leg due to stress. I was feeling really awful about myself. Dr. Hui really went above and beyond, she not only cured my rash and did some Botox and filler, she was so kind and supportive of my situation. I walked out feeling so much better, so much more like my old pre-divorce self!  My botox and filler is always flawless--Dr. Hui doesn't make you look plastic--she makes you look well rested and healthy. All of the Nurses and Staff are fabulous as well--Chrissy has the best suggestions for products and I'll basically do whatever Roxanne and Robin tell me to do. Just go here! Its the best place there is! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.L.  |  Source: Yelp  |  May 03, 2016

I love Bay Area Dermatology. I go to both Dr. Welsh and Dr. Hui. I switch off because I love them both. They have similar styles of treatment in that they both want to give you your best skin possible- while giving you a natural look. I think it looks awful when someone's face is over treated. I really appreciate that they both are perfectionists and don't over do it. You can always go in for more! Recently, I went to Dr. Hui for v-beam to combat my redness as well as Botox and fillers to combat aging. It's pretty amazing that everyone comments on my skin and when I tell them I use fillers they are blown away. Everyone thinks I have naturally good skin- but I have a hard working team. For the first time in my life I feel like I can leave the house with just sun screen on. Awesome! I also have to say that the entire staff is warm and friendly. At this point they feel like friends and family which is always what you want at the doctors. They do everything to make you comfortable - I'm sure they would even hold your hand if you are scared of needles. This is a super- star team. Make an appointment and improve your skin. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.R.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Mar 06, 2016

I've been going to Dr. Welsh and Dr. Hui for a few years  now. I can't imagine going anywhere else for my skin care needs.  The staff is so friendly and helpful.  Both Dr. Welsh and Dr. Hui are perfectionists and give you the most natural beautiful results. I'm so lucky to have found them and can't recommend them enough. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.H.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Sep 12, 2015

I have been a client with Dr. Welsh for years. She is quite simply a genius and has attended some of the best universities in the country including Harvard and Stanford.Dr. Welsh is extremely skilled and has the eye of an artist when it comes to seeing what one needs to appear more attractive. I have noticed that her staff always becomes prettier and prettier the longer they have been with her, and this is because they get a lot of treatments.If you care about your face, you won't think twice about the price. Dr. Welsh is worth every penny. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.H.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jul 14, 2015

I love what Dr. Welsh and Dr. Hui have done to my skin. They helped me find confidence and happiness again. I have been doing treatments for about two years including injections, ulthera, clear and brilliant and hydra facials. Never disappointed!!! I also see Mary - she is the best with treatments and helpful advice!! Strongly recommend. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.E.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jun 24, 2015

What more can I say other than I implicitly trust my face to Dr. Welsh who is an absolute master of her profession. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.W.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Mar 13, 2015

I've been a patient of Dr. Welsh's for years now.  She is INCREDIBLE at what she does.  I simply adore her.  With a bit of apprehension I decided to see Dr. Hui in Kathleen's absence.  What needless worry.  She is as gifted, friendly and professional as Kathleen.  I am always worried filler will change my looks.  I fear the dreaded "duck lip" in particular.  For that reason, and because I HATE needles, I rarely do it.  Andrea is AMAZING!  I LOVE LOVE LOVE the result. Love it.  It's a dream for a thin lipped girl like me.  Natural, kissable pillows!!!  AND! the kicker is she figured out a trick to take literally all the discomfort out of it.  I'm am so pleased and should have know Kathleen would only work with the best. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from P.W.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Nov 05, 2013

I read all the reviews, negative and otherwise, but I have been seeing Dr. Welsh for 12  years, and if I go in the morning to avoid the wait, my experience is fabulous!She is kind, gentle, and has always been wonderful with me. She is gifted, as others have said, and I look 10 years younger than my age (54), due to her. Especially if I get enough sleep and exercise, then I can look 15 years younger! I've done the botox, filler, and now will do Pelleve. She is really amazing, and has always worked on me personally, with care and thoughtfulness. She always asks how I am doing, and really wants to know. She is just the best. I love her, and I'm sorry for others who had  bad experience, but that sounds more like the office staff, and not her, although I have had only the best experience, also, with the office staff.She is my number one top dermatologist! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.H.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Oct 06, 2012

I was flying to Beverly Hills to get my injections, until I met and heard about Dr.Welsh. The reason I spend money to fly in get a hotel room for one night in San Francisco is because she is so worth it. I have been to other derm's that just put the injections any where just to make you happy.  Dr. Welsh as an eye for  your individual face and what would look best on you. I highly recommend Dr.Welsh because she truly cares about you instead of just being another patient. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.A.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Sep 13, 2012

