Header Logo
Patient Reviews Image

Patient Reviews

Reviews for Acne and Cyst Treatment* Procedures Near San Francisco, CA

We value all of our patients and their individual needs. At Bay Area Cosmetic Dermatology, we want you to make the most informed decision to achieve your cosmetic goals. Choosing the best procedure and physician for you is an extremely important decision, and we invite you to read about previous patients’ experiences and better understand the quality treatment you will receive from our board-certified dermatologists. Each of our medical professionals value your journey and want to ensure you feel as comfortable and confident about your decision as possible.

Filter55 Reviews  
5.0
DAPI
Review from A.A.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Aug 25, 2018

I have struggled with severe acne for my whole life and have spent thousands of dollars on proactive, x-out, bioré, natural solutions like witch hazel, tea tree oil, etc. None of these products worked for me and some of them made my skin severely dry, red, or caused my hyper-pigmentation to be more noticeable. I was losing hope that I would ever have clear skin until I came across TCA peels (trichloroacetic acid) on youtube, I saw that there was a lot of positive reviews as well as horror stories , but I felt like I was out of options so I decided to set up a consultation at Bay Area Cosmetic Dermatology, I didn't feel like my skin could get any worse so even if the skin peel didn't work, I felt that It was still worth the risk. When I first arrived, it was a 250 dollar fee for new patients and they looked at my skin and offered several products for a skin care regiment and they told me that my skin issues were caused because my body produced a little more testosterone then a normal woman. They prescribe me spironolactone to help prevent further extreme break outs and tranexamic acid to help with my hyper-pigmentation, after one month I noticed a severe decline in break outs. Before I was on these medications I was getting 5 - 10 new pimples every week plus back acne, after being on these medications it was like 1 or 2 every month. After getting my acne settled, we then started to work on my hyper pigmentation, I had expressed that I wanted a TCA peel but Dr.Austin told me that with my skin tone a TCA peel would be too extreme and might remove the melanin from my skin. I didn't want to ruin my skin tone but I also didn't want the dark spots, Dr.Austin then recommended that I get a less deep peel and we decided to go with either a lactic acid peel or a glycolic acid peel. When I received my first peel I noticed dramatic changes. I still had a lot hyper pigmentation but it was very different from before. I am now 7 peels in and I am very happy with my results! I wish I would have come here sooner, it would have saved me thousands in skin care products that didn't work for me. Each peel I received was 250$, and worth every penny. The pictures below show my current skin condition and what it looked like after my first 3 peels (sorry I only started taking pictures after the first 3!), I will also post what it looks like when its peeling, will update with more photos after this current peel is completely done. These pictures were taken 3 months apart each other. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.H.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Aug 22, 2018

Did a cortisone shot for $50 and squeezed me in next day. Other places in town were quoting me $200 plus! Glad I found this place More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.K.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jun 07, 2018

From the moment I called explaining my urgency for an appointment to when I walked out of the doctor's office that same day, I was so incredibly pleased with the entire process. I called this morning a few minutes after they opened mentioning that a rather large cyst-like pimple popped up over night and that my sister's wedding was this weekend and I was desperate to get rid of it. The front desk staff (forgot her name, but the same gal who checked me out at the end) was so nice and accommodating and found a window where they could squeeze me in real quick and administer a cortisone shot THE SAME DAY. I had nurse Mary Krempa who was awesome, knowledgeable, cheerful and genuinely seemed like she wanted the entire process to go well so I would have nothing to worry about on my sister's wedding day. She administered the shot (took two seconds) and while she was describing the process afterwards, I asked her a quick question regarding the redness of the spot. She said that usually they would charge for this, but since I was a new patient and in quite the predicament, she would apply a quick laser to help reduce the redness and inflammation (also took two seconds). She then offered to have the makeup artist at the office help cover up the spot since I was heading straight back to work. Everyone was so nice and accommodating I almost couldn't believe it. I'm a huge fan of customer service and these ladies nailed it! I will definitely be back for more services in the future - More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.R.  |  Source: Yelp  |  May 10, 2018

I started seeing Dr. Hui (now Austin) in August 2017. I was suffering from really bad acne that started suddenly and in my late 20s. She had me on a very easy regimen that I strictly followed. The acne definitely becomes worse before getting better. I broke out for 3 months, then it stopped suddenly. It takes a lot of patience but I'm so glad I followed through the whole routine because the quality of my face is the best it's ever been my whole life. People are constantly commenting on how great my skin looks. I highly recommend Bay Area Cosmetics! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.D.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Apr 16, 2018

I have been suffering acne for many years. I have visited many dermatologists and tried all types of treatments without having any positive results. Dr. Hui has completely changed my skin. In a few months my acne has dissapeared and the redness caused by it as well! I could have never imagined better results. She is a great professional. After losing all hope that anything would ever work, now I am confident again about my skin. This is the best office you could ever go to. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from B.M.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Feb 15, 2018

OUTSTANDING!  My teenage son had severe cystic acne and I was urgently trying to find a solution.  As a mom, I was a wreck and wanted to help my son get better fast.  Garrett and her team were the BEST.  They were there for us, gave us a ton of information, set us on the right path and we are so grateful for their support and guidance.  It took a month or two for my son to look up at school as he wasn't as shy anymore.  This team was aggressive and supportive, always there for us with a comforting smile.  They know what they're doing when it comes to cystic acne.  They really do team up with you and give you the best path to take.  I would HIGHLY recommend them. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from N.D.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jan 30, 2018

I suffer from acne scarring quite significantly on my cheeks. When I went for my consultation, Dr Hui suggested subcision with micropen treatments & said I'd need 4-6. I was incredibly nervous for the first subcision treatment & Dr. Hui made me feel so comfortable and walked me through the process very slowly. Mary who does my micropen also did this, talking to me the entire time and making sure I was okay. I'm now on my 3rd treatment & can honestly say I am seeing an INCREDIBLE difference in the acne scarring. Dr. Hui also prescribed me tretinoin to use topically in between my treatments. I would say by this point I've tried everything on my skin and this is the one thing that has really, really helped me and I would truly recommend it to anyone with the same issues. My acne is gone and my scarring is subsiding significantly. The nurses are so kind and seem to genuinely care for you. The bruising and swelling after the procedure is pretty bad, you'll have marks for around 5-7 days, but after that you'll LOVE the glow your skin has. I'm also using Vitamin C serum as well as tretinoin & WOW, just so happy with my skin. Thank you so much Dr. Hui. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from E.L.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Oct 11, 2017

