Header Logo
Patient Reviews Image

Patient Reviews

Reviews for Cosmetic Dermatology Procedures Near San Francisco, CA

We value all of our patients and their individual needs. At Bay Area Cosmetic Dermatology, we want you to make the most informed decision to achieve your cosmetic goals. Choosing the best procedure and physician for you is an extremely important decision, and we invite you to read about previous patients’ experiences and better understand the quality treatment you will receive from our board-certified dermatologists. Each of our medical professionals value your journey and want to ensure you feel as comfortable and confident about your decision as possible.

Filter55 Reviews  
5.0
DAPI
Review from A.O.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jun 28, 2018

Dr. Hui Austin is a miracle worker. I was very nervous but decided to take to plunge and get Botox and filler. She came highly recommended to my by my friend (who looks amazing) and she did not disappoint. She immediately put me at ease and listened to all my worries and concerns. The results were exactly what I wanted, refreshed but not that overdone face you see on aging starlets. She also recommended some products to treat my rosacea  that's been bugging me since I was a teenager and it has cleared it right up! I'm glowing! It feels so good to be comfortable in your own skin and I finally do. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.K.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jun 07, 2018

From the moment I called explaining my urgency for an appointment to when I walked out of the doctor's office that same day, I was so incredibly pleased with the entire process. I called this morning a few minutes after they opened mentioning that a rather large cyst-like pimple popped up over night and that my sister's wedding was this weekend and I was desperate to get rid of it. The front desk staff (forgot her name, but the same gal who checked me out at the end) was so nice and accommodating and found a window where they could squeeze me in real quick and administer a cortisone shot THE SAME DAY. I had nurse Mary Krempa who was awesome, knowledgeable, cheerful and genuinely seemed like she wanted the entire process to go well so I would have nothing to worry about on my sister's wedding day. She administered the shot (took two seconds) and while she was describing the process afterwards, I asked her a quick question regarding the redness of the spot. She said that usually they would charge for this, but since I was a new patient and in quite the predicament, she would apply a quick laser to help reduce the redness and inflammation (also took two seconds). She then offered to have the makeup artist at the office help cover up the spot since I was heading straight back to work. Everyone was so nice and accommodating I almost couldn't believe it. I'm a huge fan of customer service and these ladies nailed it! I will definitely be back for more services in the future - More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.B.  |  Source: Yelp  |  May 12, 2018

Dr. Hui Austin is truly one of the best Cosmetic Dermatologists in the country.  I cannot say enough good things about her.  She is stylish and chic, has an amazing personality and is dedicated to her patients. She is gifted.  I have been her patent for the last year or two and have had Botox, various fillers & Kybella and most recently the Novo thread lift.  The thread lift results are magnificent. They were almost immediate and have transformed my facial profile.  My cheeks and chin line are beautifully defined but also look natural.  Dr. Hui Austin combined the thread lift with dermal fillers and I also had a little Botox touch up.  I feel so beautiful.  I really do.  My confidence is through the roof.  Dr. Hui Austin delights in making her patients gorgeous.  I am beyond thrilled to have found her. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.W.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Apr 24, 2018

Ok I'm going to sing the praises of Mary Krempa for her attention to detail. She says that she's a "laser nerd" but she's really a laser queen! I've been dealing with rosacea for some years now and have had "V-Beam" procedures done a few times. Never have I had anyone do such a thorough job as Mary. And she's a sweet, happy and compassionate person - so if you're a little apprehensive around lasers this really makes a difference. Another plus - it's really obvious that she really does want YOU to look good. She loves her job and it shows. Won't be going to anyone else! Thanks Mary! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.W.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Apr 24, 2018

Ok I'm going to sing the praises of Mary Krempa for her attention to detail. She says that she's a "laser nerd" but she's really a laser queen! I've been dealing with rosacea for some years now and have had "V-Beam" procedures done a few times. Never have I had anyone do such a thorough job as Mary. And she's a sweet, happy and compassionate person - so if you're a little apprehensive around lasers this really makes a difference. Another plus - it's really obvious that she really does want YOU to look good. She loves her job and it shows. Won't be going to anyone else!Thanks Mary! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Feb 26, 2018

Great dermatologist - When I lived in the Bay Area Dr. Welsh was my dermatologist of choice! The first time I came to her office was for tattoo removal when I was in my 20’s...it was a total success. Years later I am 100% tattoo ink free thank to her. It took time but was well worth it. I have also used her office for the V-beam laser procedure which removes dilated blood vessels. If you have rosacea, or a... More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.B.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Feb 08, 2018

Wonderful service and quality. I love chatting with Mary during our bimonthly laser hair removal sessions. She is delightful, intelligent and personable. They have a variety of lasers that accommodate many complexions. I totally recommend them. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.M.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Sep 26, 2017

I have had the most experience at Bay Area Cosmetic Dermatology! I have been seeing Dr. Hui to treat my roscea. Almost immediately I saw a difference in my skin and now several months later my friends constantly comment about how amazing my skin looks. I didn't know I could look this way again. Amazing experience! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from G.F.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Sep 04, 2017

I've been going here for 10 years.  At age 29 I developed acne and tried everything to clear it up although I could never talk myself into Accutane.  (Eventually I discovered acne.org - it's like Proactive but lower dosage of active ingredient so my skin tolerates it better.  I use it daily and it really does keep me clear MOST of the time.). I get regular photo facials Bay Area Cosmetic Dermatology to clear up red spots that breakouts leave behind as well as brown pigmentation / sun damage.  I get compliments all the time that I don't look my age, and' "You have such beautiful skin."  Each time I respond with "I have a great dermatologist."  I have two other close friends who've been coming here for 10+ yrs and I'm telling you, they look 10 yrs younger than they are.I have been VERY satisfied with every procedure I've had here.  Worth every penny for the results and excellent care.  My regular nurse Mary Krempa is a dream to work with, as are all the nurse practitioners I've seen so far.  This frequent flier can't say enough good things about Bay Area Cosmetic Dermatology. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from G.F.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Sep 04, 2017

