Header Logo
Patient Reviews Image

Patient Reviews

Reviews for Rosacea Treatment* Procedures Near San Francisco, CA

We value all of our patients and their individual needs. At Bay Area Cosmetic Dermatology, we want you to make the most informed decision to achieve your cosmetic goals. Choosing the best procedure and physician for you is an extremely important decision, and we invite you to read about previous patients’ experiences and better understand the quality treatment you will receive from our board-certified dermatologists. Each of our medical professionals value your journey and want to ensure you feel as comfortable and confident about your decision as possible.

Filter26 Reviews  
5.0
DAPI
Review from A.O.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jun 28, 2018

Dr. Hui Austin is a miracle worker. I was very nervous but decided to take to plunge and get Botox and filler. She came highly recommended to my by my friend (who looks amazing) and she did not disappoint. She immediately put me at ease and listened to all my worries and concerns. The results were exactly what I wanted, refreshed but not that overdone face you see on aging starlets. She also recommended some products to treat my rosacea  that's been bugging me since I was a teenager and it has cleared it right up! I'm glowing! It feels so good to be comfortable in your own skin and I finally do. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.K.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jun 07, 2018

From the moment I called explaining my urgency for an appointment to when I walked out of the doctor's office that same day, I was so incredibly pleased with the entire process. I called this morning a few minutes after they opened mentioning that a rather large cyst-like pimple popped up over night and that my sister's wedding was this weekend and I was desperate to get rid of it. The front desk staff (forgot her name, but the same gal who checked me out at the end) was so nice and accommodating and found a window where they could squeeze me in real quick and administer a cortisone shot THE SAME DAY. I had nurse Mary Krempa who was awesome, knowledgeable, cheerful and genuinely seemed like she wanted the entire process to go well so I would have nothing to worry about on my sister's wedding day. She administered the shot (took two seconds) and while she was describing the process afterwards, I asked her a quick question regarding the redness of the spot. She said that usually they would charge for this, but since I was a new patient and in quite the predicament, she would apply a quick laser to help reduce the redness and inflammation (also took two seconds). She then offered to have the makeup artist at the office help cover up the spot since I was heading straight back to work. Everyone was so nice and accommodating I almost couldn't believe it. I'm a huge fan of customer service and these ladies nailed it! I will definitely be back for more services in the future - More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.W.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Apr 24, 2018

Ok I'm going to sing the praises of Mary Krempa for her attention to detail. She says that she's a "laser nerd" but she's really a laser queen! I've been dealing with rosacea for some years now and have had "V-Beam" procedures done a few times. Never have I had anyone do such a thorough job as Mary. And she's a sweet, happy and compassionate person - so if you're a little apprehensive around lasers this really makes a difference. Another plus - it's really obvious that she really does want YOU to look good. She loves her job and it shows. Won't be going to anyone else! Thanks Mary! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.W.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Apr 24, 2018

Ok I'm going to sing the praises of Mary Krempa for her attention to detail. She says that she's a "laser nerd" but she's really a laser queen! I've been dealing with rosacea for some years now and have had "V-Beam" procedures done a few times. Never have I had anyone do such a thorough job as Mary. And she's a sweet, happy and compassionate person - so if you're a little apprehensive around lasers this really makes a difference. Another plus - it's really obvious that she really does want YOU to look good. She loves her job and it shows. Won't be going to anyone else!Thanks Mary! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Feb 26, 2018

Great dermatologist - When I lived in the Bay Area Dr. Welsh was my dermatologist of choice! The first time I came to her office was for tattoo removal when I was in my 20’s...it was a total success. Years later I am 100% tattoo ink free thank to her. It took time but was well worth it. I have also used her office for the V-beam laser procedure which removes dilated blood vessels. If you have rosacea, or a... More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.M.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Sep 26, 2017

I have had the most experience at Bay Area Cosmetic Dermatology! I have been seeing Dr. Hui to treat my roscea. Almost immediately I saw a difference in my skin and now several months later my friends constantly comment about how amazing my skin looks. I didn't know I could look this way again. Amazing experience! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.M.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Apr 18, 2017