For more than a decade, I've been suffering severe acne and its scarring. I tried multiple over-the-counter medication and department-store skincare, but none of them are working. Finally, end of 2016, I decided to ask for professional help. I carefully searched ALL dermatologists across Bay Area. I've read customer reviews and looked for recommendations. Finally, I decided to choose Dr. Hui, based on positive reviews, current skin-technology, and personalized treatments-tailored to patients' skin. If I have to summarize it in a sentence: I am VERY GLAD choosing Dr. Hui and her staff. 9 months after seeing her, my skin is clearer, brighter and smoother. I usually shy away from group pictures or wefie (I am barely do selfie), but lately I am happy with my friends' wefie pictures- my skin looks much better. My friends start complementing my skin, and of course my confidence is up. If I can leave few tips, here they are: 1) Skincare takes time. Wrt to skin, it is not instant. It is like going to gym or diet, it takes time to gain muscle/lose weight. Of course, we can go to extreme gym activities or diet, the result might be instant, but the full circle might come sooner too.  2). Be honest and bring your expectation with dermatologist (in this case, Dr. Hui). She will work with you and for you. That includes fees, timeline, expected/unexpected results, upcoming work/personal trips, etc.  3). Be patience & follow Dr Hui's instructions and suggestions. If I haven't follow them, and fast-forward it to the following 3 months treatment, most likely my skin would not great and get worse. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from E.L.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Oct 11, 2017

For more than a decade, I've been suffering severe acne and its scarring. I tried multiple over-the-counter medication and department-store skincare, but none of them are working. End of 2016, I decided to ask for professional help. I carefully searched & compared ALL DERMATOLOGISTS IN THE BAY AREA, read all the reviews and looked for recommendations. Finally, I decided to choose Dr. Hui, based on majority positive reviews, current skin-technology, and personalized treatments-tailored to patients' skin. Oh boy, months later... If I have to summarize it in a sentence: I am VERY GLAD choosing Dr. Hui and her staff. 9 months after seeing her, my skin is clearer, brighter and smoother. I usually shy away from group pictures or wefie (I am barely do selfie), but lately I am happy with my friends' wefie pictures- my skin looks much better. My friends start complementing my skin, and of course my confidence is up. If I can leave few tips, here they are: 1) Skincare takes time. Wrt to skin, it is not instant. It is like going to gym or diet, it takes time to gain muscle/lose weight.  2). Be honest and bring your expectation with dermatologist (in this case, Dr. Hui). She will work with you and for you. That includes fees, timeline, expected/unexpected results, upcoming work/personal trips, etc.  3). Don't skip! Be patience & follow Dr Hui's instructions and suggestions. If I haven't follow them (e.g., V-beams), and fast-forward it to the following 4 months treatment (e.g., fraxel), most likely my skin would not be ready, and might get worse. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from E.L.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Oct 11, 2017

For more than a decade, I've been suffering severe acne and its scarring. I tried multiple over-the-counter medication and department-store skincare, but none of them are working. End of 2016, I decided to ask for professional help. I carefully searched & compared ALL DERMATOLOGISTS IN THE BAY AREA, read all the reviews and looked for recommendations. Finally, I decided to choose Dr. Hui, based on majority positive reviews, current skin-technology, and personalized treatments-tailored to patients' skin. Oh boy, months later... If I have to summarize it in a sentence: I am VERY GLAD choosing Dr. Hui and her staff. 9 months after seeing her, my skin is clearer, brighter and smoother. I usually shy away from group pictures or wefie (I am barely do selfie), but lately I am happy with my friends' wefie pictures- my skin looks much better. My friends start complementing my skin, and of course my confidence is up. If I can leave few tips, here they are: 1) Skincare takes time. Wrt to skin, it is not instant. It is like going to gym or diet, it takes time to gain muscle/lose weight.   2). Be honest and bring your expectation with dermatologist (in this case, Dr. Hui). She will work with you and for you. That includes fees, timeline, expected/unexpected results, upcoming work/personal trips, etc.   3). Don't skip! Be patience & follow Dr Hui's instructions and suggestions. If I haven't follow them (e.g., V-beams), and fast-forward it to the following 4 months treatment (e.g., fraxel), most likely my skin would not be ready, and might get worse. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from G.F.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Sep 04, 2017

I've been going here for 10 years.  At age 29 I developed acne and tried everything to clear it up although I could never talk myself into Accutane.  (Eventually I discovered acne.org - it's like Proactive but lower dosage of active ingredient so my skin tolerates it better.  I use it daily and it really does keep me clear MOST of the time.). I get regular photo facials Bay Area Cosmetic Dermatology to clear up red spots that breakouts leave behind as well as brown pigmentation / sun damage.  I get compliments all the time that I don't look my age, and' "You have such beautiful skin."  Each time I respond with "I have a great dermatologist."  I have two other close friends who've been coming here for 10+ yrs and I'm telling you, they look 10 yrs younger than they are. I have been VERY satisfied with every procedure I've had here.  Worth every penny for the results and excellent care.  My regular nurse Mary Krempa is a dream to work with, as are all the nurse practitioners I've seen so far.  This frequent flier can't say enough good things about Bay Area Cosmetic Dermatology. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.L.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Aug 20, 2017

Bay Area Cosmetic Dermatology is beyond my expectations. Dr. Hoi and Dr. Welch provide excellent care. I've suffered from acne for most of my life. Dr.Hoi provided excellent care and Mary works magic with her micropen. I'm so happy I discovered Bay Area Cosmetic. My skin looks so much better, I can't believe it. I am able to feel confident and engage in eye contact. I used to be ashamed and now my skin looks almost perfect. It's unbelievable. A million thanks to Dr.Hoi and Mary. Excellent staff, excellent care. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.A.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jul 21, 2017

After years of struggling with acne that presented after my teens and seeing countless dermatologists both in the Bay Area and New York City I had almost given up and accepted I would have acne for the rest of my life. I decided I would try out one last dermatologist, Dr. Hui, before accepting my skin for what it was. By far the best decision I've made! Instead of just writing a prescription and telling me to return in a month, Dr. Hui, took the time to explain on a scientific level what was going on with my skin and addressed specific concerns of mine that no other physician had answered. She is always happy to answer my list of questions! It has only been three months since my first appointment and my skin has never looked so healthy! Thank you Dr. Hui from the bottom of my heart! I can't wait to see what my skin looks like in another three months! Oh, and if you happen to be on the med school path be careful because you might want to change your specialty to derm! = ) More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  May 23, 2017

Eternally grateful to have found Dr. Hui - I have battled back acne for over 30 years and over that time have seen different dermatologists, have been prescribed oral antibiotics such as erythromycin and doxycycline,  have had 3 rounds of Accutane in the late '90's, early 2000's, and tried different prescription creams. Despite all of these efforts, acne and scarring have continued to persist. So after receiving a product sample at ... More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.M.  |  Source: Yelp  |  May 08, 2017