I've been going here for 10 years.  At age 29 I developed acne and tried everything to clear it up although I could never talk myself into Accutane.  (Eventually I discovered acne.org - it's like Proactive but lower dosage of active ingredient so my skin tolerates it better.  I use it daily and it really does keep me clear MOST of the time.). I get regular photo facials Bay Area Cosmetic Dermatology to clear up red spots that breakouts leave behind as well as brown pigmentation / sun damage.  I get compliments all the time that I don't look my age, and' "You have such beautiful skin."  Each time I respond with "I have a great dermatologist."  I have two other close friends who've been coming here for 10+ yrs and I'm telling you, they look 10 yrs younger than they are. I have been VERY satisfied with every procedure I've had here.  Worth every penny for the results and excellent care.  My regular nurse Mary Krempa is a dream to work with, as are all the nurse practitioners I've seen so far.  This frequent flier can't say enough good things about Bay Area Cosmetic Dermatology. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.L.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Aug 21, 2017

Wow, what I can say?! I love Dr. Hui because Dr. Hui made me love my skin again. I don't frown at myself in the mirror the first thing in the morning anymore. I see an overall improvement in my skin tone and texture and got compliments from coworkers and friends who noticed a difference in a few weeks. I looked up Dr. Hui on yelp and decided to give her a try. My skin before I saw Dr. Hui was very sensitive, dry and sun damaged; my skin was also thinning due to aging so I lost volume around my eyes, cheeks and especially around my smiley line area. I met with Dr. Hui, who quickly identified my skin issues, and took time to ask me what my goals are with my skin, made some recommendations on daily home skin care and answered my questions. Dr. Hui stressed that the majority of improvement to my skin can be done at home if I follow my regime and stay out of sun. Our goal for me is to have beautiful skin that doesn't need any makeup to cover up. We settled on a home care regime that I thought was agreeable, decided to get fillers that day and photo facials in a few weeks. Dr. Hui performed the injections of the fillers her self, she was fast and gentle and I didn't get any bruise at all. After I went home, I started using the products she recommended and following the home care regime we agreed upon. My skin has improved significantly over the past few weeks. The products Dr. Hui recommend for me to use as part of my home care skin routine were reasonably priced compared to skin care products at Sephora, SAKs or Neiman. The best part that made me have more confidence in purchasing skin care products based on Dr. Hui's recommendations is that her recommendations are based on my skin, what need to be improved and what need to be corrected, very personal and there is no guessing game. I went back to see Dr. Hui after 4 weeks of following my home care regime for our scheduled photo facial. Once again, Dr. Hui performed the photo facial herself, she was fast and gentle but took care to make sure she didn't miss any spots. During the procedure she asked and made sure I was comfortable. She also explained to me what to expect after the photo facial and stressed about staying out the sun while the skin is healing. Dr. Hui also shared her stories of how to keep UV damage low while she was vacationing at the Galapogos, which I thought was very personable and really shows she practices what she preaches. I'm really looking forward to my results after my second photo facial in a few weeks. It's always pleasant to see Dr. Hui knowing I'm in good hands and my skin as well. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.L.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Aug 21, 2017

Wow, what I can say?! I love Dr. Hui because Dr. Hui made me love my skin again. I don't frown at myself in the mirror the first thing in the morning anymore. I see an overall improvement in my skin tone and texture and got compliments from coworkers and friends who noticed a difference in a few weeks.I looked up Dr. Hui on yelp and decided to give her a try. My skin before I saw Dr. Hui was very sensitive, dry and sun damaged; my skin was also thinning due to aging so I lost volume around my eyes, cheeks and especially around my smiley line area. I met with Dr. Hui, who quickly identified my skin issues, and took time to ask me what my goals are with my skin, made some recommendations on daily home skin care and answered my questions. Dr. Hui stressed that the majority of improvement to my skin can be done at home if I follow my regime and stay out of sun. Our goal for me is to have beautiful skin that doesn't need any makeup to cover up.We settled on a home care regime that I thought was agreeable, decided to get fillers that day and photo facials in a few weeks. Dr. Hui performed the injections of the fillers her self, she was fast and gentle and I didn't get any bruise at all. After I went home, I started using the products she recommended and following the home care regime we agreed upon. My skin has improved significantly over the past few weeks. The products Dr. Hui recommend for me to use as part of my home care skin routine were reasonably priced compared to skin care products at Sephora, SAKs or Neiman. The best part that made me have more confidence in purchasing skin care products based on Dr. Hui's recommendations is that her recommendations are based on my skin, what need to be improved and what need to be corrected, very personal and there is no guessing game.I went back to see Dr. Hui after 4 weeks of following my home care regime for our scheduled photo facial. Once again, Dr. Hui performed the photo facial herself, she was fast and gentle but took care to make sure she didn't miss any spots. During the procedure she asked and made sure I was comfortable. She also explained to me what to expect after the photo facial and stressed about staying out the sun while the skin is healing. Dr. Hui also shared her stories of how to keep UV damage low while she was vacationing at the Galapogos, which I thought was very personable and really shows she practices what she preaches. I'm really looking forward to my results after my second photo facial in a few weeks. It's always pleasant to see Dr. Hui knowing I'm in good hands and my skin as well. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.M.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Apr 18, 2017

Don't bother going anywhere else for your skin concerns!Now that I'm reaching middle-age I had developed a pretty serious case of papular rosacea that was progressively getting worse. After trying several different things nothing was making a difference, in fact, some of the creams/lotions I tried made the rosacea worse!  I had been to this practice years before, but had never met with Dr. Hui. She is great, down to earth and really took the time to listen to all of my concerns/questions.  I never felt rushed or pressured into buying things I wasn't sure about or felt wouldn't complement what I already had next to my sink.Dr Hui prescribed a simple AM/PM routine along with v beam laser treatment to help eliminate the redness on my cheeks.  Within 1 month, my skin felt AND looked great.  Their rosacea combo gel is not drying (unlike Metro gel!) and it really helped clear up the redness/papules.  I use it nightly along with the other items she suggested.  After 4 months, my skin just keeps getting better. If you have skin issues that aren't resolving or you just want to look your very best,  I highly recommend making an appointment with Dr. Hui.  She is super-knowledgeable about the most current & effective treatments to give you your fabulous, glowy skin back. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from T.M.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jun 28, 2017