Let's be honest ladies - skin is tricky. Skin is finicky. Find what works for you and stick with it. For me, that's Dr. Welsh.Why she's great:Fabulous credentials.Great bedside manner.Tells it straight - yes those wrinkles are noticeable.Tries all the products and treatments on herself and staff before purchasing for the office.Is recommended by countless doctors.Look at the skin of the ladies that work in her office and try not to be cat clawingly jealous.Has a great eye for injectables.Worked wonders on my server Acne caused during pregnancy.Now let's address some of the rants of people who gave Dr. Welsh 1-StarLong Wait Times: Do you really want a doctor who runs onetime? Seriously, that means that they give you 5 minutes of time and no more. What if you have questions? What if you have a mole that looks suspicious and she wants to take a biopsy? Good doctor take as long as necessary with their patients, so I am willing to wait my turn to get my time with the best skin doctor in SF.Selling Products: Dr. Welsh sells only the best products on the market. She isn't trying to up-sell you, trust me. She makes plenty of money from her appointments. The products she sells work for MOST people. Sometimes the odd person has an atypical reaction - but thats not a reason to give Dr. Welsh 1 Star. Do you stop going to Walgreens when that new lotion gave you a rash? Nope - and I bet if you call the office and are nice they'll take it back and recommend something else. I'm sorry if you can buy things cheaper on Amazon - but isn't that the truth about everything? Dr. Welsh's office is a small business and I'm happy to give them my business, just like my local butcher and bookstore.Staff: Her staff are great. Friendly, knowledgable and very experienced. Try and see the same person each time and you can develop a nice friendship. I totally look forward to my appointments so I can happily chat with Kate. She's amazing with skin and saved me during my pregnancy. She does RIDICULOUS extractions and peels and made my skin look the best it could while I was in pregnancy acne hell.Price: You pay what you get for. She doesn't take insurance, but neither does the personal trainer or yoga studio. You want to do something good for yourself and your skink then spend the money on the top person in the city and call Dr. Welsh. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.R.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jul 29, 2012

Dr. Welsh is an excellent dermatologist, if you have a difficult issue with your skin or want a natural look that is not overdone, you should definitely see her. She is excellent with filler and botox She helped me by using filler to correct an issue caused by surgery. She listened attentively, was very supportive, spent a lot of time with me and was very conservative in her approach bc she wanted to make sure the results were perfect. Her staff are lovely, and they didn't try to sell me one thing, although, I did ask about their glowing skin and bought one product that is fabulous. I can't say enough good things about Dr. Welsh and her staff. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.D.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Sep 20, 2011

"Dr Kathy rules", my friend (who had seen her before) texted me now, after hearing how my appointment went with her today.  I am going back to Dr Welsh because of my adult cystic acne.  If you read my old review, you can see Accutane did work for me for  ..  I would say around a year, then it came back, and lately it has flare-ups that I just can't deal with anymore.  After googling everything under the sun I came upon articles about another drug, Spironolactone, that is sometimes used for women with my condition.  I have heard from 2 acquaintances that it works really well for them, and I just wanted to try it SO badly.  I had been to other dermatologists who, because I did not have an acne flare up at that moment, did not take me very seriously.  (Now i take photos of it when it's bad, just in case I need the proof.)Dr Welsh is the only doctor who has taken my skin issues seriously and been extremely helpful and kind about it.  She explains the different options and doesn't treat me like a "second class citizen" because I don't have insurance or bags of money like I imagine some of the clients going for  ..  I don't know, Botox or other more cosmetic issues go for.  (I'm always afraid that will happen in any medical practice.)  She asked me why I hadn't been there sooner and I sort of implied I thought there wasn't much i could do, she was so sweet and said that there is always something we can do.  Her staff is also very polite .. . and they have immaculate skin!  i hope to treat myself to something that will help my scars after we get a handle on my acne issue. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.K.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Oct 17, 2008

I can not tell you enough how happy i am that i went to see Dr. Welsh. As i get older the sun spots on my face started to get a little darker, which made my skin really uneven. After seeing her, she could have easily gotten a peel or something that would have been VERY expensive, but after speaking with me and looking at my skin, she gave me some skin care products that have completely fixed the problem. I was leery of the restylane injections, but now i am sold. After one week of using the products and after having the restylane, everyone said to me that i look like i am 10 years younger and i look very rested and glowing. No one has ever said that to me! I cant wait to go back i and show them the results i have had with the products, and when the restylane needs to be filled again, i will be there will bells on, my lips never looked so good, and the lines around my nose, and mouth are totally gone. She took back the clock for me 10 years! The staff was nice, and helpful, and the office was beautiful and very calming. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.L.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jul 18, 2008

I went back for my touch up and she worked her magic again. My lips look amazing and I have no bruising. I let her decide where to touch them up and she was ultra gentle. One of the staff even came in and put makeup on me to hide the redness before I left AND she didnt charge me for the touch-up!I plan to go back in 4 months and do it again, and I plan to use Dr Welsh as my doctor for all my skin care needs. I would rather pay of out pocket for her then use a doctor covered by my insurance. She is that good. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.B.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Mar 05, 2007

Dr. Welsh = God in my world. Seriously.If you want to try botox or restylane or something like that, she is your go to person. Chemical peel? No problem. She's expensive, but worth it. You can't put a price on beauty. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.P.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jul 20, 2006

When each member of Dr. Welsh's staff has perfectly flawless complexions, they become a walking advertisement and reassurance for her practice. Her consultations are friendly, honest and practical. In fact, she has no problem using her radiant-skinned assistants to demonstrate the effectiveness of one treatment or another. Restalyne, for example.Now, being that I'm not a Hollywood celebrity, I can shamelessly admit to receiving my first treatment of the wonder-wrinkle-remover. Quick, painless and instantly noticeable results. If beauty is only skin-deep, then make sure to trust your skin to Dr. Welsh. More

*Individual results are not guaranteed and may vary from person to person. Images may contain models.