Header Logo
Patient Reviews Image

Patient Reviews

Reviews for IPL Photofacial* Procedures Near San Francisco, CA

We value all of our patients and their individual needs. At Bay Area Cosmetic Dermatology, we want you to make the most informed decision to achieve your cosmetic goals. Choosing the best procedure and physician for you is an extremely important decision, and we invite you to read about previous patients’ experiences and better understand the quality treatment you will receive from our board-certified dermatologists. Each of our medical professionals value your journey and want to ensure you feel as comfortable and confident about your decision as possible.

Filter12 Reviews  
5.0
DAPI
Review from G.F.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Sep 04, 2017

I've been going here for 10 years.  At age 29 I developed acne and tried everything to clear it up although I could never talk myself into Accutane.  (Eventually I discovered acne.org - it's like Proactive but lower dosage of active ingredient so my skin tolerates it better.  I use it daily and it really does keep me clear MOST of the time.). I get regular photo facials Bay Area Cosmetic Dermatology to clear up red spots that breakouts leave behind as well as brown pigmentation / sun damage.  I get compliments all the time that I don't look my age, and' "You have such beautiful skin."  Each time I respond with "I have a great dermatologist."  I have two other close friends who've been coming here for 10+ yrs and I'm telling you, they look 10 yrs younger than they are.I have been VERY satisfied with every procedure I've had here.  Worth every penny for the results and excellent care.  My regular nurse Mary Krempa is a dream to work with, as are all the nurse practitioners I've seen so far.  This frequent flier can't say enough good things about Bay Area Cosmetic Dermatology. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from G.F.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Sep 04, 2017

I've been going here for 10 years.  At age 29 I developed acne and tried everything to clear it up although I could never talk myself into Accutane.  (Eventually I discovered acne.org - it's like Proactive but lower dosage of active ingredient so my skin tolerates it better.  I use it daily and it really does keep me clear MOST of the time.). I get regular photo facials Bay Area Cosmetic Dermatology to clear up red spots that breakouts leave behind as well as brown pigmentation / sun damage.  I get compliments all the time that I don't look my age, and' "You have such beautiful skin."  Each time I respond with "I have a great dermatologist."  I have two other close friends who've been coming here for 10+ yrs and I'm telling you, they look 10 yrs younger than they are. I have been VERY satisfied with every procedure I've had here.  Worth every penny for the results and excellent care.  My regular nurse Mary Krempa is a dream to work with, as are all the nurse practitioners I've seen so far.  This frequent flier can't say enough good things about Bay Area Cosmetic Dermatology. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.L.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Aug 21, 2017

Wow, what I can say?! I love Dr. Hui because Dr. Hui made me love my skin again. I don't frown at myself in the mirror the first thing in the morning anymore. I see an overall improvement in my skin tone and texture and got compliments from coworkers and friends who noticed a difference in a few weeks. I looked up Dr. Hui on yelp and decided to give her a try. My skin before I saw Dr. Hui was very sensitive, dry and sun damaged; my skin was also thinning due to aging so I lost volume around my eyes, cheeks and especially around my smiley line area. I met with Dr. Hui, who quickly identified my skin issues, and took time to ask me what my goals are with my skin, made some recommendations on daily home skin care and answered my questions. Dr. Hui stressed that the majority of improvement to my skin can be done at home if I follow my regime and stay out of sun. Our goal for me is to have beautiful skin that doesn't need any makeup to cover up. We settled on a home care regime that I thought was agreeable, decided to get fillers that day and photo facials in a few weeks. Dr. Hui performed the injections of the fillers her self, she was fast and gentle and I didn't get any bruise at all. After I went home, I started using the products she recommended and following the home care regime we agreed upon. My skin has improved significantly over the past few weeks. The products Dr. Hui recommend for me to use as part of my home care skin routine were reasonably priced compared to skin care products at Sephora, SAKs or Neiman. The best part that made me have more confidence in purchasing skin care products based on Dr. Hui's recommendations is that her recommendations are based on my skin, what need to be improved and what need to be corrected, very personal and there is no guessing game. I went back to see Dr. Hui after 4 weeks of following my home care regime for our scheduled photo facial. Once again, Dr. Hui performed the photo facial herself, she was fast and gentle but took care to make sure she didn't miss any spots. During the procedure she asked and made sure I was comfortable. She also explained to me what to expect after the photo facial and stressed about staying out the sun while the skin is healing. Dr. Hui also shared her stories of how to keep UV damage low while she was vacationing at the Galapogos, which I thought was very personable and really shows she practices what she preaches. I'm really looking forward to my results after my second photo facial in a few weeks. It's always pleasant to see Dr. Hui knowing I'm in good hands and my skin as well. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.L.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Aug 21, 2017