I can highly recommend Dr. Hui as a skilled, patient and compassionate dermatologist. The combo gel that she prescribed for my rosacea, that I was very reluctant to try, has made a tremendous difference in the texture of my skin. In addition, she also performed laser treatments for redness. The results are quite remarkable and my condition continues to improve under her care. She's probably as close to a cure as you can get. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from V.C.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jun 06, 2017

Bay Area Cosmetic Dermatology and especially Dr. Hui is the best dermatologist around!! Anything concerning the skin go to Dr. Hui - absolutely 1000% worth the investment.I first went to Dr. Hui due to a psoriasis flare up and I wanted to have a skin consultation since I am getting married. I had suffered from psoriasis for the last 10 years, visiting multiple dermatologists, with an itchy scalp, skin flakes constantly. Dr. Hui quickly identified that the reason I was not getting better is that I have psoriasis along with seborrheic dermatitis. She took the time to explain to me exactly what that meant, tips for avoiding flare-ups and prescribed a treatment plan that fits in with my lifestyle. At no point did I feel rushed and Dr. Hui took the time to answer all the questions I had. Fast forward 4 weeks later, I am completely cleared of all scaly patches and I am no longer reliant on using topical steroids daily for the first time in 10 years. I can even wear black without fear that white flakes would show up all over my clothes. I wanted to lighten the hyperpigmentation around my face due to earlier years of sun damage and Dr. Hui recommended the IPL (Intense Pulse Light) laser treatment. She even took the time to explain why she was recommending the IPL as oppose to other laser treatments so I was informed when making my decision to go ahead with the treatment. After 1 session the majority of my hyperpigmentation is gone! My skin has never looked better. Just this week, I went on a trip and unfortunately developed a large rash all over my body. I was able to call the office and they were very accommodating to getting me an appointment that same day. I went to see Dr. Hui again and it turns out I contacted scabies. Dr. Hui was once again able to put me to ease and recommend an effective treatment plan. It has been about 2 days and I am already starting to see my skin clear.My fiance also sees Dr. Hui for eczema and also had amazing results. Similarly, he went to another doctor before Dr. Hui and never was able to achieve clear skin without skin lesions. After seeing Dr. Hui my fiance's eczema is under control. Dr. Hui is so extremely knowledgeable, caring and patience that you do not have to worry about going to multiple doctor visits without any results and being rushed out the door. I wish I had heard of Dr. Hui and Bay Area Cosmetic Dermatology years earlier. The amount of savings due to having an effective treatment plan and having a doctor that truly cares about your results is invaluable. So thank you to Dr. Hui and Bay Area Cosmetic Dermatology. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from V.S.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jul 05, 2017

Dr. hui is the best dermatologists in the Bay Area! I had some Rosacea and contact dermatitis. My skin was constantly red and inflamed. Dr hui recommended a simple skin care routine and my skin improved 100%!  It looks flawless now! She has great bed side manner and knows what she is doing. Don't hesitate to go see her. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.M.  |  Source: Yelp  |  May 08, 2017

I can't say enough good things about Dr Welsh and Dr Huy.  I have been seeing Dr Welsh for 20 years, since high school.  She has saved my face a few times... Severe cystic acne, severe acne scarring all over my entire face, a dog attack that severely mangled my cheek... big stuff.  Over the course of my life I have experienced that feeling of shame and insecurity because my face looked so messed up that I didn't want people to look at me.  And every time, Dr Welsh put my face back together and then some.  Which essentially gives you your life back, because you can face the world with confidence and really show up and be present in conversations, instead of tripping out over how how destroyed your face looks.Those are the extreme cases that Dr Welsh has helped me through.  Always, she is compassionate, straight up, and comes up with a game plan and a timeline, and doesn't want to stop until whatever the issue is perfectly resolved.  Pretty much everything you want when you put your face in someone's hands.Now I am in my late 30s so there are a new bag of things that that can be improved upon that pop up: wrinkles, face and lips losing its fullness, and discoloration (hyperpigmentation).  And again, I don't trust anyone to mess with my face, EVER, unless its Dr Welsh or Dr Huy.  Dr Welsh is a master at filler because she basically refuses to make you look unnatural.  She will make you look refreshed and well-slept, but even if I beg for slightly fuller lips she looks at me and says, "No."  That's what you want.  Someone who says no.  Dr Huy is amazing.  At first I felt like I was cheating on Dr Welsh by seeing her as well but she is awesome and just as skilled.  I highly recommend you try her, because they have similar approaches and equal skill set.  I am so glad I gave her a chance because she is fantastic and she dealt with this discoloration and redness/rosacea problem that started a year ago.  Again, she was sweet and supportive, gave me a game plan and a timeline.  exactly what you want when you are stressing over something on your face.  I love Dr Huy.Everyone who knows me knows that I call Bay Area Cosmetic Dermatology "my happy place".  Such caring, such professionalism and and attention to detail, such a personalized care regimen that makes you feel like you are in the right hands and you can relax and there is light at the end of the tunnel.  I am a die-hard supporter. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.F.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Apr 28, 2017

I cannot speak highly enough of Dr. Hui!When I first saw her I was suffering from rosacea and as a result, very sensitive skin.  I couldn't use any over the counter products like face wash or moisturizer.  I also had a lot of tiny red blood vessels that made me look red all the time.  And I always had at least one zit at any given time.Dr. Hui took the time to explain why this was all happening and what she was going to do to help.  She answered all of my questions and didn't rush through the appointment like so many other doctors do.She ended up recommending a bunch of products as well as laser treatments.  Even after the appointment, she was super responsive when I emailed her in a panic because my skin was out of control.Now, everything is great.  The rosacea has cleared and so have the zits. I've had several laser treatments to take care of the red blood vessels and Dr. Hui is great at making them as pain-free as possible.I am happy to say that I barely wear makeup anymore and am no longer self conscious. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.R.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Apr 04, 2017