Don't bother going anywhere else for your skin concerns!Now that I'm reaching middle-age I had developed a pretty serious case of papular rosacea that was progressively getting worse. After trying several different things nothing was making a difference, in fact, some of the creams/lotions I tried made the rosacea worse!  I had been to this practice years before, but had never met with Dr. Hui. She is great, down to earth and really took the time to listen to all of my concerns/questions.  I never felt rushed or pressured into buying things I wasn't sure about or felt wouldn't complement what I already had next to my sink.Dr Hui prescribed a simple AM/PM routine along with v beam laser treatment to help eliminate the redness on my cheeks.  Within 1 month, my skin felt AND looked great.  Their rosacea combo gel is not drying (unlike Metro gel!) and it really helped clear up the redness/papules.  I use it nightly along with the other items she suggested.  After 4 months, my skin just keeps getting better. If you have skin issues that aren't resolving or you just want to look your very best,  I highly recommend making an appointment with Dr. Hui.  She is super-knowledgeable about the most current & effective treatments to give you your fabulous, glowy skin back. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from T.M.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jun 28, 2017

I can highly recommend Dr. Hui as a skilled, patient and compassionate dermatologist. The combo gel that she prescribed for my rosacea, that I was very reluctant to try, has made a tremendous difference in the texture of my skin. In addition, she also performed laser treatments for redness. The results are quite remarkable and my condition continues to improve under her care. She's probably as close to a cure as you can get. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from V.S.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jul 05, 2017

Dr. hui is the best dermatologists in the Bay Area! I had some Rosacea and contact dermatitis. My skin was constantly red and inflamed. Dr hui recommended a simple skin care routine and my skin improved 100%!  It looks flawless now! She has great bed side manner and knows what she is doing. Don't hesitate to go see her. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.M.  |  Source: Yelp  |  May 08, 2017

I can't say enough good things about Dr Welsh and Dr Huy.  I have been seeing Dr Welsh for 20 years, since high school.  She has saved my face a few times... Severe cystic acne, severe acne scarring all over my entire face, a dog attack that severely mangled my cheek... big stuff.  Over the course of my life I have experienced that feeling of shame and insecurity because my face looked so messed up that I didn't want people to look at me.  And every time, Dr Welsh put my face back together and then some.  Which essentially gives you your life back, because you can face the world with confidence and really show up and be present in conversations, instead of tripping out over how how destroyed your face looks.Those are the extreme cases that Dr Welsh has helped me through.  Always, she is compassionate, straight up, and comes up with a game plan and a timeline, and doesn't want to stop until whatever the issue is perfectly resolved.  Pretty much everything you want when you put your face in someone's hands.Now I am in my late 30s so there are a new bag of things that that can be improved upon that pop up: wrinkles, face and lips losing its fullness, and discoloration (hyperpigmentation).  And again, I don't trust anyone to mess with my face, EVER, unless its Dr Welsh or Dr Huy.  Dr Welsh is a master at filler because she basically refuses to make you look unnatural.  She will make you look refreshed and well-slept, but even if I beg for slightly fuller lips she looks at me and says, "No."  That's what you want.  Someone who says no.  Dr Huy is amazing.  At first I felt like I was cheating on Dr Welsh by seeing her as well but she is awesome and just as skilled.  I highly recommend you try her, because they have similar approaches and equal skill set.  I am so glad I gave her a chance because she is fantastic and she dealt with this discoloration and redness/rosacea problem that started a year ago.  Again, she was sweet and supportive, gave me a game plan and a timeline.  exactly what you want when you are stressing over something on your face.  I love Dr Huy.Everyone who knows me knows that I call Bay Area Cosmetic Dermatology "my happy place".  Such caring, such professionalism and and attention to detail, such a personalized care regimen that makes you feel like you are in the right hands and you can relax and there is light at the end of the tunnel.  I am a die-hard supporter. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.F.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Apr 28, 2017

I cannot speak highly enough of Dr. Hui!When I first saw her I was suffering from rosacea and as a result, very sensitive skin.  I couldn't use any over the counter products like face wash or moisturizer.  I also had a lot of tiny red blood vessels that made me look red all the time.  And I always had at least one zit at any given time.Dr. Hui took the time to explain why this was all happening and what she was going to do to help.  She answered all of my questions and didn't rush through the appointment like so many other doctors do.She ended up recommending a bunch of products as well as laser treatments.  Even after the appointment, she was super responsive when I emailed her in a panic because my skin was out of control.Now, everything is great.  The rosacea has cleared and so have the zits. I've had several laser treatments to take care of the red blood vessels and Dr. Hui is great at making them as pain-free as possible.I am happy to say that I barely wear makeup anymore and am no longer self conscious. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.R.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Apr 04, 2017