I can't say enough good things about Dr Welsh and Dr Huy.  I have been seeing Dr Welsh for 20 years, since high school.  She has saved my face a few times... Severe cystic acne, severe acne scarring all over my entire face, a dog attack that severely mangled my cheek... big stuff.  Over the course of my life I have experienced that feeling of shame and insecurity because my face looked so messed up that I didn't want people to look at me.  And every time, Dr Welsh put my face back together and then some.  Which essentially gives you your life back, because you can face the world with confidence and really show up and be present in conversations, instead of tripping out over how how destroyed your face looks.Those are the extreme cases that Dr Welsh has helped me through.  Always, she is compassionate, straight up, and comes up with a game plan and a timeline, and doesn't want to stop until whatever the issue is perfectly resolved.  Pretty much everything you want when you put your face in someone's hands.Now I am in my late 30s so there are a new bag of things that that can be improved upon that pop up: wrinkles, face and lips losing its fullness, and discoloration (hyperpigmentation).  And again, I don't trust anyone to mess with my face, EVER, unless its Dr Welsh or Dr Huy.  Dr Welsh is a master at filler because she basically refuses to make you look unnatural.  She will make you look refreshed and well-slept, but even if I beg for slightly fuller lips she looks at me and says, "No."  That's what you want.  Someone who says no.  Dr Huy is amazing.  At first I felt like I was cheating on Dr Welsh by seeing her as well but she is awesome and just as skilled.  I highly recommend you try her, because they have similar approaches and equal skill set.  I am so glad I gave her a chance because she is fantastic and she dealt with this discoloration and redness/rosacea problem that started a year ago.  Again, she was sweet and supportive, gave me a game plan and a timeline.  exactly what you want when you are stressing over something on your face.  I love Dr Huy.Everyone who knows me knows that I call Bay Area Cosmetic Dermatology "my happy place".  Such caring, such professionalism and and attention to detail, such a personalized care regimen that makes you feel like you are in the right hands and you can relax and there is light at the end of the tunnel.  I am a die-hard supporter. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.F.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Apr 28, 2017

I cannot speak highly enough of Dr. Hui!When I first saw her I was suffering from rosacea and as a result, very sensitive skin.  I couldn't use any over the counter products like face wash or moisturizer.  I also had a lot of tiny red blood vessels that made me look red all the time.  And I always had at least one zit at any given time.Dr. Hui took the time to explain why this was all happening and what she was going to do to help.  She answered all of my questions and didn't rush through the appointment like so many other doctors do.She ended up recommending a bunch of products as well as laser treatments.  Even after the appointment, she was super responsive when I emailed her in a panic because my skin was out of control.Now, everything is great.  The rosacea has cleared and so have the zits. I've had several laser treatments to take care of the red blood vessels and Dr. Hui is great at making them as pain-free as possible.I am happy to say that I barely wear makeup anymore and am no longer self conscious. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.P.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jun 16, 2017

I've seen a huge improvement since coming here: fewer fine lines, clearer complexion and no more breakouts. They're very careful about starting you off with only the products and regimen you need (I never feel like I'm being oversold) and will build it up as makes the most sense for you. I've visited a lot of dermatologists and this is easily the best service I've experienced. Dr. Hui is wonderful: and Chrissy is amazing. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.R.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Apr 04, 2017

First of all, I want to thank Dr Hui, who has transformed my skin.  I have rosacea/acne/eczema (and some other stuff...).  I am a doctor myself, and I had tried everything.  I had been to numerous dermatologists for lasers and prescriptions creams.  I did my research, and I felt like I was following the most up-to-date medical guidelines for my skin and still nothing was getting better.  As my skin got worse, I tried Eastern medicine, accupuncture, and regular facials.  I was spending too much money and time, but beginning to feel like I wanted to hide because of how bad my skin had gotten.  When I read the reviews, it just seemed too good to be true.  It's not - Dr Hui is really worth the hype!  As soon as I walked in to the clinic, I noticed that all their patients had beautiful, glowing skin.  If anything can advertise their results, it's just sitting in their waiting room.  Then, I met Dr Hui: she is smart, attentive to details, and confident.  She gave me time to explain and listened attentively.  I had follow-up questions after the appointment, and she responded within hours.  Basically, as a doctor myself, I can say that she is pretty much everything you could want in a doctor.  Dr Hui prescribed a super simple regimen along with laser treatment.  Although all of the products are helpful, I want to comment on their own clinic rosacea cream, which is uniquely incredible: it is gentler and more effective than any of the prescriptions that I'd tried.  Within 2-4 weeks, I saw an improvement: the bumps were gone, the redness was minimal, and the scaling just disappeared.  It's been 2.5 months, and my skin just keeps getting better and better.  And I've even noticed that I'm getting my glow back. I know it's daunting to come to a dermatologist, and it can be expensive.  This is worth it!  I can't say enough about how grateful I am for what Dr Hui has done for me. I wish I had come in sooner. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.H.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Feb 24, 2017

Dr. hui is the BEST. I felt like she took the time to know me and my skin and prescribed a simple comprehensive regime that has pretty much cured my adult acne and faded the scarring. I'll do anything she tells me More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.D.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jan 23, 2017

Dr. Andrea Hui is an absolute miracle worker! I came to Dr. Hui extremely frustrated and defeated because my skin was the worst it has ever been - I had acne all over my chin and cheeks and red scars everywhere. Prior to coming to Dr. Hui, I tried everything to get rid of my acne including different dermatologists, several elimination diets and too many harsh skin care products that wouldn't clear up my skin but would just dry it out. I was referred to Dr. Hui by a friend who had been seeing her for a while and had completely cleared up her skin.I was extremely reassured after my first appointment with Dr. Hui as she was confident that she could help clear up my skin and I completely trusted her because I had seen her results on other people. She put me on a new skin care regimen (that I will never change because the products are amazing) and started me on v-beam laser to help fill in the acne scars. She then had me do a couple rounds of the micro pen to stimulate collagen generation. It has been almost a year now and my skin is completely cleared up - I have not broken out in months and my scars have faded. I cannot thank Dr. Hui enough for renewing my confidence and getting my skin back to the smooth, soft, acne free way it was many years ago. I would recommend any one who is fighting acne to go see her - it is beyond worth it! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.S.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jan 08, 2017

I have battled back acne for over 30 years and over that time have seen different dermatologists, have been prescribed oral antibiotics such as erythromycin and doxycycline,  have had 3 rounds of Accutane in the late '90's, early 2000's, and tried different prescription creams. Despite all of these efforts, acne and scarring have continued to persist. So after receiving a product sample at a school fundraiser, and looking at their site, I figured I would try yet another approach. After an initial consultation with Dr. Hui 2 months ago and buying many expensive but effective skin products, I started to see a significant improvement in the acne...finally! In a subsequent visit 6 weeks ago, I had a chemical peel with remarkable improvement in the scarring and discoloration. I just had a second chemical peel two days ago and am optimistic that this upcoming summer may be one in which bathing suits and cute sundresses with a scoop neck are a wardrobe possibility. This is life changing for me and I am eternally grateful. Thank you Dr. Hui! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from I.C.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Dec 17, 2016

Before I started seeing Dr. Hui and Dr. Welsh, I had very oily skin, frequent breakouts and a fair amount of redness and blemishes. I wore cover-up often and carried oil-absorbing sheets with me everywhere. Although I didn't have "severe acne," I was not satisfied with the appearance of my skin, and wished that I didn't need to manage it so much. At Bay Area Cosmetic Dermatology, I have had laser and resurfacing treatments with Dr. Hui, Mary, Claire and Mabel (who are amazing to work with!) and have seen pretty dramatic results in evening my skin complexion and texture, and getting rid of red blemishes. I was initially hesitant to invest in the skin care routine they recommended, as I hadn't had much success with products in the past, but I can honestly say that my skin has never been better. I actually have no problems with oil anymore, and maybe one pimple every few months, which is pretty amazing for me! What sets Bay Area Cosmetic Dermatology apart from other practices I have been to is that they have a tremendous variety of treatments and products available at the office, and the staff is extremely knowledgeable in determining what the specific needs of my skin are and which treatments and products will provide the best results. I genuinely feel that my treatments are customized to me, and not just generic recommendations like I have received in the past. Before I met Dr. Hui and Dr. Welsh, I didn't know that it was possible to change my skin, and not just consistently manage it. It is a relief to have doctors whose recommendations I can trust. I am so grateful to have found this incredible practice, and to finally have skin that I feel confident with! I recommend this practice to anyone! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.Q.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Dec 12, 2016