First of all, I want to thank Dr Hui, who has transformed my skin.  I have rosacea/acne/eczema (and some other stuff...).  I am a doctor myself, and I had tried everything.  I had been to numerous dermatologists for lasers and prescriptions creams.  I did my research, and I felt like I was following the most up-to-date medical guidelines for my skin and still nothing was getting better.  As my skin got worse, I tried Eastern medicine, accupuncture, and regular facials.  I was spending too much money and time, but beginning to feel like I wanted to hide because of how bad my skin had gotten.  When I read the reviews, it just seemed too good to be true.  It's not - Dr Hui is really worth the hype!  As soon as I walked in to the clinic, I noticed that all their patients had beautiful, glowing skin.  If anything can advertise their results, it's just sitting in their waiting room.  Then, I met Dr Hui: she is smart, attentive to details, and confident.  She gave me time to explain and listened attentively.  I had follow-up questions after the appointment, and she responded within hours.  Basically, as a doctor myself, I can say that she is pretty much everything you could want in a doctor.  Dr Hui prescribed a super simple regimen along with laser treatment.  Although all of the products are helpful, I want to comment on their own clinic rosacea cream, which is uniquely incredible: it is gentler and more effective than any of the prescriptions that I'd tried.  Within 2-4 weeks, I saw an improvement: the bumps were gone, the redness was minimal, and the scaling just disappeared.  It's been 2.5 months, and my skin just keeps getting better and better.  And I've even noticed that I'm getting my glow back. I know it's daunting to come to a dermatologist, and it can be expensive.  This is worth it!  I can't say enough about how grateful I am for what Dr Hui has done for me. I wish I had come in sooner. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.H.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Feb 08, 2017

I am the frequent customer of Bay Area Cosmetic dermatology clinic. I was seen by Dr. Welsh's new associate a year ago for Kybella for my puffy eye bags and Fraxel Repair for my face. Tell you all my Asian friends, my eye bags haven't come back and my face is still  as smooth and as clear as baby cheeks. It seems it get smoother everyday. I used to hate to look at my reflection on the mirror, but now I really happy with the great result of Dr Andrea Hui's skillful and painless procedure on my face. It holds up for one a year now!!!!!!!!!! Another secret is I follow Dr Hui's skin care program to the last detail. No one can guess my age right!!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.A.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Feb 07, 2017

I visited Dr. Hui for my acne scars due to a life time acne problem. Before that I have been to many dermatologists back at home and in the Bay Area and she is the only one who has diagnosed my skin problem correctly. My face has always been reddish and flushing due to many factors and I thought that those redness was due to my acne scars. She told me I had rosacea, prescribed some amazing products and started applying fractional laser treatment once a month. Even in couple of weeks after I started the treatment, my face started looking totally different, more clear, more even, smoother and more beautiful. My husband and friends realized the difference right away. Even a friend of mine got the name and number of the clinic. I have three more sessions to go with the fractional laser and I need to use the products at least for four more months. Afterwards she might apply another laser treatment for the scars but maybe we will not need to do it. After many years fighting with acne, scars and redness, thanks to her, I have realized that my scars aren't that bad and there is a solution for my skin problems. Moreover, she is a kind of person that you would want to be friends with. She is very sweet and builds trust right away. She explains complex medical issues in simple words, spends sufficient time to explain each step of the treatment and does not rush to leave the room without answering all your questions. I really like her and am very happy that I have finally found a dermatologist that I can consult for many more years. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.O.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jan 25, 2017

Acne, acne scars, hyper-pigmentation, discoloration, Bay Area Cosmetic Dermatolgy is the place to go! I have been to numerous dermatologist and estheticians in multiple states and have spend upwards of $5,000 before coming to Bay Area Cosmetic Dermatolgy and seeing Dr. Andrea Hui. As soon as Dr. Hui came in the room she knew exactly what I needed to fix my skin. She and along with her awesome, very polite and super knowledgeable assistant, Ariana, will service your skin needs in an unparalleled manner.                     I am all about one thing, which is results. As mentioned above I have spent and have been to numerous dermatologist that have wasted so much of my time and money. Before meeting with Dr. Hui I used countless creams, injections, peels, facials, etc.,etc.! As a result of so many failed attempts at fixing my scars and pigmentation I started to research, which lead me to Dr. Hui.           Meeting with Dr. Hui was unrushed, which encouraged me to fully explain my history, unlike other dermatologist that gives you less then five minutes to explain. I did not want any more creams or facials being that none of that worked, which I made clear to Dr. Hui who completely understood. After talking with Dr Hui we settled on a treatment program, which included the V-Beam, Juvederm Ultra Plus, CO2 laser and subcision, lighting pads and ONE Retin-A cream. This program was not to take place at once but over time as I see her monthly.             To tell you the truth, you will need more then one V-Beam session, currently I am on my fifth and my face is clearer then ever before. The subcision was performed when Dr. Hui put in Juvederm Ultra Plus, which took place around the fourth V-Beam session. Subcision along with filler helps with the appearance of acne scars, which Dr. Hui performs painlessly and meticulously. The filler allowed my face to look fuller - NOT botched - just smoother from the trauma left behind from my acne. My lighting pads came after my 2nd visit with Dr. Hiu. She actually recommended the lightening pads as a more affordable solution to help with my brown pigmentation on my shoulder, chest and back so that I didn't have to spend more money on laser. I was very pleased with this idea because I was expecting to spend upwards of $1,400 before Dr. Hui recommended a more reasonable, thoughtful solution.                    All in all, the prices are NOT expensive and if you want your skin to look great, see Dr. Hui. Not everyone is the same but if you have a skin issues, you will most likely need some sort of IPL laser, which is exactly what Dr Hui specializes in. I have lived in Minnesota and Colorado and the prices are the same as the dermatologist in both land locked states. People say the prices are expensive because cosmetic dermatology as a industry is expensive. If you have any skin issues and would like to finally have them addressed, please visit Dr. Hui and her wonder staff. She is beautiful in and out and will get you the results you need. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from I.C.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Dec 17, 2016

