Patient Reviews Image

Patient Reviews

Reviews for San Francisco, CA Dermatologist Dr. Kathleen Welsh Cosmetic Dermatology Procedures

We value all of our patients and their individual needs. At Bay Area Cosmetic Dermatology, we want you to make the most informed decision to achieve your cosmetic goals. Choosing the best procedure and physician for you is an extremely important decision, and we invite you to read about previous patients’ experiences and better understand the quality treatment you will receive from our board-certified dermatologists. Each of our medical professionals value your journey and want to ensure you feel as comfortable and confident about your decision as possible.

Filter17 Reviews  
5.0
DAPI
Review from S.D.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Mar 08, 2020

I have been a patient of Kathleen Welsh for a few years now and I will continue to go back to her for years to come. Dr. Welsh helped me clear my severe hormonal acne through both topical medications and oral medications. I have also received laser treatments to clear the scarring and redness caused by my acne. Fr. Welsh is the most understanding, kind, and smart doctor I have seen and I highly recommend her to anyone in anyone in need of dermatology services. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.W.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Mar 17, 2019

I've been a patient of Dr. Welsh for 20 years. I'm a man in my 70's, and until age 50 had never given a thought to skin care beyond a moisturizer. I've a northern European complexion aging on the California coast. I was originally referred to her by my cosmetic surgeon for laser treatments to augment the healing of scars and hair removal. Dr. Welsh achieved quick results and offered sound advice on skin maintenance which has reversed a lifetime of neglect.  I noticed the improvement immediately.  Her care has been exacting, artful and extraordinary, and my skin - young for my years -  attests to her skill. She has frequently advised against procedures I thought  "maybe should try?" I have reaped  benefits, mainly from fillers Dr. Welsh recommended, including lip enhancement. Most important: Nothing about my appearance has ever looked "altered." My most recent treatment - Hydrafacial - produced amazing immediate results. Her staff is professional and warmhearted.  I'm a big fan! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.S.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Feb 10, 2019

I can't believe it took me this long to write a review on Dr. Welsh and Bay Area Cosmetic Dermatology. I have been a patient of Dr. Welsh's going on 10 years and I can't imagine seeing anyone else. When I first started going, the office was a lot smaller, but all the expanding hasn't changed the service I get there. Every time I see Dr. Welsh she is so kind and thoughtful, and she has really changed my life. I have had bad cystic acne since around 19, and she openly admitted I had one of the worst cases she had seen. It was painful and heartbreaking and I thought it was hopeless. In the many years I've been going to her, we have worked together until finally finding treatment that worked well, and I am so thankful. I go a few times a year for laser treatments and fillers for residual scarring (shout out to Nurse Mary who is probably the nicest person on the planet and an absolute wizard with lasers, and she genuinely cares about all of her clients). Dr. Welsh has always been considerate of my budget (I'm a nonprofit worker, while I know most of her clients are probably closer to the 1%) and has worked with me when my skin condition needed more for less. I am lucky to have found them so long ago and can't recommend them higher! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from H.A.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Aug 08, 2017

I have been seeing Dr. Welsh (who was initially recommended to me by my primary care physician) since 2007 for fillers, and more recently, Botox, between once and twice a year. Additionally, two years ago I had an intensive peel and spots on the backs of my hands treated, and last year, a light peel. Although it seems counter-intuitive, I am now paying less per visit than I did ten years ago; I don't need as much! I also am not trying to look decades younger, only slow the external manifestations of aging. This goal is exactly what Dr. Welsh continues to achieve. The work is subtle, yet I am always met with disbelief when I tell people I am fifty-eight. (I should add that I have been using Retin-A since I was thirty, and Dr. Welsh says this makes a huge difference.)Since Dr. Hui has come on board I have seen her once for fillers, with the same excellent results. I wanted to get another intensive peel this year, which Dr. Hui administered eight days ago. The product Dr. Hui currently uses has a much quicker turn-around than the previous two-week period. The treatment is, as Dr. Hui characterized it, "spicy." But the three chili peppers level lasts only for a minute, and my face felt completely normal an hour later. I've been slathering my face with Aquafor (and sunscreen when I am outside) and the peeling has ended. I was a bit concerned as my face peeled much more rapidly than with the previous treatment, but when I saw Dr. Hui for a check-in yesterday she reassured me that this was normal for the new product. I currently have patches of redness in varying size and shade over about a third of my face that will fade over the next three to four days. The skin is beautiful, and I won't feel the need to wear make-up. I am very pleased with the results--at a much lower cost than Fraxel laser treatments.Drs. Welsh and Hui have stellar educations and credentials, yet are down-to-earth. They love their work and it shows. Over ten years I have had only warm, professional interactions with staff, and never once felt pressure to buy products. I have watched my skin and appearance improve under Dr. Welsh's thoughtful care, and am happy that the equally attentive Dr. Hui has joined her. I am looking forward to the next ten years! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from H.A.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Aug 08, 2017