Dr. Hui has changed my life. She is hands down the best dermatologist I have ever seen in my life and has completely changed my skin since I started seeing her a year ago. I am so thankful to have such an awesome dermatologist and team that is available whenever you need them. Anyone who struggles with skin problems or acne, she is the one to see . More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.Q.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Dec 03, 2016

Dr. Hui is a great dermatologist. If you're are in need to fix your skin, go to her. Just one session and you will get hooked on her attention to detail, truthful advice and great array of treatments.As a teenager I struggled with acne and went through accutane, multiple creams and not many good results. Last year I was starting my 30's and was still struggling with some breakouts mostly on my chin and neck (hormonal acne related to PCOS) and uneven texture overall. I couldn't bare to "become an adult trapped on the skin of a teenager" and  found Dr Hui while browsing for "best dermatologist in SF". Since day 1, Dr Hui and her team were amazing, approachable and patient to respond all of my questions.Among many of the services I had were some peelings, dermapen treatments, botox and  hydrafacials. Thanks to a personalized skin routine that Dr Hui created for me, I have been acne free for months! People compliment my new "glowy" skin and I rarely need to wear any makeup. Sunblock, powder and off I go! It's hard to believe I once had troubled skin!The experience of each visit is also remarkable: The office space: beautiful, clean and spacious. A team of ladies on the front desk will check you in and make sure to refill all your home care products. There also an amazing option where they can mail you any cream or product that you need. Comes handy when you cannot escape the office but need to refill your creams.The staff: every nurse and practitioners I've had had been courteous and amicable. Claire has been doing most of the appointments and she's the best! She can guide you through every step and let you know what's the purpose of each treatment, or she can let you enjoy your treatment while you immerse on your thoughts. She seems always on a good mood and very easy to be around. She always checks if I feel comfortable through the procedure and makes sure I address any remaining questions to Dr. Hui.The products: high quality brands as SkinMedica, Obagi and Jane Iredale among others. All the appliances and machines seem to be at their best form and clean!Dr. Hui: really nice, knowledgeable and trustable! She promised me a due date for when I would see results and she was on point! We'll continue working to keep my skin on maintenance mode and preserve beautiful skin. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.Q.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Dec 03, 2016

Dr. Hui is a great dermatologist. If you're are in need to fix your skin, go to her. Just one session and you will get hooked on her attention to detail, truthful advice and great array of treatments. As a teenager I struggled with acne and went through accutane, multiple creams and not many good results. Last year I was starting my 30's and was still struggling with some breakouts mostly on my chin and neck (hormonal acne related to PCOS) and uneven texture overall. I couldn't bare to "become an adult trapped on the skin of a teenager" and  found Dr Hui while browsing for "best dermatologist in SF". Since day 1, Dr Hui and her team were amazing, approachable and patient to respond all of my questions. Among many of the services I had were some peelings, dermapen treatments, botox and  hydrafacials. Thanks to a personalized skin routine that Dr Hui created for me, I have been acne free for months! People compliment my new "glowy" skin and I rarely need to wear any makeup. Sunblock, powder and off I go! It's hard to believe I once had troubled skin! The experience of each visit is also remarkable: The office space: beautiful, clean and spacious. A team of ladies on the front desk will check you in and make sure to refill all your home care products. There also an amazing option where they can mail you any cream or product that you need. Comes handy when you cannot escape the office but need to refill your creams. The staff: every nurse and practitioners I've had had been courteous and amicable. Claire has been doing most of the appointments and she's the best! She can guide you through every step and let you know what's the purpose of each treatment, or she can let you enjoy your treatment while you immerse on your thoughts. She seems always on a good mood and very easy to be around. She always checks if I feel comfortable through the procedure and makes sure I address any remaining questions to Dr. Hui. The products: high quality brands as SkinMedica, Obagi and Jane Iredale among others. All the appliances and machines seem to be at their best form and clean! Dr. Hui: really nice, knowledgeable and trustable! She promised me a due date for when I would see results and she was on point! We'll continue working to keep my skin on maintenance mode and preserve beautiful skin. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.L.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Aug 30, 2016

I've suffered with severe cystic acne since high school. Prior to seeing Dr. Andrea Hui, I have seen 3 different dermatologists who have prescribed a round of antibiotics and topical medication. Yes, it was effective- however, the results did not last very long. It was a month prior to my 30th birthday and I was desperately looking for a new dermatologist. My acne had resurfaced, and it was the worst breakout I had ever had. My self-esteem was severely impacted and I was not happy with my skin. I randomly found information on Dr. Andrea Hui, and how she specializes in acne. At this point, I was willing to try anything! Fast forward 7 months, and my skin has significantly improved! I now look at pictures of my severe cystic acne, and you could see how unhappy I was. I am so relieved to have found Bay Area Cosmetic Dermatology. Dr. Hui and her staff have been so supportive and caring! I never thought I would be excited to go to the doctors, but Dr. Hui and her staff make my visits run smoothly! I highly recommend Dr. Andrea Hui! And a little piece of advice, if you follow the doctor's recommendations and take everything as prescribed- you will see results! Thank you Dr. Andrea Hui and staff for helping me feel confident again! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.K.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jul 28, 2016

Dr. Hui has been a godsend for my rosacea-prone, inflamed, acne-scarred skin that is highly sensitized to pretty much everything. I thought I'd tried every product out there for very sensitive skin (OTC as well as seeing other dermatologists), and had pretty much resigned myself to having to wear makeup every time I left the house so my face didn't look like a splotchy mess. But then I read great reviews about the practice and decided to see Dr. Hui, and my skin has been transformed. I told her my goal was to wear zero makeup, and we've been steadily progressing towards that goal with great results. She made me discard my overly complicated skincare routine and get back to basics. My skincare routine now takes 30 seconds in the morning and 2 minutes at night, and my skin looks so much better in every way. I've been using the products Dr. Hui recommended that have made a huge difference, and have also been getting V-beam laser treatments that have also been significant in getting rid of the diffuse redness throughout my face. My skincare routine is so much more basic than before (no more time-consuming multiple serums and many face masks), but more effective by leaps and bounds. I've also gotten facial hair removal done by Dr. Hui and have seen great results with that. Also wanted to give a big shout out to Mary, one of the nurses at the practice. I had some body laser hair removal done (legs, underarms). She's incredibly professional and personable and makes what's supposed to be a very uncomfortable situation a breeze. Overall, the practice is very well run, everyone's on top of their game, and my skin bears testament to that! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.G.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jul 06, 2016