Before I started seeing Dr. Hui and Dr. Welsh, I had very oily skin, frequent breakouts and a fair amount of redness and blemishes. I wore cover-up often and carried oil-absorbing sheets with me everywhere. Although I didn't have "severe acne," I was not satisfied with the appearance of my skin, and wished that I didn't need to manage it so much. At Bay Area Cosmetic Dermatology, I have had laser and resurfacing treatments with Dr. Hui, Mary, Claire and Mabel (who are amazing to work with!) and have seen pretty dramatic results in evening my skin complexion and texture, and getting rid of red blemishes. I was initially hesitant to invest in the skin care routine they recommended, as I hadn't had much success with products in the past, but I can honestly say that my skin has never been better. I actually have no problems with oil anymore, and maybe one pimple every few months, which is pretty amazing for me! What sets Bay Area Cosmetic Dermatology apart from other practices I have been to is that they have a tremendous variety of treatments and products available at the office, and the staff is extremely knowledgeable in determining what the specific needs of my skin are and which treatments and products will provide the best results. I genuinely feel that my treatments are customized to me, and not just generic recommendations like I have received in the past. Before I met Dr. Hui and Dr. Welsh, I didn't know that it was possible to change my skin, and not just consistently manage it. It is a relief to have doctors whose recommendations I can trust. I am so grateful to have found this incredible practice, and to finally have skin that I feel confident with! I recommend this practice to anyone! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.M.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Dec 01, 2016

Dr. Hui is phenomenal! I came in thinking that I had a very bad case of acne, Dr. Hui properly diagnosed and cured my rosacea. I had large bumps and redness on my cheeks. She gave me topical treatments, vitamins, and vbeam treatments. I was hesitant about the vbeam but Dr. Hui took the time to explain the treatment and I'm so glad we went forward with it! My skin is the clearest it's been in years! The staff at Bay Area Cosmetic Dermatology is amazing! At my last appointment, Chrissy assisted in my vbeam treatment and she was terrific! The office is incredibly responsive and professional. I highly recommend Dr. Hui and Bay Area Cosmetic Dermatology! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from B.S.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Oct 06, 2016

Dr. Hui completely transformed my skin and I cannot recommend her more highly! I have had rosacea for more than 20 years. In that time I have seen countless dermatologists (including some of the "best" in NYC and SF) and experimented with dozens of skincare products and prescriptions. The results have always been minimal and often made my face even redder and more irritated. This led to a general skepticism of dermatologists and feeling that the rosacea was just something I would have to live with. I decided to try V-Beam treatment, which led me to Bay Area Cosmetic Dermatology (again, skeptical about the potential outcome). In addition to the laser treatment, Dr. Hui recommended a regimen that included over-the-counter and Rx creams, face wash, supplements, and sunscreen. Dr. Hui and Dr. Welsh compound their own unique prescription rosacea cream, which is far superior to anything I have tried from pharma companies (my skin absolutely loves it!). After just one V-Beam treatment and following the regime for only a few weeks my skin dramatically improved. After 2 months the rosacea is almost completely gone and my skin looks healthy and youthful. I am absolutely amazed by the outcome.In addition to being a highly skilled dermatologist, Dr. Hui and her staff are warm and friendly and always take the time to listen to any questions or concerns I may have. I am so grateful to have found Dr. Hui and her team! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.G.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Sep 12, 2016

I've been working with Dr. Hui and Chrissy for the past 6 months on a 15 year old surgery scar using Fraxel scan and the results are beyond incredible!! The scar is now flat and almost looks like normal skin. Not only did Dr. Hui recommend the proper course of action, but she has walked me through the process the entire time and has made me feel incredibly comfortable and well taken care of! I HIGHLY recommend going to Dr. Hui and Chrissy. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.D.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Aug 17, 2016

I have papulopustular rosacea. I've been seeing Dr. Hui and her team for 3 months. I went because my Mother saw amazing results with a patient with acne. I went in somewhat reluctantly thinking nothing could help my rosacea. Dr. Hui was able to diagnose and treat my rosacea and I am so glad with the results. The entire staff is supportive and thorough. Recommend without reservation. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.K.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jul 28, 2016

Dr. Hui has been a godsend for my rosacea-prone, inflamed, acne-scarred skin that is highly sensitized to pretty much everything. I thought I'd tried every product out there for very sensitive skin (OTC as well as seeing other dermatologists), and had pretty much resigned myself to having to wear makeup every time I left the house so my face didn't look like a splotchy mess. But then I read great reviews about the practice and decided to see Dr. Hui, and my skin has been transformed. I told her my goal was to wear zero makeup, and we've been steadily progressing towards that goal with great results. She made me discard my overly complicated skincare routine and get back to basics. My skincare routine now takes 30 seconds in the morning and 2 minutes at night, and my skin looks so much better in every way. I've been using the products Dr. Hui recommended that have made a huge difference, and have also been getting V-beam laser treatments that have also been significant in getting rid of the diffuse redness throughout my face. My skincare routine is so much more basic than before (no more time-consuming multiple serums and many face masks), but more effective by leaps and bounds. I've also gotten facial hair removal done by Dr. Hui and have seen great results with that. Also wanted to give a big shout out to Mary, one of the nurses at the practice. I had some body laser hair removal done (legs, underarms). She's incredibly professional and personable and makes what's supposed to be a very uncomfortable situation a breeze. Overall, the practice is very well run, everyone's on top of their game, and my skin bears testament to that! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.G.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jul 06, 2016