I have been seeing Dr. Welsh (who was initially recommended to me by my primary care physician) since 2007 for fillers, and more recently, Botox, between once and twice a year. Additionally, two years ago I had an intensive peel and spots on the backs of my hands treated, and last year, a light peel. Although it seems counter-intuitive, I am now paying less per visit than I did ten years ago; I don't need as much! I also am not trying to look decades younger, only slow the external manifestations of aging. This goal is exactly what Dr. Welsh continues to achieve. The work is subtle, yet I am always met with disbelief when I tell people I am fifty-eight. (I should add that I have been using Retin-A since I was thirty, and Dr. Welsh says this makes a huge difference.) Since Dr. Hui has come on board I have seen her once for fillers, with the same excellent results. I wanted to get another intensive peel this year, which Dr. Hui administered eight days ago. The product Dr. Hui currently uses has a much quicker turn-around than the previous two-week period. The treatment is, as Dr. Hui characterized it, "spicy." But the three chili peppers level lasts only for a minute, and my face felt completely normal an hour later. I've been slathering my face with Aquafor (and sunscreen when I am outside) and the peeling has ended. I was a bit concerned as my face peeled much more rapidly than with the previous treatment, but when I saw Dr. Hui for a check-in yesterday she reassured me that this was normal for the new product. I currently have patches of redness in varying size and shade over about a third of my face that will fade over the next three to four days. The skin is beautiful, and I won't feel the need to wear make-up. I am very pleased with the results--at a much lower cost than Fraxel laser treatments. Drs. Welsh and Hui have stellar educations and credentials, yet are down-to-earth. They love their work and it shows. Over ten years I have had only warm, professional interactions with staff, and never once felt pressure to buy products. I have watched my skin and appearance improve under Dr. Welsh's thoughtful care, and am happy that the equally attentive Dr. Hui has joined her. I am looking forward to the next ten years! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.H.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Feb 08, 2017

I am the frequent customer of Bay Area Cosmetic dermatology clinic. I was seen by Dr. Welsh's new associate a year ago for Kybella for my puffy eye bags and Fraxel Repair for my face. Tell you all my Asian friends, my eye bags haven't come back and my face is still  as smooth and as clear as baby cheeks. It seems it get smoother everyday. I used to hate to look at my reflection on the mirror, but now I really happy with the great result of Dr Andrea Hui's skillful and painless procedure on my face. It holds up for one a year now!!!!!!!!!! Another secret is I follow Dr Hui's skin care program to the last detail. No one can guess my age right!!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from I.C.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Dec 17, 2016

Before I started seeing Dr. Hui and Dr. Welsh, I had very oily skin, frequent breakouts and a fair amount of redness and blemishes. I wore cover-up often and carried oil-absorbing sheets with me everywhere. Although I didn't have "severe acne," I was not satisfied with the appearance of my skin, and wished that I didn't need to manage it so much. At Bay Area Cosmetic Dermatology, I have had laser and resurfacing treatments with Dr. Hui, Mary, Claire and Mabel (who are amazing to work with!) and have seen pretty dramatic results in evening my skin complexion and texture, and getting rid of red blemishes. I was initially hesitant to invest in the skin care routine they recommended, as I hadn't had much success with products in the past, but I can honestly say that my skin has never been better. I actually have no problems with oil anymore, and maybe one pimple every few months, which is pretty amazing for me! What sets Bay Area Cosmetic Dermatology apart from other practices I have been to is that they have a tremendous variety of treatments and products available at the office, and the staff is extremely knowledgeable in determining what the specific needs of my skin are and which treatments and products will provide the best results. I genuinely feel that my treatments are customized to me, and not just generic recommendations like I have received in the past. Before I met Dr. Hui and Dr. Welsh, I didn't know that it was possible to change my skin, and not just consistently manage it. It is a relief to have doctors whose recommendations I can trust. I am so grateful to have found this incredible practice, and to finally have skin that I feel confident with! I recommend this practice to anyone! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.G.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jul 06, 2016

There is no need to go anyplace else or see any other dermotologists.  Dr. Welsh knows what you need before you even ask for a particular treatment.  In many cases, her suggestions are not what you might intend, but better and more effective.  She is truly at the top of her field in cosmetic dermatology.  Dr. Hui is the best at treating and rectifying problem skin and preventative maintenance.  I will no longer see any other doctor for my skin concerns.  Their entire staff is deeply knowledgable in all areas of every treatment they offer.  I can't say enough about this practice.Treatments I have had: Coolsculpting, IPL, Accutane, Ulthera, V-beam, tattoo removal More

5.0
DAPI
Review from P.C.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Feb 04, 2016

After much deliberation, i underwent the Fraxel Repair CO2 with Dr Hui, the staff and the procedure were as good as it gets and the results amazing!Dr Welsh's office and facility are state of the art and Dr Welsh is bar none the best in the business. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.A.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Sep 26, 2015