Wow, what I can say?! I love Dr. Hui because Dr. Hui made me love my skin again. I don't frown at myself in the mirror the first thing in the morning anymore. I see an overall improvement in my skin tone and texture and got compliments from coworkers and friends who noticed a difference in a few weeks.I looked up Dr. Hui on yelp and decided to give her a try. My skin before I saw Dr. Hui was very sensitive, dry and sun damaged; my skin was also thinning due to aging so I lost volume around my eyes, cheeks and especially around my smiley line area. I met with Dr. Hui, who quickly identified my skin issues, and took time to ask me what my goals are with my skin, made some recommendations on daily home skin care and answered my questions. Dr. Hui stressed that the majority of improvement to my skin can be done at home if I follow my regime and stay out of sun. Our goal for me is to have beautiful skin that doesn't need any makeup to cover up.We settled on a home care regime that I thought was agreeable, decided to get fillers that day and photo facials in a few weeks. Dr. Hui performed the injections of the fillers her self, she was fast and gentle and I didn't get any bruise at all. After I went home, I started using the products she recommended and following the home care regime we agreed upon. My skin has improved significantly over the past few weeks. The products Dr. Hui recommend for me to use as part of my home care skin routine were reasonably priced compared to skin care products at Sephora, SAKs or Neiman. The best part that made me have more confidence in purchasing skin care products based on Dr. Hui's recommendations is that her recommendations are based on my skin, what need to be improved and what need to be corrected, very personal and there is no guessing game.I went back to see Dr. Hui after 4 weeks of following my home care regime for our scheduled photo facial. Once again, Dr. Hui performed the photo facial herself, she was fast and gentle but took care to make sure she didn't miss any spots. During the procedure she asked and made sure I was comfortable. She also explained to me what to expect after the photo facial and stressed about staying out the sun while the skin is healing. Dr. Hui also shared her stories of how to keep UV damage low while she was vacationing at the Galapogos, which I thought was very personable and really shows she practices what she preaches. I'm really looking forward to my results after my second photo facial in a few weeks. It's always pleasant to see Dr. Hui knowing I'm in good hands and my skin as well. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from V.C.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jun 06, 2017