There is no need to go anyplace else or see any other dermotologists.  Dr. Welsh knows what you need before you even ask for a particular treatment.  In many cases, her suggestions are not what you might intend, but better and more effective.  She is truly at the top of her field in cosmetic dermatology.  Dr. Hui is the best at treating and rectifying problem skin and preventative maintenance.  I will no longer see any other doctor for my skin concerns.  Their entire staff is deeply knowledgable in all areas of every treatment they offer.  I can't say enough about this practice.Treatments I have had: Coolsculpting, IPL, Accutane, Ulthera, V-beam, tattoo removal More

5.0
DAPI
Review from P.P.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Apr 07, 2016

About a month ago I wrote a very disappointing review for my services at Bay Area Cosmetic Dermatology-- I must say that I should have checked-in with my Provider prior to writing the review.  What I didn't know is that my treatment plan was not complete, that there were more steps to be taken.I just got back today from a visit with Dr. Hui and I am happy to say---that now I understand my treatment plan, I looked at the photos from before my Fraxel treatment and  I do see improvement.  I'll keep you updated-- but I think I'm on the path of success with my treatment plan.  I'm so pleased with my visit and the next steps-- They are really taking care of me!  Thanks! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.R.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Mar 27, 2016

I have struggled with acne and acne scarring since sophomore year of high school (I am now 20). No matter what I tried and who I saw I just couldn't get my acne under control. My skin only worsened when I went off to college. I was so insecure about my skin that I would try to avoid going out in the sunlight or in bright lighting. I even tried to stop looking at myself in mirrors because it made me so self conscious. My skin was affecting my social life and desire to see people in a negative way and was a constant source of stress and anxiety (which only made my acne worse). That is, until I began working with Dr. Hui in the summer between my freshman and sophomore year of college. In the year since meeting Dr. Hui my acne and scarring has improved dramatically. I am now more confident and excited about going out and seeing people.Dr. Hui started me on a very low dose of Accutane and a nighttime retin-a. Her goal was to clear up the acne first and then work on the scarring underneath. When the acne began to clear up, Dr. Hui started doing V-Beam lasers on my scarring. This reduced the red spots on my skin that I had had for years. Before the V-Beam I couldn't remember the last time that I looked at my face and it wasn't a red, blotchy mess. Last week Dr. Hui performed a Fraxel laser on my skin to even out the texture and alleviate more of the scarring. While it has only been a week since the procedure, the results are very noticeable. My skin is much smoother and has less marks from scarring and will only continue to improve over time (according to Dr. Hui). This is the best my skin has looked since starting high school and it is all thanks to Dr. Hui and her MAs Mabel, Chrissy, Isabel, and Euridice. I am now going back to school for the spring quarter with a newfound confidence in my skin. I will continue on the low dose of the Accutane and the nighttime retin-a and hopefully my skin will clear up more every day.In addition to the actual work that she did on my skin, Dr. Hui and Mabel, Chrissy, Isabel, and Euridice were incredibly warm and accommodating. Dr. Hui and her MAs always spent time explaining every detail of my skin regiment to me and answering any questions that I had (no matter how ridiculous). They were very patient and I never felt rushed.  Not only were they friendly and fun to talk to in person, but they always responded to my calls and emails (which I used to send constantly) as fast as any doctors office ever has. I cannot recommend Dr. Hui and her team enough. They really care about improving your skin and it shows. I am forever grateful to them for everything that they have done for me. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.M.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Mar 22, 2016

They offer a lot of great services and products.  Staff is friendly and knowledgable (they've all tried most of the treatments!).  I had a tattoo removed with thoughtful care from their team and good results.  They are not pushy but always open to offering other services.  It is pricey, but a very welcoming and convenient office. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from P.C.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Feb 04, 2016

After much deliberation, i underwent the Fraxel Repair CO2 with Dr Hui, the staff and the procedure were as good as it gets and the results amazing!Dr Welsh's office and facility are state of the art and Dr Welsh is bar none the best in the business. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.A.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Sep 26, 2015

Dr. Welsh is an exceptional dermatologist.  She will go the extra mile and think out of the box to help with stubborn and complicated skin problems.  Apparently she does a lot of beauty treatments but don't let this fool you.  She is exceptionally well-trained.  She is a board certified internist as well as a dermatologist.  I have several skin conditions and they complicate each other.  I saw other dermatologists  at Stanford and other Bay Area locations who over at least a one year period (more like 2 years) did not help me get my condition under control at all.  I was suffering to the point of wondering if life was worthwhile. I did see Dr. Anhalt in Los Altos and he did figure things out and try some off label treatments which got me halfway under control.  Dr. Welsh knowing I had been struggling with this condition for a few years and the quality of my life was so low was not afraid to prescribe Accutane which basically gave me my life back.  Don't get me wrong she of course knows there is risk associated with this drug like all drugs. We did try a few other things including doing laser first before using the Accutane at a lower dose than usual. My problems were not small and the decision was not light and I have never looked back.  I did laser with her in San Francisco because she had the particular equipment I heard would work best for my particular condition.  Kathleen Welsh MD  uses V Beam for rosacea!  I had been wanting to try Accutane and laser both for rosacea and it was pretty much a miracle so I would recommend it for rosacea.I have had laser hair removal in her office as well.  Yvonne is extremely professional and caring and I would highly recommend her as well. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.H.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jul 14, 2015

I love what Dr. Welsh and Dr. Hui have done to my skin. They helped me find confidence and happiness again. I have been doing treatments for about two years including injections, ulthera, clear and brilliant and hydra facials. Never disappointed!!! I also see Mary - she is the best with treatments and helpful advice!! Strongly recommend. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.B.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jul 11, 2015

I love this place and the work they do!  I opted for a fraxel treatment when considering major work, including plastic surgery.  Dr. Hui performed the treatment and I am so happy with the results that I believe it was a much better alternative to surgery.  The skin on my face and neck looks at least 10 years younger; all the dark spots, little moles, fine lines and leathery red skin are gone and now I am able to skip foundation and still look great. And without the down time and pain associated with surgery.   It's given me a renewed confidence though my biggest surprise was the softening of the nasolabial fold lines.  I have slightly chubby cheeks so have always had those lines but they've almost disappeared.  It was virtually painless and what with the fabulous staff, it really was a fun experience.  I highly recommend considering this procedure when thinking of ways to maintain one's appearance and the folks at this office are the best!. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.E.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jan 31, 2015