Dr. Welsh is an exceptional dermatologist.  She will go the extra mile and think out of the box to help with stubborn and complicated skin problems.  Apparently she does a lot of beauty treatments but don't let this fool you.  She is exceptionally well-trained.  She is a board certified internist as well as a dermatologist.  I have several skin conditions and they complicate each other.  I saw other dermatologists  at Stanford and other Bay Area locations who over at least a one year period (more like 2 years) did not help me get my condition under control at all.  I was suffering to the point of wondering if life was worthwhile. I did see Dr. Anhalt in Los Altos and he did figure things out and try some off label treatments which got me halfway under control.  Dr. Welsh knowing I had been struggling with this condition for a few years and the quality of my life was so low was not afraid to prescribe Accutane which basically gave me my life back.  Don't get me wrong she of course knows there is risk associated with this drug like all drugs. We did try a few other things including doing laser first before using the Accutane at a lower dose than usual. My problems were not small and the decision was not light and I have never looked back.  I did laser with her in San Francisco because she had the particular equipment I heard would work best for my particular condition.  Kathleen Welsh MD  uses V Beam for rosacea!  I had been wanting to try Accutane and laser both for rosacea and it was pretty much a miracle so I would recommend it for rosacea.I have had laser hair removal in her office as well.  Yvonne is extremely professional and caring and I would highly recommend her as well. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.H.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jul 14, 2015

I love what Dr. Welsh and Dr. Hui have done to my skin. They helped me find confidence and happiness again. I have been doing treatments for about two years including injections, ulthera, clear and brilliant and hydra facials. Never disappointed!!! I also see Mary - she is the best with treatments and helpful advice!! Strongly recommend. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.E.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jan 31, 2015

I have been going to Dr welsh for years and love her practice. This week I was saw Dr. Hui and also had a photo facial with Mary.  The treatment I received was amazing. Both were incredibly kind, professional, and amazing at their jobs. I couldn't recommend them more! They also really took their time. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from E.S.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Feb 10, 2012

This is my first review ever written but the staff at Dr Welsh's was so wonderful that I had to write. I had a Blue Peel and Laser CO2 done around my mouth and was very nervous going into this as I had never really done anything much previously. I had been to the office only twice before but my friends had told me how great they all are. Dr Welsh and the nurses who performed the procedures were incredibly caring, professional, thoughtful and concerned about my wellbeing the entire time. This last week has been a challenge healing and not once during my many visits and follow up phone calls have they made me feel anything less than a valued and important patient. I hope the results of these procedures are as good as the experience I had with this office. I will certainly go to them for any further cosmetic work i have done. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.L.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Apr 02, 2011

I have gone to Dr. Welsh for years for skin checks, and have been grateful for her thoroughness. I've had a couple of spots removed and certainly felt that there was professionalism and attentiveness, and I am glad I didn't have anything develop into a problem that was harder to cure. I've also had IPL done by both Katie and Jane. Again, very professional, but also friendly. I was impressed by the amount of information I was given to insure that I knew the risks of what I was doing, as well as what my skin reactions would be and after-care.  I've been VERY pleased with the results. I love this office. I have found all of the people there to be extremely friendly and attentive- I'm not sure why all the negative comments about the staff. I've been going for over 5 years. Maybe you should forget emailing and just lift up the phone, that doesn't seem to be a good method of communication with them. Years of experience with this group makes me want to recommend them to anyone. I just went there yesterday, and was reminded of how much I like them. Added bonus- fairly inexpensive parking lot on the Geary side of the building. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.S.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Aug 28, 2009

dr welsh is wonderful! i got laser hair removal done from here and never had to wait. after my experience with american laser cener, i would spend more at  dr welsh for the service i get there is amazing. people at acl were rude and very disrespectful (once they had my business and the 3K in their account) More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.V.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Aug 31, 2006

I see Dr. Welsh for IPL (FotoFacials) and it has really made a difference in my rosacea. My skin is more even with less redness and my brown freckly spots have faded. I have recommended her to a number of curious friends, male, female and trans, One gave up because the new patient waiting list was pretty long (but for good cause!), and if you find yourself in this position, please wait; it's so worth it! She could do her job blindfolded and sleep-deprived and not miss a beat. I love this woman! Competent beyond most, Dr. Welsh is also caring, funny and not just in it for the money. "We Love Skin" isn't just a slogan around this exceptional cosmetic dermatologist's office! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from B.K.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jun 06, 2006

Dr. Welsh is absolutely great. I was so nervous about my tattoo removal, but she totally calmed my fears, and also provided me with anesthetic to ease the pain. I've had 4 visits with her so far, and I have been more and more impressed on each visit.I would highly recommend her to anyone in need of a cosmetic or just a regular old dermatologist." More

*Individual results are not guaranteed and may vary from person to person. Images may contain models.