There is no need to go anyplace else or see any other dermotologists.  Dr. Welsh knows what you need before you even ask for a particular treatment.  In many cases, her suggestions are not what you might intend, but better and more effective.  She is truly at the top of her field in cosmetic dermatology.  Dr. Hui is the best at treating and rectifying problem skin and preventative maintenance.  I will no longer see any other doctor for my skin concerns.  Their entire staff is deeply knowledgable in all areas of every treatment they offer.  I can't say enough about this practice.Treatments I have had: Coolsculpting, IPL, Accutane, Ulthera, V-beam, tattoo removal More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.K.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Apr 13, 2016

I have been a patient of Dr. Hui for almost a year.  I came to her and the Bay Area Cosmetic Dermatology due to still having acne as an adult. :-(  I used to have really REALLY bad and painful cystic acne before getting treatment from Dr. Hui.  I have also been working with Mabel and Hannah for my peels and they been just as amazing as Dr. Hui.Now after about 8 months of treatment I have no more painful cystic acne and my face is glowing!!!  Dr. Hui and her team are amazing!!  If you suffer from adult acne or any acne then go see Dr. Hui and her team straight away!  You won't regret it!!  Thank you Dr. Hui and team!!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from H.P.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Apr 07, 2016

I've been hesitant to write my review for Dr. Hui and Bay Area Cosmetic Dermatology for some time now, not because my experience has been anything less than "five-star worthy" but, out of concern that my words - or writing ability, will fail to appropriately articulate just how wonderful my overall experience as a patient here has been. Nevertheless, here it goes...!I want to say, first, that making the decision to schedule my initial visit (around November 2015) with Dr. Hui at Bay Area Cosmetic Dermatology has proved to be one of the most rewarding decisions I've ever made.  I urge anyone who is, or has, suffered from acne (or any dermatological conditions) to make an appointment with Dr. Hui and Bay Area Cosmetic Dermatology.  The results of my acne-free face, smaller pores, and diminishing facial scars (I would say "acne scars" but Dr. Hui also helped minimize a scar I have on my face, from an old ski accident, that left me with 15 stitches right next to my eye) have superseded my expectations.   I'm a female in my mid-twenties and I have struggled with acne for well-over half of my life.  I experienced my first round of Accutane before entering High School (in 2005), after becoming consumed with acne along my face, back and chest; I experienced my second round of Accutane before graduating from college (in 2013); I began experiencing hormonal acne post-college (in 2015).  Each of my bouts with Acne have certainty had, both, a physical and mental effect on me.  During my first appointment with Dr. Hui, I recall feeling a sense of shame or embarrassment as I divulged the relatively aggressive lengths I had gone, in the past, to combat my acne.  I felt certain that after so much treatment, with so much input from so many doctors, Dr. Hui would render clear skin, for me, as hopeless.  Dr. Hui quickly put me at ease, though, as she assured me that experiencing cystic hormonal acne, as a mid-twenties female, is extremely common - regardless of the time I spent on Accutane.  She assured me that my situation was not unique and wrote up a comprehensive and thorough AM/PM routine for me.  My AM/PM routine and product-usage has changed, slightly, but Dr. Hui and her medical assistant always explains and discusses any of these changes (and the reasoning behind it) during your appointments. I'm so curious what my skin would look like, today, if I had discovered Bay Area Cosmetic Dermatology years ago -- but I'll take the way it's starting to look today! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.R.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Mar 27, 2016

I have struggled with acne and acne scarring since sophomore year of high school (I am now 20). No matter what I tried and who I saw I just couldn't get my acne under control. My skin only worsened when I went off to college. I was so insecure about my skin that I would try to avoid going out in the sunlight or in bright lighting. I even tried to stop looking at myself in mirrors because it made me so self conscious. My skin was affecting my social life and desire to see people in a negative way and was a constant source of stress and anxiety (which only made my acne worse). That is, until I began working with Dr. Hui in the summer between my freshman and sophomore year of college. In the year since meeting Dr. Hui my acne and scarring has improved dramatically. I am now more confident and excited about going out and seeing people.Dr. Hui started me on a very low dose of Accutane and a nighttime retin-a. Her goal was to clear up the acne first and then work on the scarring underneath. When the acne began to clear up, Dr. Hui started doing V-Beam lasers on my scarring. This reduced the red spots on my skin that I had had for years. Before the V-Beam I couldn't remember the last time that I looked at my face and it wasn't a red, blotchy mess. Last week Dr. Hui performed a Fraxel laser on my skin to even out the texture and alleviate more of the scarring. While it has only been a week since the procedure, the results are very noticeable. My skin is much smoother and has less marks from scarring and will only continue to improve over time (according to Dr. Hui). This is the best my skin has looked since starting high school and it is all thanks to Dr. Hui and her MAs Mabel, Chrissy, Isabel, and Euridice. I am now going back to school for the spring quarter with a newfound confidence in my skin. I will continue on the low dose of the Accutane and the nighttime retin-a and hopefully my skin will clear up more every day.In addition to the actual work that she did on my skin, Dr. Hui and Mabel, Chrissy, Isabel, and Euridice were incredibly warm and accommodating. Dr. Hui and her MAs always spent time explaining every detail of my skin regiment to me and answering any questions that I had (no matter how ridiculous). They were very patient and I never felt rushed.  Not only were they friendly and fun to talk to in person, but they always responded to my calls and emails (which I used to send constantly) as fast as any doctors office ever has. I cannot recommend Dr. Hui and her team enough. They really care about improving your skin and it shows. I am forever grateful to them for everything that they have done for me. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from T.G.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Mar 24, 2016

Dr. Andrea Hui is the best! I have seen numerous dermatologists in Atlanta and in the bay area prior to making an appointment with Dr.Hui. I had an extreme case of back acne that started after the birth of my second child. I've been prescribed everything from topical and oral antibiotics to creams and nothing has worked. Less than a month after Dr.Hui gave me a single topical cream, I no longer have back acne! I can wear tank tops and bathing suit tops! My husband can not believe how good my back looks! Thank you Dr.Hui! Not only is she an amazing physician, she has outstanding bedside manner and fantastic staff! Everyone in the office is friendly, knowledgeable, and very professional! I highly, highly recommend this place! Every girl should have BACD in her life! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.D.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Mar 15, 2016

Dr. Hui is a miracle worker! I had been on BenzaClin, Differin, and oral antibiotics for almost a decade without much success. Right after my 24th birthday, my skin was worse than ever. I had cystic, hormonal acne all over my chin and my cheeks were always red. Dr. Hui told me not to worry, but I was ready to give up! She created a skincare routine for me and prescribed me spironolactone and doxycycline. Within six weeks, my skin was clearing up. Then, to remove dark spots and discoloring, I got VBeam laser treatments once a month. My skin is now better than I could have ever dreamed of. Dr. Hui went beyond just clearing up my acne. My friends and family can't believe the transformation. It's been an absolute pleasure to come to Bay Area Cosmetic Dermatology. The staff is so nice and helpful and are always available via email or phone for any questions. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.T.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Feb 23, 2016