I have been going to Dr welsh for years and love her practice. This week I was saw Dr. Hui and also had a photo facial with Mary.  The treatment I received was amazing. Both were incredibly kind, professional, and amazing at their jobs. I couldn't recommend them more! They also really took their time. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Dec 27, 2014

Rosacea Remedied! San Francisco, CA - I googled SF Dermatology and thank goodness I found Dr. Hui. She fixed me right up and basically changed my life. She is incredibly intelligent, knowledgeable, comforting, and skilled and I totally recommend Dr. Hui for any dermatology needs you have. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from P.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Oct 20, 2014

Facial Tune-up - San Francisco, CA - I do a lot of TV interviews for work, and as I get to my late 30's have noticed wrinkles, redness and age-spots starting to appear. Dr Hui is incredibly professional with a great bedside manner. She diagnosed my rosacea, and carefully performed botox treatment and VBeam to remove burst blood vessels. A week later she followed-up with some finishing touches. I am thrilled with the results and... More

5.0
DAPI
Review from T.T.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Sep 10, 2013

I started coming here last April to get v-beam on my face for rosacea and redness. I was looking for a place that could do it in the south bay but could not find any places that could do it or that I would want to go to. When I called to make an appointment the girl at the front desk was very helpful and explained to me what it was and pricing. She said she had done it as well. She told me exactly where to park and where the office was... very helpful if you are not from the city. When I came in to my first appointment Dr Welsh came into the room took a look at my face and gave me some recommendations and said the v-beam was an excellent  option for me. Yvonne was the nurse who performed the laser on me and she is great and  explains everything and answers all my questions. I could not be happier with my results and will keep going to her office and Yvonne  even though its in the city and I am in the south bay. I finally found something that works after spending tons of money on things that  have not worked and will always trust their opinion. Reading reviews people have  complained that her office has long wait times and a crowded waiting room but i have never dealt with anything than the average wait time when you go to a doctor, dentist, etc.. I would be more concerned if there wasnt anyone there. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from E.S.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Feb 10, 2012

This is my first review ever written but the staff at Dr Welsh's was so wonderful that I had to write. I had a Blue Peel and Laser CO2 done around my mouth and was very nervous going into this as I had never really done anything much previously. I had been to the office only twice before but my friends had told me how great they all are. Dr Welsh and the nurses who performed the procedures were incredibly caring, professional, thoughtful and concerned about my wellbeing the entire time. This last week has been a challenge healing and not once during my many visits and follow up phone calls have they made me feel anything less than a valued and important patient. I hope the results of these procedures are as good as the experience I had with this office. I will certainly go to them for any further cosmetic work i have done. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from V.P.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Nov 24, 2011

I have been to Dr. Welsh approximately five times for rosacea treatments (V Beam laser) and a few precancerous spots on my face and decolletage over the past couple of years.  She did a great job and I found her to be very knowledgable and professional.  She does schedule patients in tightly, one does have to wait (it's usually about a half hour), and she doesn't take insurance (though they'll mail the form in for you), however, she is an excellent dermatologist so it's worth it to me.  On occasion, she has done a little extra for me and not charged me.I've been to several high-end dermatologists in Beverly Hills over the years including the Head of Dermatology at UCLA (before I moved to the Bay Area) and find Dr. Welsh to be an excellent dermatologist, friendly with no "attitude."  I am not a wealthy person (far from it), however, when it comes to my skin, I like the best.Though Dr. Welsh has informed me of the various treatments she has available for aging skin (I'm middle aged), she only did so because I asked and she hasn't "pushed" any treatments or products on me.  The products are expensive but they work great  (so my friend says) - just not in my budget at this point.I found her staff to be very friendly and efficient.  Someone commented that all her staff look "done," and I suppose one could take that viewpoint but they also have virtually flawless skin.  That's their choice but the Doctor doesn't push this "look" on her patients, however, if you want flawless skin, Dr. Welsh knows how to achieve it. Finally, because it's a bit of a drive for me and I have health challenges, Dr. Welsh even gave me a recommendation for a doctor close to me to take care of a precancerous spot on my chest - so I would say that Dr. Welsh puts her patients care in the forefront.  Her services are expensive, however, I would prefer to have a doctor who really knows what they are doing then have mistakes made that one has to spend even more money correcting, and I particularly do not want mistakes made on my face.  BTW, I am not affiliated with Dr. Welsh in any way, merely a happy patient - in fact, I went to her based on her Yelp reviews. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.L.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Apr 02, 2011

I have gone to Dr. Welsh for years for skin checks, and have been grateful for her thoroughness. I've had a couple of spots removed and certainly felt that there was professionalism and attentiveness, and I am glad I didn't have anything develop into a problem that was harder to cure. I've also had IPL done by both Katie and Jane. Again, very professional, but also friendly. I was impressed by the amount of information I was given to insure that I knew the risks of what I was doing, as well as what my skin reactions would be and after-care.  I've been VERY pleased with the results. I love this office. I have found all of the people there to be extremely friendly and attentive- I'm not sure why all the negative comments about the staff. I've been going for over 5 years. Maybe you should forget emailing and just lift up the phone, that doesn't seem to be a good method of communication with them. Years of experience with this group makes me want to recommend them to anyone. I just went there yesterday, and was reminded of how much I like them. Added bonus- fairly inexpensive parking lot on the Geary side of the building. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.W.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Feb 10, 2010