First of all, I want to thank Dr Hui, who has transformed my skin.  I have rosacea/acne/eczema (and some other stuff...).  I am a doctor myself, and I had tried everything.  I had been to numerous dermatologists for lasers and prescriptions creams.  I did my research, and I felt like I was following the most up-to-date medical guidelines for my skin and still nothing was getting better.  As my skin got worse, I tried Eastern medicine, accupuncture, and regular facials.  I was spending too much money and time, but beginning to feel like I wanted to hide because of how bad my skin had gotten.  When I read the reviews, it just seemed too good to be true.  It's not - Dr Hui is really worth the hype!  As soon as I walked in to the clinic, I noticed that all their patients had beautiful, glowing skin.  If anything can advertise their results, it's just sitting in their waiting room.  Then, I met Dr Hui: she is smart, attentive to details, and confident.  She gave me time to explain and listened attentively.  I had follow-up questions after the appointment, and she responded within hours.  Basically, as a doctor myself, I can say that she is pretty much everything you could want in a doctor.  Dr Hui prescribed a super simple regimen along with laser treatment.  Although all of the products are helpful, I want to comment on their own clinic rosacea cream, which is uniquely incredible: it is gentler and more effective than any of the prescriptions that I'd tried.  Within 2-4 weeks, I saw an improvement: the bumps were gone, the redness was minimal, and the scaling just disappeared.  It's been 2.5 months, and my skin just keeps getting better and better.  And I've even noticed that I'm getting my glow back. I know it's daunting to come to a dermatologist, and it can be expensive.  This is worth it!  I can't say enough about how grateful I am for what Dr Hui has done for me. I wish I had come in sooner. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.A.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Feb 07, 2017

I visited Dr. Hui for my acne scars due to a life time acne problem. Before that I have been to many dermatologists back at home and in the Bay Area and she is the only one who has diagnosed my skin problem correctly. My face has always been reddish and flushing due to many factors and I thought that those redness was due to my acne scars. She told me I had rosacea, prescribed some amazing products and started applying fractional laser treatment once a month. Even in couple of weeks after I started the treatment, my face started looking totally different, more clear, more even, smoother and more beautiful. My husband and friends realized the difference right away. Even a friend of mine got the name and number of the clinic. I have three more sessions to go with the fractional laser and I need to use the products at least for four more months. Afterwards she might apply another laser treatment for the scars but maybe we will not need to do it. After many years fighting with acne, scars and redness, thanks to her, I have realized that my scars aren't that bad and there is a solution for my skin problems. Moreover, she is a kind of person that you would want to be friends with. She is very sweet and builds trust right away. She explains complex medical issues in simple words, spends sufficient time to explain each step of the treatment and does not rush to leave the room without answering all your questions. I really like her and am very happy that I have finally found a dermatologist that I can consult for many more years. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.M.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Dec 01, 2016

Dr. Hui is phenomenal! I came in thinking that I had a very bad case of acne, Dr. Hui properly diagnosed and cured my rosacea. I had large bumps and redness on my cheeks. She gave me topical treatments, vitamins, and vbeam treatments. I was hesitant about the vbeam but Dr. Hui took the time to explain the treatment and I'm so glad we went forward with it! My skin is the clearest it's been in years! The staff at Bay Area Cosmetic Dermatology is amazing! At my last appointment, Chrissy assisted in my vbeam treatment and she was terrific! The office is incredibly responsive and professional. I highly recommend Dr. Hui and Bay Area Cosmetic Dermatology! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from B.S.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Oct 06, 2016

Dr. Hui completely transformed my skin and I cannot recommend her more highly! I have had rosacea for more than 20 years. In that time I have seen countless dermatologists (including some of the "best" in NYC and SF) and experimented with dozens of skincare products and prescriptions. The results have always been minimal and often made my face even redder and more irritated. This led to a general skepticism of dermatologists and feeling that the rosacea was just something I would have to live with. I decided to try V-Beam treatment, which led me to Bay Area Cosmetic Dermatology (again, skeptical about the potential outcome). In addition to the laser treatment, Dr. Hui recommended a regimen that included over-the-counter and Rx creams, face wash, supplements, and sunscreen. Dr. Hui and Dr. Welsh compound their own unique prescription rosacea cream, which is far superior to anything I have tried from pharma companies (my skin absolutely loves it!). After just one V-Beam treatment and following the regime for only a few weeks my skin dramatically improved. After 2 months the rosacea is almost completely gone and my skin looks healthy and youthful. I am absolutely amazed by the outcome.In addition to being a highly skilled dermatologist, Dr. Hui and her staff are warm and friendly and always take the time to listen to any questions or concerns I may have. I am so grateful to have found Dr. Hui and her team! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.D.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Aug 17, 2016

I have papulopustular rosacea. I've been seeing Dr. Hui and her team for 3 months. I went because my Mother saw amazing results with a patient with acne. I went in somewhat reluctantly thinking nothing could help my rosacea. Dr. Hui was able to diagnose and treat my rosacea and I am so glad with the results. The entire staff is supportive and thorough. Recommend without reservation. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.K.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jul 28, 2016