Bay Area Cosmetic Dermatology and especially Dr. Hui is the best dermatologist around!! Anything concerning the skin go to Dr. Hui - absolutely 1000% worth the investment.I first went to Dr. Hui due to a psoriasis flare up and I wanted to have a skin consultation since I am getting married. I had suffered from psoriasis for the last 10 years, visiting multiple dermatologists, with an itchy scalp, skin flakes constantly. Dr. Hui quickly identified that the reason I was not getting better is that I have psoriasis along with seborrheic dermatitis. She took the time to explain to me exactly what that meant, tips for avoiding flare-ups and prescribed a treatment plan that fits in with my lifestyle. At no point did I feel rushed and Dr. Hui took the time to answer all the questions I had. Fast forward 4 weeks later, I am completely cleared of all scaly patches and I am no longer reliant on using topical steroids daily for the first time in 10 years. I can even wear black without fear that white flakes would show up all over my clothes. I wanted to lighten the hyperpigmentation around my face due to earlier years of sun damage and Dr. Hui recommended the IPL (Intense Pulse Light) laser treatment. She even took the time to explain why she was recommending the IPL as oppose to other laser treatments so I was informed when making my decision to go ahead with the treatment. After 1 session the majority of my hyperpigmentation is gone! My skin has never looked better. Just this week, I went on a trip and unfortunately developed a large rash all over my body. I was able to call the office and they were very accommodating to getting me an appointment that same day. I went to see Dr. Hui again and it turns out I contacted scabies. Dr. Hui was once again able to put me to ease and recommend an effective treatment plan. It has been about 2 days and I am already starting to see my skin clear.My fiance also sees Dr. Hui for eczema and also had amazing results. Similarly, he went to another doctor before Dr. Hui and never was able to achieve clear skin without skin lesions. After seeing Dr. Hui my fiance's eczema is under control. Dr. Hui is so extremely knowledgeable, caring and patience that you do not have to worry about going to multiple doctor visits without any results and being rushed out the door. I wish I had heard of Dr. Hui and Bay Area Cosmetic Dermatology years earlier. The amount of savings due to having an effective treatment plan and having a doctor that truly cares about your results is invaluable. So thank you to Dr. Hui and Bay Area Cosmetic Dermatology. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.O.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jan 25, 2017

Acne, acne scars, hyper-pigmentation, discoloration, Bay Area Cosmetic Dermatolgy is the place to go! I have been to numerous dermatologist and estheticians in multiple states and have spend upwards of $5,000 before coming to Bay Area Cosmetic Dermatolgy and seeing Dr. Andrea Hui. As soon as Dr. Hui came in the room she knew exactly what I needed to fix my skin. She and along with her awesome, very polite and super knowledgeable assistant, Ariana, will service your skin needs in an unparalleled manner.                     I am all about one thing, which is results. As mentioned above I have spent and have been to numerous dermatologist that have wasted so much of my time and money. Before meeting with Dr. Hui I used countless creams, injections, peels, facials, etc.,etc.! As a result of so many failed attempts at fixing my scars and pigmentation I started to research, which lead me to Dr. Hui.           Meeting with Dr. Hui was unrushed, which encouraged me to fully explain my history, unlike other dermatologist that gives you less then five minutes to explain. I did not want any more creams or facials being that none of that worked, which I made clear to Dr. Hui who completely understood. After talking with Dr Hui we settled on a treatment program, which included the V-Beam, Juvederm Ultra Plus, CO2 laser and subcision, lighting pads and ONE Retin-A cream. This program was not to take place at once but over time as I see her monthly.             To tell you the truth, you will need more then one V-Beam session, currently I am on my fifth and my face is clearer then ever before. The subcision was performed when Dr. Hui put in Juvederm Ultra Plus, which took place around the fourth V-Beam session. Subcision along with filler helps with the appearance of acne scars, which Dr. Hui performs painlessly and meticulously. The filler allowed my face to look fuller - NOT botched - just smoother from the trauma left behind from my acne. My lighting pads came after my 2nd visit with Dr. Hiu. She actually recommended the lightening pads as a more affordable solution to help with my brown pigmentation on my shoulder, chest and back so that I didn't have to spend more money on laser. I was very pleased with this idea because I was expecting to spend upwards of $1,400 before Dr. Hui recommended a more reasonable, thoughtful solution.                    All in all, the prices are NOT expensive and if you want your skin to look great, see Dr. Hui. Not everyone is the same but if you have a skin issues, you will most likely need some sort of IPL laser, which is exactly what Dr Hui specializes in. I have lived in Minnesota and Colorado and the prices are the same as the dermatologist in both land locked states. People say the prices are expensive because cosmetic dermatology as a industry is expensive. If you have any skin issues and would like to finally have them addressed, please visit Dr. Hui and her wonder staff. She is beautiful in and out and will get you the results you need. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.G.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jul 06, 2016