I'm about to have another birthday.  Sigh.  Last year, right before my birthday, I asked a good friend of mine (who is a few years older but looks a few years younger) how she keeps her skin looking so young.  She slipped me Dr. W's number and I made an appt. I have been seeing Dr. W. for over a year now and have been nothing but very pleased with every encounter I've had with her and her staff. I have stayed away from the more serious procedures, but have had a series of facials, an IPL and have been put on Retin-A to help build collagen and keep my skin looking fresh and young.  Dr. W. and her staff all have an excellent bedside manner and a great eye for aesthetics.   Five Stars for Dr. W. and her ladies! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from G.  |  Source: Yellowpages  |  Oct 20, 2009

The Best Dermatologist - I have been going to Dr. Welsh for five years now and find that she's a godsend. I have rosacea and she has improved the skin on my face 100% - you would never know I had the condition. She's very caring and compassionate, and fun! I would not hesitate to make an appointment with her. Sometimes, her office is so jammed that you have to wait a long time. I find that very frustrating and believe it could be better managed. However, I find her worth the wait. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.S.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Aug 28, 2009

dr welsh is wonderful! i got laser hair removal done from here and never had to wait. after my experience with american laser cener, i would spend more at  dr welsh for the service i get there is amazing. people at acl were rude and very disrespectful (once they had my business and the 3K in their account) More

5.0
DAPI
Review from W.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Mar 10, 2009

Fraxel Re:store Worth It for Acne Scars and Melasma - Conservative approach; excellent risk management/mitigation; approaches as part of overall skin program; understands how skin issues affect self esteem More

5.0
DAPI
Review from T.A.  |  Source: Merchantcircle  |  Aug 31, 2006

Compassionate, confident, competent skin care queen! - I see Dr. Welsh for IPL (FotoFacials) and it has really made a difference in my rosacea. My skin is more even with less redness and my brown freckly spots have faded. I have recommended her to a number of curious friends, male, female and trans, One gave up because the new patient waiting list was pretty long (but for good cause!), and if you find yourself in this position, please wait; it's so worth it! She could do her job blindfolded and sleep-deprived and not miss a beat. I love this woman! Competent beyond most, Dr. Welsh is also caring, funny and not just in it for the money. ""We Love Skin"" isn't just a slogan around this exceptional cosmetic dermatologist's office! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from B.K.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jun 06, 2006

Dr. Welsh is absolutely great. I was so nervous about my tattoo removal, but she totally calmed my fears, and also provided me with anesthetic to ease the pain. I've had 4 visits with her so far, and I have been more and more impressed on each visit.I would highly recommend her to anyone in need of a cosmetic or just a regular old dermatologist." More

5.0
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Office Visit  |  Oct 24, 2018

Dear Dr. Welsh - Thank you so much for popping in to see me today. It is always so great to see you. You have such a positive energy! Also - you look really fantastic! You look radiant, beautiful and natural. And you are the best advertisement for your practice. I completely trust anything you advise for me. Thank you again! Thank you again! Fondly, Anonymous More

5.0
Review from AF  |  Source: Office Visit  |  Apr 28, 2017

I cannot speak highly enough of Dr. Hui! When I first saw her I was suffering from rosacea and as a result, very sensitive skin. I couldn't use any over the counter products like face wash or moisturizer. I also had a lot of tiny red blood vessels that made me look red all the time. And I always had at least one zit at any given time. Dr. Hui took the time to explain why this was all happening and what she was going to do to help. She answered all of my questions and didn't rush through the appointment like so many other doctors do. She ended up recommending a bunch of products as well as laser treatments. Even after the appointment, she was super responsive when I emailed her in a panic because my skin was out of control. Now, everything is great. The rosacea has cleared and so have the zits. I've had several laser treatments to take care of the red blood vessels and Dr. Hui is great at making them as pain-free as possible. I am happy to say that I barely wear makeup anymore and am no longer self conscious. More

5.0
Review from DG  |  Source: Office Visit  |  Apr 05, 2016

I suffered a unfortunate bicycle accident that left me with several unsightly facial scars. Dr.Hui recommended a combination of VBeam and Fraxel treatments that have had fantastic results. She and the team at Bay Area Cosmetic Dermatology have been an amazing help in my recovery process, I feel very lucky to have found them. More

5.0
Review from LI  |  Source: Office Visit  |  Feb 12, 2016

I have been going to Bay Area Cosmetic Dermatology for the last ten years. I am continually impressed by both Dr Welsh and Dr Hui for their ability to listen to my needs and desires without judgement, address cosmetic issues artfully, and manage medical issues with great knowledge and expertise. Their ability to integrate both the art and science of dermatology is truly exceptional. Our entire family has been treated by the practice. My children for extreme acne and stubborn allergic skin reactions, my husband with his sensitive Asian skin for his sun spots and I have had multiple moles skillfully removed and biopsied, Ulthera, botox, fillers and even repaired earlobes, (torn from heavy earnings). Coming from a family of physicians, I have learned the importance of quality of care and true medical expertise. We have all been impressed by their responsiveness, depth of knowledge, attention to detail and overall quality of care. I have referred many to this practice and have heard nothing but stellar reviews. More

4.0
DAPI
Review from L.K.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Mar 02, 2010

i highly reccomend this place if anyone has to get lazer hair removal.  and see katie, she is very nice and good.  its a little painful but at least it goes quick.  i feel like they are really  competent there and have a lot of experience.  the parking there sucks, and there is a small parking lot thought you have to pay for it. More

Patient Story
DAPI
Review from T.  |  Source: Citysearch  |  Aug 31, 2006

Compassionate, confident, competent skin care queen! – I see Dr. Welsh for IPL (FotoFacials) and it has really made a difference in my rosacea. My skin is more even with less redness and my brown freckly spots have faded. I have recommended her to a number of curious friends, male, female and trans, One gave up because the new patient waiting list was pretty long (but for good cause!), and if you find yourself in this position, please wait; it's so worth it! She could do her job blindfolded and sleep-deprived and not miss a beat. I love this woman! Competent beyond most, Dr. Welsh is also caring, funny and not just in it for the money. "We Love Skin" isn't just a slogan around this exceptional cosmetic dermatologist's office! More

*Individual results are not guaranteed and may vary from person to person. Images may contain models.