I am compelled to write another review on Dr. Hui because I am just so amazed with her talent. She is an exceptional dermatologist. I first saw her in Sept. 2014 to clear up my skin for my up-coming wedding. Not only did she clear up my skin super fast but she transformed my skin entirely. At my initial visit I was just desperate for clear skin but this miracle doctor gave me much more than clear skin; she gave me healthy, glowing skin, which was not something I ever thought I could have. Once I achieved totally clear and radiant skin and since I trust her completely, I began to experiment with filler. Love the results. I recently went back to get filler in my lips and am totally happy. It didn't hurt at all (and I am a big wimp) and she does it in such a way that you don't get that awful duck-lip (unless that's your kind of thing...). To say I am happy with Dr. Hui is an understatement- she and her team are truly so amazing! I just wish I met her years ago so I could have avoided all the subpar derms I used in the past! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.E.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jan 13, 2016

My daughter has had a rough road with acne.  She has seen approximately 4 different dermatologists since the age of 13 and hadminimal success with her treatments.  After going away to college, she thought her skin just may get better as she entered adulthood,unfortunately, the opposite occurred and she developed severe hormonal cystic acne, so detrimental, it affected her daily life and she soonwas not going out to functions to avoid "being seen" and slipping into a bit of a depression. Being a RN in the city, I had heard wonderful things about Dr Hui, so when she washome from college, we booked apt asap. fast forward........almost 6 months later, after specific medications, special topical treatments and laser treatments, my daughter's skin looks AMAZING and she is so happy!  No longer hiding behind mounds of makeup or in her room to avoid the public.  I recommend Dr Hui on many levels.  Not only does she have a wonderful bedside manner, she is an excellent clinician.  We can't thank herenough for her amazing care.  OH, and added bonus, Dr Hui's Medical assistant, Euridice is absolutely wonderful.  She made me and mydaughter feel so comfortable and her warmth and kindness was/is so appreciated and she is extremely knowledgeable and thoughtful. We feel so fortunate to have found them both. Utmost highest recommendations to this team! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.G.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Oct 10, 2015

I started to see Dra. Andrea Hui in the end of May (2015), because I had the most crazy acne during the whole semester, due to stress, and as I am not from United States it took me a while until I get to the clinic. I had some facials done in other places along the semester, but they weren't helpful at all, the acne just kept getting worst. When I finally got to see Dra. Hui was when everything started to change, she is an amazing person and really understands what your skin needs. As I am very anxious I firstly scheduled a consult to know more about the Fraxel laser, but she told me how we first needed to control the acne before treating the scars. The process is not easy and it can get very bad until it starts to get better, but you have to trust Dra. Hui and her assistant, Euridice because it is all part of the process. There is no shortcuts and you have to follow the routine and commit to the treatment, and they are the best people to help you get through it, not only because of their knowledge but because they are also very caring people. The first three months were the hardest for me, but from the fourth to the fifth things started to get really good, the breakouts were almost non-existent, and my skin texture was completely changed. I had a lot of redness from inflammation so before doing the Fraxel we did a couple of V Beam laser sections, and they were amazing, after the first one I didn't see a huge change, but after the second and the third I was very impressed. For me the worst part of having acne is that it makes you feel very bad to be in your own skin, and how the coverage that makeup gives still doesn't actually help to make you feel better. And I really like how Dra. Hui understands that, I really recommend her, she is very correct and professional, so you can trust her completely, she knows the steps and the right moment to do the different treatments that your skin might need. Some tips I would give is to schedule your consult in a day and time you will probably leave the clinic and go home, it is easier to do the procedures in days you don't need to be anywhere afterwards.  And mostly if you have problems with acne get it treated with a great professional such as Dra. Hui and her staff, because there are so many products and false promises out there, and to have the guidance of someone who actually knows what she is doing is the only way to have real and lasting improvement. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from E.D.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Aug 06, 2015

I've never had any acne issues until about a year ago when i started breaking out. I went to Kaiser and different dermatologists and no treatment regimen seem to work. I was so depressed and desperate for a solution to my troubling problem, then i stumbled upon Bay Area Cosmetic Dermatology through their glowing yelp reviews.  I started seeing Dr. Hui since May 2015. She is clearly very knowledgeable and knows how to share that in a nice & gentle way. I didn't feel rushed, she takes her time to teach you and let you know what's realistically possible based on a variety of factors. It is rare in this day and age to find competent care, let alone a doctor that takes that extra time to assure you and explain things to you. I am really happy with the results/improvement and have received many nice comments since. I wanted to share my story to recommend with extreme gratitude and appreciation to Dr. Hui and her staff (Maybel and Euridice). I look forward to my next treatment and doubt that I would trust anyone else to do such a good job on my skin. Truly remarkable and exceptional. PS. This is my first Yelp review ever and Dr. Hui deserves it =D More

5.0
DAPI
Review from B.S.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jun 18, 2015

First, I saw Dr. Hui about my acne. Homerun. I suffered from crazy acne my whole life because I have polycystic ovary syndrome. I'm a skincare therapist, and trust me I've tried pretty much everything to clear my acne. But it was literally so stubborn that I gave up. when it did start to clear up, I was able for the first time to imagine my skin break out free, you could say I was a little more than impressed. Because of Dr. Hui, my acne is cleared. Whoo hoo!I just wanted to update my review to talk about my last appointment, which was filler by Dr. Hui- Restylane Silk to be exact. DANG! I'm half Sicilian and part Cherokee Indian. One of the dominating hereditary traits in my Sicilian side is the dark, saggy, under eye area. On the Native American side, high cheekbones angle no way that kind of Pinterest things at the center of my face. It basically causes most people on the Indian side of my family to have deep lines on either side of our nose and mouth. Have literally had these lines and saggies since I was a little girl. If I can find a picture of seven-year-old saggy eyed me I will post it! But I always just dealt with it. It's life. We are who we are, eat some Cheerios and deal with it. But oh wait, enter Dr. Hui!As you can see from my photos a little bit of help goes a VERRRY long way. She expertly filled the portion that was sallow, results are awesome. She is the best! I went to another doctor in the city for some under eye filling,  and he literally said that it's too risky, lumps are too much of a risk, and that he didn't want to be responsible for messing up my eyes. After that I was pretty scared to hit of anyone else for filler. Casually chatting about it, because Dr. Hui and I chat about pretty much everything, she was genuinely upset when I mentioned I was told there's nothing that can be done to help the saggyness. She asked for a chance to show me differently, and since I trust her and had nothing but pretty much perfect results up into this point, I said why not let's go for it. If it gets messed up and lumpy like that first doctor suggested I have a lot of Cheerios at home to drown my sorrows in. Well, it's been made abundantly clear to me that all dermatologists are not created equally and that if you think an expert is expensive, you'll probably change your mind when you consult an amateur. She's the real deal you guys. I honestly think she might be the best. The lighting in the room in my before pictures are a little yellow but there is NO editing or filters on either of the photos. Great job Dr. Hui! Please don't ever, EVER move away! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.R.  |  Source: Yelp  |  May 12, 2015