Dr. Hui has been a godsend for my rosacea-prone, inflamed, acne-scarred skin that is highly sensitized to pretty much everything. I thought I'd tried every product out there for very sensitive skin (OTC as well as seeing other dermatologists), and had pretty much resigned myself to having to wear makeup every time I left the house so my face didn't look like a splotchy mess. But then I read great reviews about the practice and decided to see Dr. Hui, and my skin has been transformed. I told her my goal was to wear zero makeup, and we've been steadily progressing towards that goal with great results. She made me discard my overly complicated skincare routine and get back to basics. My skincare routine now takes 30 seconds in the morning and 2 minutes at night, and my skin looks so much better in every way. I've been using the products Dr. Hui recommended that have made a huge difference, and have also been getting V-beam laser treatments that have also been significant in getting rid of the diffuse redness throughout my face. My skincare routine is so much more basic than before (no more time-consuming multiple serums and many face masks), but more effective by leaps and bounds. I've also gotten facial hair removal done by Dr. Hui and have seen great results with that. Also wanted to give a big shout out to Mary, one of the nurses at the practice. I had some body laser hair removal done (legs, underarms). She's incredibly professional and personable and makes what's supposed to be a very uncomfortable situation a breeze. Overall, the practice is very well run, everyone's on top of their game, and my skin bears testament to that! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.A.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Sep 26, 2015

Dr. Welsh is an exceptional dermatologist.  She will go the extra mile and think out of the box to help with stubborn and complicated skin problems.  Apparently she does a lot of beauty treatments but don't let this fool you.  She is exceptionally well-trained.  She is a board certified internist as well as a dermatologist.  I have several skin conditions and they complicate each other.  I saw other dermatologists  at Stanford and other Bay Area locations who over at least a one year period (more like 2 years) did not help me get my condition under control at all.  I was suffering to the point of wondering if life was worthwhile. I did see Dr. Anhalt in Los Altos and he did figure things out and try some off label treatments which got me halfway under control.  Dr. Welsh knowing I had been struggling with this condition for a few years and the quality of my life was so low was not afraid to prescribe Accutane which basically gave me my life back.  Don't get me wrong she of course knows there is risk associated with this drug like all drugs. We did try a few other things including doing laser first before using the Accutane at a lower dose than usual. My problems were not small and the decision was not light and I have never looked back.  I did laser with her in San Francisco because she had the particular equipment I heard would work best for my particular condition.  Kathleen Welsh MD  uses V Beam for rosacea!  I had been wanting to try Accutane and laser both for rosacea and it was pretty much a miracle so I would recommend it for rosacea.I have had laser hair removal in her office as well.  Yvonne is extremely professional and caring and I would highly recommend her as well. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Dec 27, 2014

Rosacea Remedied! San Francisco, CA - I googled SF Dermatology and thank goodness I found Dr. Hui. She fixed me right up and basically changed my life. She is incredibly intelligent, knowledgeable, comforting, and skilled and I totally recommend Dr. Hui for any dermatology needs you have. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from P.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Oct 20, 2014

Facial Tune-up - San Francisco, CA - I do a lot of TV interviews for work, and as I get to my late 30's have noticed wrinkles, redness and age-spots starting to appear. Dr Hui is incredibly professional with a great bedside manner. She diagnosed my rosacea, and carefully performed botox treatment and VBeam to remove burst blood vessels. A week later she followed-up with some finishing touches. I am thrilled with the results and... More

5.0
DAPI
Review from T.T.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Sep 10, 2013

I started coming here last April to get v-beam on my face for rosacea and redness. I was looking for a place that could do it in the south bay but could not find any places that could do it or that I would want to go to. When I called to make an appointment the girl at the front desk was very helpful and explained to me what it was and pricing. She said she had done it as well. She told me exactly where to park and where the office was... very helpful if you are not from the city. When I came in to my first appointment Dr Welsh came into the room took a look at my face and gave me some recommendations and said the v-beam was an excellent  option for me. Yvonne was the nurse who performed the laser on me and she is great and  explains everything and answers all my questions. I could not be happier with my results and will keep going to her office and Yvonne  even though its in the city and I am in the south bay. I finally found something that works after spending tons of money on things that  have not worked and will always trust their opinion. Reading reviews people have  complained that her office has long wait times and a crowded waiting room but i have never dealt with anything than the average wait time when you go to a doctor, dentist, etc.. I would be more concerned if there wasnt anyone there. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from V.P.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Nov 24, 2011

