Patient Reviews Image

Patient Reviews

Reviews for San Francisco, CA Dermatologist Dr. Kathleen Welsh Rosacea Treatment Procedures

We value all of our patients and their individual needs. At Bay Area Cosmetic Dermatology, we want you to make the most informed decision to achieve your cosmetic goals. Choosing the best procedure and physician for you is an extremely important decision, and we invite you to read about previous patients’ experiences and better understand the quality treatment you will receive from our board-certified dermatologists. Each of our medical professionals value your journey and want to ensure you feel as comfortable and confident about your decision as possible.

Filter7 Reviews  
5.0
DAPI
Review from R.T.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Mar 06, 2020

I strongly recommend this practice. Dr. Welsh, Dr. Austin, and Dr. He are so brilliant and help you take back control of your skin. I've been with this practice for 4+ years. In addition to the results they achieved for my skin, it's the staff and the providers who keep me coming back. I appreciate the level of professionalism and consideration BACD has for all of their clients. The doctors are so smart and truly take time to understand your problem, and recommend the right treatment to deliver the fastest possible solution. I struggled with acne my entire life; in my first consultation with Dr. Austin she recommended a daily topical (tretanoin) and specific treatments (e.g Hydrafacial and Laser to break up  redness!). Ever since then my skin improved drastically. I hardly recognize myself in the mirror today. It's truly incredible how small changes can deliver drastic results. Recently, I met their newest physician Dr. Steven He. He is LOVELY and a true dermatology prodigy! All MDs at this practice will provide you with the information you need to treat your skin. Dr. He, in particular, is always willing to answer questions and has a magical way of breaking down the science of skincare in a way that is easy to understand. He is also very friendly and cute -- LOL! Thank you Dr. Welsh, Dr. Austin and Dr. He for all of your support over the past few years. I am so fortunate to be a client at your clinic. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.M.  |  Source: Yelp  |  May 08, 2017

I can't say enough good things about Dr Welsh and Dr Huy.  I have been seeing Dr Welsh for 20 years, since high school.  She has saved my face a few times... Severe cystic acne, severe acne scarring all over my entire face, a dog attack that severely mangled my cheek... big stuff.  Over the course of my life I have experienced that feeling of shame and insecurity because my face looked so messed up that I didn't want people to look at me.  And every time, Dr Welsh put my face back together and then some.  Which essentially gives you your life back, because you can face the world with confidence and really show up and be present in conversations, instead of tripping out over how how destroyed your face looks.Those are the extreme cases that Dr Welsh has helped me through.  Always, she is compassionate, straight up, and comes up with a game plan and a timeline, and doesn't want to stop until whatever the issue is perfectly resolved.  Pretty much everything you want when you put your face in someone's hands.Now I am in my late 30s so there are a new bag of things that that can be improved upon that pop up: wrinkles, face and lips losing its fullness, and discoloration (hyperpigmentation).  And again, I don't trust anyone to mess with my face, EVER, unless its Dr Welsh or Dr Huy.  Dr Welsh is a master at filler because she basically refuses to make you look unnatural.  She will make you look refreshed and well-slept, but even if I beg for slightly fuller lips she looks at me and says, "No."  That's what you want.  Someone who says no.  Dr Huy is amazing.  At first I felt like I was cheating on Dr Welsh by seeing her as well but she is awesome and just as skilled.  I highly recommend you try her, because they have similar approaches and equal skill set.  I am so glad I gave her a chance because she is fantastic and she dealt with this discoloration and redness/rosacea problem that started a year ago.  Again, she was sweet and supportive, gave me a game plan and a timeline.  exactly what you want when you are stressing over something on your face.  I love Dr Huy.Everyone who knows me knows that I call Bay Area Cosmetic Dermatology "my happy place".  Such caring, such professionalism and and attention to detail, such a personalized care regimen that makes you feel like you are in the right hands and you can relax and there is light at the end of the tunnel.  I am a die-hard supporter. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from B.S.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Oct 06, 2016

Dr. Hui completely transformed my skin and I cannot recommend her more highly! I have had rosacea for more than 20 years. In that time I have seen countless dermatologists (including some of the "best" in NYC and SF) and experimented with dozens of skincare products and prescriptions. The results have always been minimal and often made my face even redder and more irritated. This led to a general skepticism of dermatologists and feeling that the rosacea was just something I would have to live with. I decided to try V-Beam treatment, which led me to Bay Area Cosmetic Dermatology (again, skeptical about the potential outcome). In addition to the laser treatment, Dr. Hui recommended a regimen that included over-the-counter and Rx creams, face wash, supplements, and sunscreen. Dr. Hui and Dr. Welsh compound their own unique prescription rosacea cream, which is far superior to anything I have tried from pharma companies (my skin absolutely loves it!). After just one V-Beam treatment and following the regime for only a few weeks my skin dramatically improved. After 2 months the rosacea is almost completely gone and my skin looks healthy and youthful. I am absolutely amazed by the outcome.In addition to being a highly skilled dermatologist, Dr. Hui and her staff are warm and friendly and always take the time to listen to any questions or concerns I may have. I am so grateful to have found Dr. Hui and her team! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.A.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Sep 26, 2015