Bay Area Cosmetic Dermatology has a very important asset and that's Dr. Hui!For almost a decade, I have suffered from terrible cystic acne that covered my cheeks, temples and jawline. Worse than the acne was the scarring that was left behind. The more years that went by, the more layers of make up went on.However, the day that I realized I had put on three shades of foundation just to look like me, I knew it was time to see a dermatologist. Lucky for me, I found the right one. When I met Dr. Hui, my skin was truly at its lowest point. Furthermore, I was really nervous for someone to actually see me without make up. Dr. Hui was amazing. She talked to me about my skincare routine at the time (which was pretty much nonexistent), the type of acne I had, and the various routes we could take to tackle it. I was pleasantly surprised by the level of detail and the amount of time she devoted to working with me. Judging from the appearance and location of the acne, she was quick to diagnose me as having hormonal acne and started me on the mildest prescriptions. What really impressed me was that Dr. Hui took the time to put together a typed "acne treatment plan" which spelled out my new skincare routine from beginning to end, clearly defining how to use each product (prescription and non prescription) correctly and in the proper sequence. We went over it together to make sure I was clear on the instructions. As someone with little exposure to any skincare routine at the time, this paper was one of the best tools I could have been given. I followed every last detail of her treatment plan. Month one..my acne was still there. Month three... it was GONE. The improvement was drastic. Not only had my acne completely subsided but the scarring had greatly diminished. Now, months later, I can happily say that I rarely wear any make up and I have Dr. Hui to thank for that! She is patient, professional and deeply committed to making her patients look and feel more confident in their skin. I truly cannot recommend her enough... she is wonderful doctor! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Mar 10, 2015

23 Year Old with a Random Acne Breakout - San Francisco, CA - Ever since I've met with Dr. Andrea Hui, my skin has improved immensely. She gives me easy step-by-step instructions for my skincare and any medications she prescribes. She also customizes my medications and skincare based on my budget. For someone who has never seen a derm doc before, I now feel like I can't live without one! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.P.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Mar 03, 2015

Dr. Hui is a miracle worker! I came in with cystic hormonal acne, and with a combination of oral and topical treatments my skin has completely cleared up in 3 short months. She is fast to respond to any concerns I throw her way, be it via email, phone, or in person. My results are worth the time and money, and I will continue to see Dr. Hui for all of my future dermatology needs! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Mar 02, 2015

Hormonal Acne Treatment - San Francisco, CA - Dr. Hui is a miracle worker! I came in with cystic hormonal acne, and with a combination of oral and topical treatments my skin has completely cleared up in 3 short months. She is fast to respond to any concerns I throw her way, be it via email, phone, or in person. My results are worth the time and money, and I will continue to see Dr. Hui for all of my future dermatology needs! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Feb 08, 2015

35 Year Old Suffering from Acne for 17 Years!!! Complete Success! - Brooklyn, NY - Dr. Andrea Hui is a an amazing doctor! I have been suffering from adult acne since 18 year old. Weeks after starting treatment with Dr. Hui I had noticeable results and now my skin is clear and healthy looking. Dr. Hui is very professional and caring practitioner. I always recommend her to all my friends. I am so grateful! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from E.M.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Feb 06, 2015

This review is for Dr. Hui. Dr. Hui has helped me with my adult acne that I have not been able to get rid of for YEARS. I've tried just about everything (seriously) and was going to give up when Dr. Hui put me on an Accutane plan. My skin has never been so clear! I'm three months in and have even been asked by strangers what I do to keep my skin looking so healthy. :) Thanks, Dr. Hui! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from R.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Feb 02, 2015

Acne Treatment Success! - San Francisco, CA - Dr. Hui is very professional and has excellent bedside manner. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.A.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Sep 13, 2012

Let's be honest ladies - skin is tricky. Skin is finicky. Find what works for you and stick with it. For me, that's Dr. Welsh.Why she's great:Fabulous credentials.Great bedside manner.Tells it straight - yes those wrinkles are noticeable.Tries all the products and treatments on herself and staff before purchasing for the office.Is recommended by countless doctors.Look at the skin of the ladies that work in her office and try not to be cat clawingly jealous.Has a great eye for injectables.Worked wonders on my server Acne caused during pregnancy.Now let's address some of the rants of people who gave Dr. Welsh 1-StarLong Wait Times: Do you really want a doctor who runs onetime? Seriously, that means that they give you 5 minutes of time and no more. What if you have questions? What if you have a mole that looks suspicious and she wants to take a biopsy? Good doctor take as long as necessary with their patients, so I am willing to wait my turn to get my time with the best skin doctor in SF.Selling Products: Dr. Welsh sells only the best products on the market. She isn't trying to up-sell you, trust me. She makes plenty of money from her appointments. The products she sells work for MOST people. Sometimes the odd person has an atypical reaction - but thats not a reason to give Dr. Welsh 1 Star. Do you stop going to Walgreens when that new lotion gave you a rash? Nope - and I bet if you call the office and are nice they'll take it back and recommend something else. I'm sorry if you can buy things cheaper on Amazon - but isn't that the truth about everything? Dr. Welsh's office is a small business and I'm happy to give them my business, just like my local butcher and bookstore.Staff: Her staff are great. Friendly, knowledgable and very experienced. Try and see the same person each time and you can develop a nice friendship. I totally look forward to my appointments so I can happily chat with Kate. She's amazing with skin and saved me during my pregnancy. She does RIDICULOUS extractions and peels and made my skin look the best it could while I was in pregnancy acne hell.Price: You pay what you get for. She doesn't take insurance, but neither does the personal trainer or yoga studio. You want to do something good for yourself and your skink then spend the money on the top person in the city and call Dr. Welsh. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.A.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jun 04, 2012

Dr. Welsh is my go-to dermatologist, as well as my mother's. Totally would recommend her for injections of any sort or if you have some serious acne issues. She is honest and very knowledgeable, and didn't overcharge me in comparison to another well known dermatologist in the Peninsula for a basic procedure. I trust her entirely with my skin/face and would recommend her to anyone. My only negative feedback is wait times in her office can be quite lengthy, so make sure to over feed your meeter just in case! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.C.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jan 09, 2012

I came in with the worst cystic acne, blotchy skin and low self esteem. Dr welsh and staff were so amazing! my skin has been clear for the last 6-9 months! I am so happy and my confidence came back big time! yay! dr welsh is the best ! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.D.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Sep 20, 2011

"Dr Kathy rules", my friend (who had seen her before) texted me now, after hearing how my appointment went with her today.  I am going back to Dr Welsh because of my adult cystic acne.  If you read my old review, you can see Accutane did work for me for  ..  I would say around a year, then it came back, and lately it has flare-ups that I just can't deal with anymore.  After googling everything under the sun I came upon articles about another drug, Spironolactone, that is sometimes used for women with my condition.  I have heard from 2 acquaintances that it works really well for them, and I just wanted to try it SO badly.  I had been to other dermatologists who, because I did not have an acne flare up at that moment, did not take me very seriously.  (Now i take photos of it when it's bad, just in case I need the proof.)Dr Welsh is the only doctor who has taken my skin issues seriously and been extremely helpful and kind about it.  She explains the different options and doesn't treat me like a "second class citizen" because I don't have insurance or bags of money like I imagine some of the clients going for  ..  I don't know, Botox or other more cosmetic issues go for.  (I'm always afraid that will happen in any medical practice.)  She asked me why I hadn't been there sooner and I sort of implied I thought there wasn't much i could do, she was so sweet and said that there is always something we can do.  Her staff is also very polite .. . and they have immaculate skin!  i hope to treat myself to something that will help my scars after we get a handle on my acne issue. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from B.R.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Nov 15, 2010