I have been to Dr. Welsh approximately five times for rosacea treatments (V Beam laser) and a few precancerous spots on my face and decolletage over the past couple of years.  She did a great job and I found her to be very knowledgable and professional.  She does schedule patients in tightly, one does have to wait (it's usually about a half hour), and she doesn't take insurance (though they'll mail the form in for you), however, she is an excellent dermatologist so it's worth it to me.  On occasion, she has done a little extra for me and not charged me.I've been to several high-end dermatologists in Beverly Hills over the years including the Head of Dermatology at UCLA (before I moved to the Bay Area) and find Dr. Welsh to be an excellent dermatologist, friendly with no "attitude."  I am not a wealthy person (far from it), however, when it comes to my skin, I like the best.Though Dr. Welsh has informed me of the various treatments she has available for aging skin (I'm middle aged), she only did so because I asked and she hasn't "pushed" any treatments or products on me.  The products are expensive but they work great  (so my friend says) - just not in my budget at this point.I found her staff to be very friendly and efficient.  Someone commented that all her staff look "done," and I suppose one could take that viewpoint but they also have virtually flawless skin.  That's their choice but the Doctor doesn't push this "look" on her patients, however, if you want flawless skin, Dr. Welsh knows how to achieve it. Finally, because it's a bit of a drive for me and I have health challenges, Dr. Welsh even gave me a recommendation for a doctor close to me to take care of a precancerous spot on my chest - so I would say that Dr. Welsh puts her patients care in the forefront.  Her services are expensive, however, I would prefer to have a doctor who really knows what they are doing then have mistakes made that one has to spend even more money correcting, and I particularly do not want mistakes made on my face.  BTW, I am not affiliated with Dr. Welsh in any way, merely a happy patient - in fact, I went to her based on her Yelp reviews. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from G.  |  Source: Yellowpages  |  Oct 20, 2009

The Best Dermatologist - I have been going to Dr. Welsh for five years now and find that she's a godsend. I have rosacea and she has improved the skin on my face 100% - you would never know I had the condition. She's very caring and compassionate, and fun! I would not hesitate to make an appointment with her. Sometimes, her office is so jammed that you have to wait a long time. I find that very frustrating and believe it could be better managed. However, I find her worth the wait. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from T.A.  |  Source: Merchantcircle  |  Aug 31, 2006

Compassionate, confident, competent skin care queen! - I see Dr. Welsh for IPL (FotoFacials) and it has really made a difference in my rosacea. My skin is more even with less redness and my brown freckly spots have faded. I have recommended her to a number of curious friends, male, female and trans, One gave up because the new patient waiting list was pretty long (but for good cause!), and if you find yourself in this position, please wait; it's so worth it! She could do her job blindfolded and sleep-deprived and not miss a beat. I love this woman! Competent beyond most, Dr. Welsh is also caring, funny and not just in it for the money. ""We Love Skin"" isn't just a slogan around this exceptional cosmetic dermatologist's office! More

5.0
Review from AF  |  Source: Office Visit  |  Apr 28, 2017

I cannot speak highly enough of Dr. Hui! When I first saw her I was suffering from rosacea and as a result, very sensitive skin. I couldn't use any over the counter products like face wash or moisturizer. I also had a lot of tiny red blood vessels that made me look red all the time. And I always had at least one zit at any given time. Dr. Hui took the time to explain why this was all happening and what she was going to do to help. She answered all of my questions and didn't rush through the appointment like so many other doctors do. She ended up recommending a bunch of products as well as laser treatments. Even after the appointment, she was super responsive when I emailed her in a panic because my skin was out of control. Now, everything is great. The rosacea has cleared and so have the zits. I've had several laser treatments to take care of the red blood vessels and Dr. Hui is great at making them as pain-free as possible. I am happy to say that I barely wear makeup anymore and am no longer self conscious. More

Patient Story
DAPI
Review from T.  |  Source: Citysearch  |  Aug 31, 2006

Compassionate, confident, competent skin care queen! – I see Dr. Welsh for IPL (FotoFacials) and it has really made a difference in my rosacea. My skin is more even with less redness and my brown freckly spots have faded. I have recommended her to a number of curious friends, male, female and trans, One gave up because the new patient waiting list was pretty long (but for good cause!), and if you find yourself in this position, please wait; it's so worth it! She could do her job blindfolded and sleep-deprived and not miss a beat. I love this woman! Competent beyond most, Dr. Welsh is also caring, funny and not just in it for the money. "We Love Skin" isn't just a slogan around this exceptional cosmetic dermatologist's office! More

*Individual results are not guaranteed and may vary from person to person. Images may contain models.