Dr. Welsh is an exceptional dermatologist.  She will go the extra mile and think out of the box to help with stubborn and complicated skin problems.  Apparently she does a lot of beauty treatments but don't let this fool you.  She is exceptionally well-trained.  She is a board certified internist as well as a dermatologist.  I have several skin conditions and they complicate each other.  I saw other dermatologists  at Stanford and other Bay Area locations who over at least a one year period (more like 2 years) did not help me get my condition under control at all.  I was suffering to the point of wondering if life was worthwhile. I did see Dr. Anhalt in Los Altos and he did figure things out and try some off label treatments which got me halfway under control.  Dr. Welsh knowing I had been struggling with this condition for a few years and the quality of my life was so low was not afraid to prescribe Accutane which basically gave me my life back.  Don't get me wrong she of course knows there is risk associated with this drug like all drugs. We did try a few other things including doing laser first before using the Accutane at a lower dose than usual. My problems were not small and the decision was not light and I have never looked back.  I did laser with her in San Francisco because she had the particular equipment I heard would work best for my particular condition.  Kathleen Welsh MD  uses V Beam for rosacea!  I had been wanting to try Accutane and laser both for rosacea and it was pretty much a miracle so I would recommend it for rosacea.I have had laser hair removal in her office as well.  Yvonne is extremely professional and caring and I would highly recommend her as well. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from T.T.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Sep 10, 2013

I started coming here last April to get v-beam on my face for rosacea and redness. I was looking for a place that could do it in the south bay but could not find any places that could do it or that I would want to go to. When I called to make an appointment the girl at the front desk was very helpful and explained to me what it was and pricing. She said she had done it as well. She told me exactly where to park and where the office was... very helpful if you are not from the city. When I came in to my first appointment Dr Welsh came into the room took a look at my face and gave me some recommendations and said the v-beam was an excellent  option for me. Yvonne was the nurse who performed the laser on me and she is great and  explains everything and answers all my questions. I could not be happier with my results and will keep going to her office and Yvonne  even though its in the city and I am in the south bay. I finally found something that works after spending tons of money on things that  have not worked and will always trust their opinion. Reading reviews people have  complained that her office has long wait times and a crowded waiting room but i have never dealt with anything than the average wait time when you go to a doctor, dentist, etc.. I would be more concerned if there wasnt anyone there. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from V.P.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Nov 24, 2011

I have been to Dr. Welsh approximately five times for rosacea treatments (V Beam laser) and a few precancerous spots on my face and decolletage over the past couple of years.  She did a great job and I found her to be very knowledgable and professional.  She does schedule patients in tightly, one does have to wait (it's usually about a half hour), and she doesn't take insurance (though they'll mail the form in for you), however, she is an excellent dermatologist so it's worth it to me.  On occasion, she has done a little extra for me and not charged me.I've been to several high-end dermatologists in Beverly Hills over the years including the Head of Dermatology at UCLA (before I moved to the Bay Area) and find Dr. Welsh to be an excellent dermatologist, friendly with no "attitude."  I am not a wealthy person (far from it), however, when it comes to my skin, I like the best.Though Dr. Welsh has informed me of the various treatments she has available for aging skin (I'm middle aged), she only did so because I asked and she hasn't "pushed" any treatments or products on me.  The products are expensive but they work great  (so my friend says) - just not in my budget at this point.I found her staff to be very friendly and efficient.  Someone commented that all her staff look "done," and I suppose one could take that viewpoint but they also have virtually flawless skin.  That's their choice but the Doctor doesn't push this "look" on her patients, however, if you want flawless skin, Dr. Welsh knows how to achieve it. Finally, because it's a bit of a drive for me and I have health challenges, Dr. Welsh even gave me a recommendation for a doctor close to me to take care of a precancerous spot on my chest - so I would say that Dr. Welsh puts her patients care in the forefront.  Her services are expensive, however, I would prefer to have a doctor who really knows what they are doing then have mistakes made that one has to spend even more money correcting, and I particularly do not want mistakes made on my face.  BTW, I am not affiliated with Dr. Welsh in any way, merely a happy patient - in fact, I went to her based on her Yelp reviews. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.V.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Aug 31, 2006

I see Dr. Welsh for IPL (FotoFacials) and it has really made a difference in my rosacea. My skin is more even with less redness and my brown freckly spots have faded. I have recommended her to a number of curious friends, male, female and trans, One gave up because the new patient waiting list was pretty long (but for good cause!), and if you find yourself in this position, please wait; it's so worth it! She could do her job blindfolded and sleep-deprived and not miss a beat. I love this woman! Competent beyond most, Dr. Welsh is also caring, funny and not just in it for the money. "We Love Skin" isn't just a slogan around this exceptional cosmetic dermatologist's office! More

*Individual results are not guaranteed and may vary from person to person. Images may contain models.