I am a HUGE fan of Doctor Welsh's office. I hit my mid-twenties and suddenly I broke out in the worst acne I have ever had. After spending hundreds of dollars at Sephora and other stores to try to improve my skin with no success, I finally decided to see a doctor. I chose Doctor Welsh because of her great resume and location. So far, I am very glad I did. (Note: I have only seen Doctor Welsh twice now over a span of two months, which I guess is still pretty early to see results, so keep in mind that this review is based less on results and more on my experience with her office.)I don't have insurance that covers dermatology right now, so I had to pay out-of-pocket for both visits. But I was willing to do anything to save my skin. (In any event, I guess the way Dr. Welsh's office deals with insurance would require me to pay out-of-pocket anyway.) I told Dr. Welsh about my financial concerns during my first appointment, and she was incredibly understanding. She made every effort to recommend products and treatments to keep my costs down, at least until my job starts and I can afford to do more. My first time in her office she waived the $150 visit fee and just charged me for the in-office treatment I received. Amazing!Dr. Welsh is a busy woman, so do not expect to have a long drawn-out visit with her. But she could not have been more understanding, proactive, and kind during the conversations I had with her. Also, her knowledgeable staff more than make up for the limited time with Dr. Welsh herself. I COMPLETELY disagree with the reviews that say that the staff is unfriendly. On both of my visits, an assistant patiently answered each of my questions and took the time to make sure I understood my new facial regimen. Several times I have called the office to ask questions about my treatments, and each time an extremely nice, bubbly assistant answered the phone who patiently and knowledgeably answered all of my questions right on the spot -- no charge and no wait!I hope my results are as good as my experience with the office has been. I trust Dr. Welsh and definitely would recommend her to anyone seeking expert help with their skin needs. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.K.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Oct 23, 2008

I'm reserving judgment. I was peeved that after being 15 minutes early, I had to wait 25 minutes past my appointment time to see the doctor. Looking past the 1 hour of my life I'd have rather manifested as sleep than waiting, Dr. Welsh was quite hurried, and I didn't feel the $150-with-no-insurance-coverage I spent for the 15 minute consultation was worth it. I really just wanted simple product recommendations, like soap and sunscreen, and instead was shunted towards expensive drugs, peels, and lasers.I originally wrote a scathing review, but I'm revising now because it's not Dr. Welsh's fault that I had high expectations. I was hoping she was different that other dermatologists, with keen insights into the products that could work *with* me. Instead, I was jolted by the scrape-burn-zap mentality which, in retrospect, defines western medicine. So it's not her fault that I was hoping she would empathize with my more gentle approach and accommodate it. That being said, I'm still out $150 and right where I started.--- revision 3/5/09I'm changing my review to 4 stars from 2 stars. As it turns out, another dermatologist recommended the same treatment that Dr. Welsh had recommended to me, and it worked. I think I was so irritated by the long wait to meet Dr. Welsh that I wasn't ready to hear anything she had to say, and her hurried delivery didn't help. All this being said, though, she was correct, and on top of that, her staff has been quite supportive and helpful during followups, providing exactly the product recommendations I wanted. So I now trust them for various products, which are summing up to be a whole lot more than that initial consultation.--- revision 8/7/11I'm now changing my review to 5 stars. I'm now a complete convert to the ministry of Dr. Welsh. I have gone from horrible acne that Accutane could barely control to gorgeous glowing skin even my Asian relatives fawn over (with Latisse-enhanced eyelashes). It's also refreshing to go to someone trustworthy and say, hey, I don't like this unevenness in my skin (yes- now that the color is fresh and even, now I want to perfect the texture!) and she knows the latest in getting it addressed. She also has the latest products that I buy for friends as gifts and all of them buy more when they've finished. I can't recommend Dr. Welsh more. It's expensive, but it's worth it. I don't even wear makeup anymore to go out! Literally just some Sumbody chapstick and that's *it*. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.H.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jan 14, 2008

I have a strongly emotional, very high opinion of Dr. Welsh.  If I had gone to her ten years earlier, I would have such better skin now.  I had moderate but persistent acne my entire life and saw a million dermatologists.  They all did strange ice treatments, gave me Retin-A and sent me on my way - all to absolutely no avail, except that I got dry red skin still populated with blemishes.  Then I started getting mega pimples at age 30, just months before my wedding.  Enter Dr. Welsh.  By the time of my wedding, I had perfect skin, and my skin is still pretty much acne-free more than two years later.  Now I am going to see her for spots and lines - I wouldn't dream of seeing anyone else.Yes, it's expensive.  Yes, it's crowded.  But it's popular for a reason and you get what you pay for.  She saved my skin, and again, how I wish I had seen her years earlier.  What a lot of heartache it would have saved!  They love skin - my skin loves Dr. Welsh! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.P.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Feb 17, 2006

Excellent efficient dermatogist - she completely cleared up my skin four years ago and for that I am forever grateful (my skin looked awful and I had been to countless different doctors and spent thousands on various treatments). She is amazing and her staff is friendly and always upbeat and cheerful. More

5.0
Review from SS  |  Source: Office Visit  |  Mar 02, 2016

I've been seeing Dr Hui for 2 months now. 2 months ago I had terrible acne but now my skin is very clear. Dr Hui is really knowledgeable. I wanted to do a fraxel laser but she told me I need to get my acne under control first and then do the fraxel. She prescribed some pills and she does extractions when I see her. She also gave me a routine to take care of my skin. My skin has never looked better. I recommend going to her if you want a perfect skin free of acne. Seeing her was the best decision I made and was life changing More

5.0
Review from LI  |  Source: Office Visit  |  Feb 12, 2016

I have been going to Bay Area Cosmetic Dermatology for the last ten years. I am continually impressed by both Dr Welsh and Dr Hui for their ability to listen to my needs and desires without judgement, address cosmetic issues artfully, and manage medical issues with great knowledge and expertise. Their ability to integrate both the art and science of dermatology is truly exceptional. Our entire family has been treated by the practice. My children for extreme acne and stubborn allergic skin reactions, my husband with his sensitive Asian skin for his sun spots and I have had multiple moles skillfully removed and biopsied, Ulthera, botox, fillers and even repaired earlobes, (torn from heavy earnings). Coming from a family of physicians, I have learned the importance of quality of care and true medical expertise. We have all been impressed by their responsiveness, depth of knowledge, attention to detail and overall quality of care. I have referred many to this practice and have heard nothing but stellar reviews. More

*Individual results are not guaranteed and may vary from person to person. Images may contain models.