There is no need to go anyplace else or see any other dermotologists.  Dr. Welsh knows what you need before you even ask for a particular treatment.  In many cases, her suggestions are not what you might intend, but better and more effective.  She is truly at the top of her field in cosmetic dermatology.  Dr. Hui is the best at treating and rectifying problem skin and preventative maintenance.  I will no longer see any other doctor for my skin concerns.  Their entire staff is deeply knowledgable in all areas of every treatment they offer.  I can't say enough about this practice.Treatments I have had: Coolsculpting, IPL, Accutane, Ulthera, V-beam, tattoo removal More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.E.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jan 31, 2015

I have been going to Dr welsh for years and love her practice. This week I was saw Dr. Hui and also had a photo facial with Mary.  The treatment I received was amazing. Both were incredibly kind, professional, and amazing at their jobs. I couldn't recommend them more! They also really took their time. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.L.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Apr 02, 2011

I have gone to Dr. Welsh for years for skin checks, and have been grateful for her thoroughness. I've had a couple of spots removed and certainly felt that there was professionalism and attentiveness, and I am glad I didn't have anything develop into a problem that was harder to cure. I've also had IPL done by both Katie and Jane. Again, very professional, but also friendly. I was impressed by the amount of information I was given to insure that I knew the risks of what I was doing, as well as what my skin reactions would be and after-care.  I've been VERY pleased with the results. I love this office. I have found all of the people there to be extremely friendly and attentive- I'm not sure why all the negative comments about the staff. I've been going for over 5 years. Maybe you should forget emailing and just lift up the phone, that doesn't seem to be a good method of communication with them. Years of experience with this group makes me want to recommend them to anyone. I just went there yesterday, and was reminded of how much I like them. Added bonus- fairly inexpensive parking lot on the Geary side of the building. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.W.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Feb 10, 2010

I'm about to have another birthday.  Sigh.  Last year, right before my birthday, I asked a good friend of mine (who is a few years older but looks a few years younger) how she keeps her skin looking so young.  She slipped me Dr. W's number and I made an appt. I have been seeing Dr. W. for over a year now and have been nothing but very pleased with every encounter I've had with her and her staff. I have stayed away from the more serious procedures, but have had a series of facials, an IPL and have been put on Retin-A to help build collagen and keep my skin looking fresh and young.  Dr. W. and her staff all have an excellent bedside manner and a great eye for aesthetics.   Five Stars for Dr. W. and her ladies! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from T.A.  |  Source: Merchantcircle  |  Aug 31, 2006

Compassionate, confident, competent skin care queen! - I see Dr. Welsh for IPL (FotoFacials) and it has really made a difference in my rosacea. My skin is more even with less redness and my brown freckly spots have faded. I have recommended her to a number of curious friends, male, female and trans, One gave up because the new patient waiting list was pretty long (but for good cause!), and if you find yourself in this position, please wait; it's so worth it! She could do her job blindfolded and sleep-deprived and not miss a beat. I love this woman! Competent beyond most, Dr. Welsh is also caring, funny and not just in it for the money. ""We Love Skin"" isn't just a slogan around this exceptional cosmetic dermatologist's office! More

Patient Story
DAPI
Review from T.  |  Source: Citysearch  |  Aug 31, 2006

Compassionate, confident, competent skin care queen! – I see Dr. Welsh for IPL (FotoFacials) and it has really made a difference in my rosacea. My skin is more even with less redness and my brown freckly spots have faded. I have recommended her to a number of curious friends, male, female and trans, One gave up because the new patient waiting list was pretty long (but for good cause!), and if you find yourself in this position, please wait; it's so worth it! She could do her job blindfolded and sleep-deprived and not miss a beat. I love this woman! Competent beyond most, Dr. Welsh is also caring, funny and not just in it for the money. "We Love Skin" isn't just a slogan around this exceptional cosmetic dermatologist's office! More

*Individual results are not guaranteed and may vary from person to person. Images may contain models.